Skip to main content

reviews

69
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 22 )
  • 50
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    A potentially great movie winds up buried inside a just OK one. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Talk to Me speaks powerfully to audiences with its potent blend of extraordinary performances and engaging soundtrack. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    For a movie that celebrates the power of speech, Talk to Me is oddly tongue tied. Its dialogue, equal parts uptight honky and jumping jive seems, particularly in the early stretches, to have been generated by a computer. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    As Greene, Don Cheadle - explosive because you've never before seen this model of actorly restraint - is a one-man fireworks show in Talk to Me, Kasi Lemmons' rollicking, resonant portrait of the real-life ex-con who improbably became a civic icon. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Despite being abandoned in the late going by his director, Cheadle gives one of the year's most fully realized performances, and Henson is a revelation. show more

  • 80
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    While Cheadle's fearlessly robust performance absolutely galvanizes Talk to Me, it's not the only thing that makes Kasi Lemmons' third feature such a pleasure to take in. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Someone like Petey Greene made a difference and made a mark, and broadcasting is better because of his transparent honesty. He helped transform African-American stations more, probably, than their mostly white owners desired. And talk talents like Howard Stern, whether they know who he was, owe him something. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Talk to Me has a great subject and a great actor working in tandem, reminding audiences that once upon a time media personalities used to fight The Man, not be The Man. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    No matter what character Don Cheadle has played in his 23-year career, he's always seemed to be holding something back...Until Talk to Me. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Talk to Me is a welcome reminder of a time when radio truly listened to the people instead of just shouted at them. show more

  • May 22, 2008 eeejjjccc
    Report This User

    Don Cheadle, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Cedric the Entertainer, Taraji P. Henson and Martin Sheen were extraordinary in this movie. I laughed, cried and was simply amazed at the history of the radio station and the educational aspects of this awesome movie. Don Cheadle can invade my movie theatre any day with movies like this one. The best thing is that everyone who was fortunate enough to see it said they LOVED it and would see it two or three more times...I was one of those people. The most unfortunate thing was that I took my 14 year old a week later to see the movie (my second time) and was surprised to find out that it was no longer playing in Columbus, Ohio. After only one week running. I don't get it....WHY? Why give such a good and educational movie such a short run. The movie Managers missed it on this one...I hope you bring it back before it goes to DVD...I give this movie 5 Stars!

  • May 22, 2008 GLORIA
    Report This User

    One of the best this year. Oscar award should go to Don Cheadle.This movie is playing only in one theater in Palm Beach County and one in Broward County in Fla.WHY????????????????

  • May 22, 2008 lmcclain6
    Report This User

    This movie was great, it did exactly what it set out to do-make me laugh and cry, think and re-think but most of all remember why I love the men that I love (Dr.King, Ali, James Brown, John and Bobby Kennedy) so much form the erra in which I grew up. I am so glad that I got a chance to meet Mr. Peetey Green-You Go Boy and Don YOU GO and GET YOUR AWARD.Loved this movie and it's actors 5 stars..

  • May 22, 2008 babitupac7day
    Report This User

    I did not want to go see this movie. It didn't sound interesting , it had no power to its preview that I viewed on TV. The only reason I attended this movie to make my boyfriend happy. I was lucky enough that it was showing in a couple places. I was very surprised that this movie was so good. It was amazing. One minute making you laugh, the next moving you to tears. I've probably only written one other review for a movie and I thought writing this one was important because I heard that so many people have a problem finding a theatre. It's sad that the one empowering black movie, I think better than dream girls, can't find it's way to more showings. Anyone who downs this movie can't understand its point or its view. Its the best movie that wasn't an action movie I think in years. Insanely good, go see it! Support this movie!

  • May 22, 2008 lotussantamonica
    Report This User

    This movie makes you laugh (very very funny in many parts), cry, and be inspired (very very inspiring). I was deeply touched by this movie. The acting, the screenplay was absolutely superb. Don Cheadle deserves an Academy Award for his performance. The true story of Petey Green shows that even an alcoholic ex-convict can make a difference and be loved by so many. The only complaint I have is that this movie is not showing in more theaters. Everyone should see this movie. You walk away a changed person.

  • May 22, 2008 preciouships
    Report This User

    the movie was shown in only one theater and they only kept the movie in the theater for a few days. I'm sorry I did not get a chance to see this movie in the theater. I guess that is to be expected in a small country town like Shelby and Gastonia, North Carolina

  • May 22, 2008 rainnip
    Report This User

    Fantastic, moving, and you learn some history. And this is a history that you won't neccsarily read in today's textbooks.The performances were stellar. All of them! As was the casting. And the music!I wish this would play in more cities. It deserves to be seen!Definitely one of the year's best. And for what it's worth-I'm caucasian.

  • May 22, 2008 kblake1024
    Report This User

    Last week or so in July I test drive a F250. Young salesman says come back next day he will be there till 6:00pm. Go back that day at 5pm and hes gone. He calls the next week and we make an appt. He says he has talked with management and they wouldnt do anything with the truck until after our appt. Go there for the appt and the truck is sold. Not a good way to do buisness.

  • May 22, 2008 lservctr
    Report This User

    I'm just outside of Washington, DC the home of WOL for many years and even in this area very few theatres are showing this movie. It's great and many people wanting to see it simply aren't going to drive 50 miles to see it. The problem is that chain theatres only show movies that they think will sell loads of tickets and that are hyped up in adds. A good movie like this one comes out and they just won't buy it and run it for the public. Do make use of Moviefone and Fandango and find it. Then see it and tell the management of the theatre you're glad a few theatres are showing it. I remember the days of American history that this movie is all about. As for teens, forget this. You won't begin to remember because you weren't born yet. Now if you want to see and learn something, then go.

  • May 22, 2008 lcshizzy2000
    Report This User

    Why is this movie not playing in Las Vegas, Nevada?

`

similar movies

  • Ray (2004)

  • Walk the Line (2005)

  • Milk (2008)

  • Good Morning, Vietnam (1987)

  • Inside Llewyn Davis (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X