Skip to main content

reviews

55
Based on 28 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    The Astronaut Farmer's goofy quality makes it totally endearing. It's also super entertaining. Critics are fond of referring to movies as a "great ride." With this one, the words couldn't be more apt. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    In most cases, doggedly pursuing a dream is laudable. But if it does nothing else, The Astronaut Farmer demonstrates that not every dream is worth pursuing. At least not the belabored one of a narcissistic crackpot masquerading as an admirable dreamer. show more

  • 20
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The oddest thing about this very odd movie is that it doesn't seem to know what to make of itself. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    As stories go, The Astronaut Farmer is engaging, even if it serves up a kind of Plains State brand of Rocky-esque hooey. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    It's hard not to like a movie so determined to make you feel the love of a family, to make you feel that every dream can become a reality and that every mortgage - no matter how close to foreclosure - can be rescued by the sudden death of a family member and his inheritance. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The Astronaut Farmer, is goofy, wholesome and, well, sweet. Despite some droll humor and on-target political jabs delivered deadpan by a uniformly strong cast, "Astronaut" often is too corny for its own good; it could have used more of those zingy lines. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The Astronaut Farmer stalls narratively in the third act, but rest assured it finally achieves liftoff. See it before it disappears into the ether. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The Astronaut Farmer is one of those movies that makes an audience want to cheer and clap. show more

  • 75
    Premiere

    Still, the film actually earns the description of being inspirational, not only to those of us with a dream, but to those who thought the quality family film had died long ago. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Wobbles between its comic and dramatic concerns; even those who buy the film more wholeheartedly than I might consider the overall tone uncertain. show more

  • October 15, 2008 Juliarider1
    Report This User

    why do you whatc a movie? to escape reality.duh a farmer cant build a rocket. so enjoy a movie about one that can.A MOVIE.

  • May 22, 2008 fljaguars
    Report This User

    If you think back to when you where a child,you had a dream to..If you push hard enough and strive for what you want thats your dream.....

  • May 22, 2008 johnsbury1
    Report This User

    Can't imagine why Thorton did this schlock movie? It was very implausable and so filled with hokum that it bored me to distraction. It is a movie for early teens or adults with no reality requirements. It is so far fetched that it becomes comic. One selfish father puts his entire family and home at risk to persue a totally unbelievable and totally impossible goal and we are supposed to be impressed? I don't think so! There wasn't one part of this dumb movie that was believable.This "movie" was so bad it was insulting. A complete waste of time.

  • May 22, 2008 Jamie & Matt
    Report This User

    My husband and I found this movie to be great. It touched many emotions in us. We found it entertaining yet inspirational and true in so many ways. For instance our government elected by the people for the people does crush and stomp on the everyday man's/woman/s dreams in the name of security etc. this prior to 9/11 and definitely since.We found the one statemment particularly true "without our dreams we have nothing"! It was a good family movie and had something for all ages. The other thing we noticed and were very pleased with was a movie that was made without cursing, sex scenes and only a minimal disagreement between him and his wife but not extreme arguing, cursing or fighting. In other words wake up hollywood it's possible to make good shows, etc without all that disgusting display. That's personal and should not have to be watched as the main attraction in a show! We loved the movie and highly recommend people to watch it. We are waiting for the DVD to purchase!McKee, NC

  • May 22, 2008 cottonman29
    Report This User

    i heard the movie is good but is it realy or is this whole site just a joke i wanna konw

  • May 22, 2008 baltimorewresler
    Report This User

    i havent seen this movie yet

  • May 22, 2008 cookstoree2
    Report This User

    I thought this film was a waste of my time! Very far-fetched! Acting was O.K

  • May 22, 2008 JADERLUND
    Report This User

    I WENT TO MOVIE.. AND HONESTLY I WAS EXTREAMLY SHOCKED HOW GOOD IT WAS! THE CAST DID A GREAT JOB.. INSPIRATIONAL. THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS MOVIE IS THAT IS SHOWS A FAMILY WHO BELIEFS AND SHARES THEIR FATHERS DREAMS..GREAT MOVIE !

  • May 22, 2008 phyllisbellmille
    Report This User

    Wonderful! It encourages people to pursue their dreams--no matter how implausable. And the very outcome of this movie -- that a civilian could actually launch a space ship without clearance and endanger the lives of hundreds -- is indeed implausable. But the movie is still highly entertaining and makes its point. I loved every minute.

  • May 22, 2008 daleflatt
    Report This User

    the old saying is "there is no such thing as gravity, the earth sucks! I liked the acting but the script is like the earth. wait for HBO. you wont have to wait long.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X