Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 9 )
  • NA
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Directed by Danny Boyle, it lacks even a single moment of charm or interest. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    As the film ultimately deviates from its course, the entire undertaking suffers. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    The characters are so sketchily drawn that it's hard to keep them straight, let alone get worked up about their survival. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Sunshine can be seen as a story about science and religion, about the rational mind and the mad. But at a certain point, like a dying star about to pop into eternal nothingness, the movie can't be seen as anything - it just implodes. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The whole thing burns out well before the director reaches his final destination. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Sunshine is its own creature, taking inspiration from classic science fiction films but insisting on a gritty reality that much improves on past space adventures. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Sunshine is near-classic modern science fiction, hobbled only by a chaotic final reel and some casting missteps in the white-male department. show more

  • 88
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    If their movie doesn't float your boat as a work of science-fiction, action, philosophy, heliocentrism, or staggering visual spectacle (although, it really should), then it certainly succeeds as a parable for cinematic ambition. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Science-fiction fans will like it, and also brainiacs, and those who sometimes look at the sky and think, man, there's a lot going on up there, and we can't even define precisely what a soliton is. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Despite the efforts of the cast (Byrne and Murphy are particularly good), you rarely feel a thing for any of them, but I don't think you're really supposed to, anyway. The characters in Sunshine tackle thorny ethical questions and debate the sanctity of life on their way to the sun, but the movie is really about the voyage, not the voyagers. Enjoy the sights. show more

  • May 22, 2008 aug262003
    Report This User

    My friend said this is a good movie. He let me borrowed the dvd, didn't watch it yet though. I probably won't even waste my time with this utter garbage.

  • May 22, 2008 thehalfdemon1191
    Report This User

    Not all stars go supernova, there are debates if our star will go supernova or not. There is a good chance our star will simply "puff off" its outter layers of gas and leave the core "a white dwarf". Granted this will most likly consume the earth and we will be dead... So really it's not that far off from the truth.

  • May 22, 2008 johnmp5
    Report This User

    They are awesome without them the anime series Fooly Cooly would probably stink.

  • May 22, 2008 ord2lax2sea
    Report This User

    I went into this film with little hope and even less expectations about where this adventure would take me? After seeing so many failed attempts at what "could have been" brilliant science fiction (ie-Independence Day or Deep Impact), I really did not think this one would be any different...for God's sake, the movie is called "Sunshine"!? And about 15 minutes into the film I sat there in awe! The fact that a movie can capture an element like the sun (fire and light) and give it emotion and strength and power (in the purest form), and make you believe that there is so much that we do not know about our universe (ourselves).This is NOT Transformers...and if you are expecting something similar you may want to pass. But for those fans who are looking for a "pure", un-polluted film about space...you will not be disappointed. Not since "Event Horizon" have I thought there could be such brilliance in sci-fi movie making! Enjoy...

  • May 22, 2008 pjwright44
    Report This User

    This movie was a disappointment. The casting was rot, and the script and direction as well. It relied preponderously on the cheap-sound-effects-cum-drama tactic in an attempt to fluff out an otherwise mostly non-existent script. Save your money on this one -- it gets one star.

  • May 22, 2008 ffviispawn101
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was not only amazingly well-made and ambitious, but also fierce and terrifyingly real. I thought it was the greatest science fiction movie of the year and predict it will continue to be for years to come. It also reminded me of the old sci-movies, like Forbidden Plant,The Thing, and The Day the Earth Stood Still. It was amazing and I would recommend it to anyone who loves sci-fi and wants to see amazing acting as well.

  • May 22, 2008 dex76
    Report This User

    One of the best movie experience ever.The sound was good the movie was cool. Danny Boyle and Alex Garland did another great job!!!

  • May 22, 2008 wblue1679
    Report This User

    A great "thinking" movie. The last twist could have been left out, but great movie nonetheless.

  • May 22, 2008 mywordwasangry
    Report This User

    I went into the theatre expecting to see another failed attempt at exploiting the ever loved sci-fi genre. I came out, a changed person. \n\nI came home, and signed up for online courses in aeronautics. \n\nSee this movie, it might...no...it WILL change your life.

similar movies

  • Moon (2009)

  • Gattaca (1997)

  • Solaris (2002)

  • Alien (1979)

  • Gravity (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X