Skip to main content

reviews

85
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Nichols throws curveballs, but his film is unique and unforgettable. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Take Shelter has a problem, the simplest of all problems but no less serious for its being simple. It's a film without suspense and with a slow-moving story that unfolds without surprise or embellishment. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A dazzling piece of filmmaking, and much of the dazzle - as well as the anguished darkness - comes from Adam Stone's cinematography, which expresses the swirling state of Curtis's mind with richly varied flavors of light. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Take Shelter, which, it should be said, boasts haunting but seamless visual effects, is a movie for this moment in time, this moment in our lives. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Nichols approaches his subject with thoughtful empathy, and while his themes are enormous - he's addressing no less than the state of our nation - he wisely underplays even the most important moments. show more

  • 90
    The Hollywood Reporter

    A riveting genre blend of thriller, domestic drama and supernatural horror propelled by a brilliant lead performance. show more

  • 75
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    The economics of star casting aside, what would Take Shelter have been like with James McAvoy or Mark Wahlberg or Jake Gyllenhaal at its center? show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The film concludes not with a "surprise ending" but with a series of shots that brilliantly summarize all that has gone before. This is masterful filmmaking. show more

  • 100
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    Taut, unsettling, haunting and powerful. show more

  • 100
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The story of a man afflicted with fearful visions, Take Shelter is a film that's hitting the right apocalyptic trumpet call at the right time. show more

  • February 09, 2013 yk00000000137254
    Report This User

    I give this film one star only because of the good acting. But the story I give negative 3 stars.

  • October 05, 2012 ascorpies
    Report This User

    This was a thought provoking film about mental illness and I was left with a sense of dread afterwards. The last 10 minutes made the film for me because I felt all along that something bad was going to happen by the time the film ended.

  • February 14, 2012 cs00000000112284
    Report This User

    I give it a two star rating for the acting only, which i thought was pretty good. i\'m not sure what this movie was supposed to do. i usually stick with a movie, even though i think it\'s boring until the end to see what happens. this is one of those i wish i\'d have turned off. i would not recommend this to anyone and personally don\'t understand why it has received high ratings.

  • December 02, 2011 dukedewf
    Report This User

    Interesting, but very, very dark. Not sure just what the director/writer was trying to achieve. Very well acted, if you really want to see mental breakdowns well acted. The ending leaves you wondering why you were there.....or were you?????

  • November 14, 2011 b1129t
    Report This User

    One of the best I have seen inb years, albeit that i am a fan of dystopic books and films. this was done with the gentle and graceful trip towhat we knew had to be the conclusion...Am perplexed by the number of people at my viewing that were totally confused by the ending. are subtleties so rare in film today>>>?????

  • November 05, 2011 Debra
    Report This User

    Did I say the movie is BORING?????

  • October 28, 2011 ew00000000104243
    Report This User

    Contrary to the raves of critics, this is not a very good movie. The movie lurches along at a snail\'s pace. There is simply nothing engaging about the plot. By a third of the way through the movie I lost interest in why the lead character is even building a shelter at all. The director makes excessive use of lengthy images of the sky, sometimes cloudy, sometimes filled with birds.The ending, an unmerciful two hours from the start is no shocker but rather only one two endings the plot allows.

  • October 27, 2011 ym00000000104172
    Report This User

    Superb casting and acting... really! This is a psycho-drama for sure about dreaming and intuition. Take Shelter is a blissful and also disturbing look into the mind\'s perception of reality. How closely related is intuition and what society sees as madness? Michael Shannon is truly inspired. This is not action. It is thought provoking drama ****** best. Yes, the film is slow, I guess. But it needs to be...

  • October 15, 2011 mumbazi
    Report This User

    The performances are all first rate. If you want to see a movie that from the beginning builds on intensity and drama this is it.

  • October 15, 2011 realmohasky
    Report This User

    A very textured film with great performances at every turn. It stays with you long after you\'ve left the theater. Recommended weekend viewing. It should be playing wider than it is.

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X