Skip to main content

reviews

31
Based on 17 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Texas Chainsaw 3D sees itself as over-the-top and knowing, but what we ultimately get is simply eyes without a face. show more

  • 40
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Unlike the restrained 1974 film which cleverly relied mainly on suggestion, this version piles on the graphic, often CGI-enhanced gore. show more

  • 25
    Roger Moore McClatchy-Tribune News Service

    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times. show more

  • 12
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    All the makers of Texas Chainsaw 3D cared about was getting your $16. show more

  • 12
    Nick Schager Slant Magazine

    There's no deliberate Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2-style comedy to the film, just dim-witted gruesomeness retrofitted with gimmicky contemporary trappings. show more

  • 20
    Kim Newman Empire

    A clunky, lumbering sequel that, like its masked protagonist, has no redeeming features. show more

  • 20
    Joshua Rothkopf Time Out New York

    Time to fire up the critical Black & Decker: Somebody-there are six credited screenwriters-really wasn't clear on the concept. show more

  • 20
    Total Film

    Sadly, this leap onto the stereoscopic bandwagon marks a new low for the franchise, as far away in quality from the '74 original as it is in years. show more

  • 40
    Marjorie Baumgarten Austin Chronicle

    Stick around through the credits for an extra closing scene that leaves the door of Heather's new home wide open for a sequel. show more

  • 50
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    A sign of how desperate the series' producers have become is that the big twist here is that Leatherface, the slobby butcher-boy demon in his mask of human skin, is now...the good guy. (That's a ''jump the chainsaw'' concept if ever there was one.) show more

  • February 03, 2013 jk00000000137017
    Report This User

    I have them all!,,So wasnt shur what to expect.Very surprised it was as good as it was!..alot of remakes are such disappointments..but not this one!

  • January 14, 2013 Isaiah Janiak
    Report This User

    Took the girlfriend to this and gotta say I was pleasantly surprised by this movie

  • January 11, 2013 du00000000134794
    Report This User

    I took my husband to see this, reluctantly, for his birthday since this is his type of movie. I was actually surprised. I not only liked it, I loved it. The 3D wasn\'t that amazing but the movie was. In my opinion, I even liked it better than the originals.

  • January 10, 2013 unclevic750
    Report This User

    Not What I Was Expecting. The Acting is decent, and so is the dp. But not very scary. I even seen it on the Marcus Ultra screen, still didn\'t scare me or make me want to see it again. Another missed oppurtunity.

  • January 09, 2013 fb00000000108185
    Report This User

    cut me open rip out my spine leak the blood from my mouth tape open my eye lids slice open my eye ball with a razor so that this filth can leave my mind this filth that came from that silver screen

  • January 07, 2013 lukapirl
    Report This User

    Looking forward to see it!!

  • January 04, 2013 larry
    Report This User

    A decent Texas Chainsaw,actually a story ,Quite different wasnt was I was expecting althou still not for the squemish

  • January 04, 2013 ra00000000075937
    Report This User

    1/4/2013: JAMIE I WANT TO GO SEE THIS FLIM IT STARTS THIS FRIDAY I BELIEVE THIS MOVIE HAS ALOT OF DRAMA IN IT SO BASCIALLY IT SHALL NOT BE REALLY SCARY THROUGH. BUT THE MOST DRAMA IS THE FACE WHEN HE LOOKS IN THE MIRROR ALL YOU COULD SEE IS HIS INTIRE MASSACRE HE DENELITY WILL NEED A WHOLE NEW FACIAL..

  • January 01, 2013 bennygarbacz
    Report This User

    I\'m a little nervous for this movie. I always thought the Texas Chainsaw movies were far off, strange, and not scary at all. But I am a HUGE Saw fan, and to see Lionsgate do this movie has me thinking: Could they possibly improve and pull it off? With Lionsgate means thriller and suspense; something I haven\'t seen in the other Texas Chainsaw movies (my own opinion). So I wish this movie the best of luck and hope for a good movie. *I am looking forward to the Lionsgate version of Leatherface.

  • December 19, 2012 kparkereric
    Report This User

    This movie is going to be AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

`

similar movies

  • The Hills Have Eyes (2006)

  • A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)

  • Halloween II (2009)

  • The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning (2006)

  • The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X