Skip to main content

reviews

17
Based on 11 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 26 )
  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Director Andrzej Bartkowiak ("Romeo Must Die") works hard to supply the appropriate grittiness, but other than a few reasonably well-staged fight sequences, the proceedings are dull and visually uninspired. Justin Marks' solemn screenplay lacks any trace of wit. show more

  • 25
    TV Guide

    There's something special about this underwhelming mess of a Street Fighter reboot that many cinematic cheese-lovers will find very appetizing. The fact is that The Legend of Chun-Li is not at all a good flick, but it's filled with so much cornball ineptitude that one would think some rather broken mad movie genius was behind it. show more

  • 25
    Boston Globe

    This is a movie for the overcaffeinated, undereducated teenager in all of us. show more

  • 30
    Film Threat

    A wholly inept action experience that works at boring us to tears. show more

  • NA
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    It boggles the mind that The Legend of Chun-Li is as vapid and dull as it is. show more

  • 16
    Entertainment Weekly

    Don't be fooled by the low grade: This sequel-in-spirit to Jean-Claude Van Damme's 1994 dud doesn't even succeed in being memorably bad. show more

  • 60
    Jeannette Catsoulis The New York Times

    Reveling in the vivid Bangkok locations, Geoff Boyle’s photography is crisp and bright, and Dion Lam’s action choreography unusually witty. show more

  • 60
    Variety

    Neither the best nor the worst of movies derived from videogames, Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li at least gives action fans plenty to ogle besides the titular heroine (Kristin Kreuk), whose original incarnation, legend has it, was among the first distaff figures controllable by joystick. show more

  • 20
    L.A. Weekly

    Idiot plotting and dialogue are what you'd expect from a genre that typically rewards narrative development with a skip function. But the rote fight scenes are a disappointment. show more

  • 20
    Los Angeles Times

    Even with the low expectations The Legend of Chun Li engenders, it still somehow manages to be a letdown. show more

  • September 17, 2010 justinitalianmb
    Report This User

    The only reason to see this movie is to make fun of it.

  • November 18, 2009 Wmac212
    Report This User

    I remember watching the first street fighter movie. It sucked, really bad. I didn'******* it but I heard that the movie even my brother's friend thinks that this movie made the first on look like a masterpiece.Yeah if it's that bad it says a lot.So I give it a quick 1 out of 5.

  • June 30, 2009 skejtoijiogjoiew
    Report This User

    This movie isn't as bad as everyone said it is. I mean, the central characters are the same. It doesn't follow the video game down to the last detail, but the general jist of it is sound. The movie has a story of it's own and it was quite good. The acting by some (like Charlie and his partner) was cheesy. Kristen Kreuk held this movie together. I don't understand what's the deal with the "fireball" like projection. Is that her chi or spiritual energy or something like that? I felt the movie could've explained things a little more better. Still, it didn't let me down.

  • June 30, 2009 sherlama
    Report This User

    test

  • March 19, 2009 mcbandit98
    Report This User

    Kristen Kreuk deserves credit for her efforts to make Chun Li believable and more interesting than the usual kung fu movie hero.

  • March 13, 2009 curtg007
    Report This User

    it was not as bad as everyone says it is. I go to movies with no expectation and I felt that it was still entertaining. I mean transfomers had corny lines as well but I will say some of the actors were not that great but I still enjoyed it. I grew up with street fighter so I think its cool that they are trying to make a movie out of a game.

  • March 12, 2009 xxMelleena MiNTS
    Report This User

    i'm pretty neutral about this movie; it wasn't HORRiBLE, but neither was it to die for. So i give it ONE thumbs up &nd nothing more or less(:

  • March 09, 2009 Bimmerchik4
    Report This User

    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I was sitting there waiting for it to end. The acting was horrible. The effects were really cheesy. Don't waste your money watching this.

  • March 09, 2009 bhuezo
    Report This User

    I saw this movie and I give it a 5 out of 10, it's not as bad as the one with Van Damme but the thing that killed it for me; was Chris Klein's acting, and having Kristin Kreuk didn't work for me either. This movie is at least watchable unlike the original Street Fighter. My only complain was that they didn't have Blanka.

  • March 07, 2009 vml123
    Report This User

    haha I actually took time also wanting to fill out an account just to post on how HORRIBLE this film was. Hands down, worse film ever made! I'd watch any Disney movie over this one! The fight scene's were pathetic, acting, and story line! what got me the most was the initiative of a part two with Ryu! hahaha please, please, save the humiliation! do not make another street fighter film ever, unless it's by Zack Snyder!!! I still can't get over this movie!! As big as a street fighter fan i am, i am still hoping and dreaming of another release to make up for the past two horrible street fighter films.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X