Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 15 )
  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    Those who should go near The Big Year, if not flock to it, are fans of avians, mild PG comedy and gorgeously shot travel footage dotted with humans. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Inspired by Mark Obmascik's book, the tale focuses on universal themes of pursuing a dream and tapping into an adventurous spirit. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    With ambitions greater than comedy and results that fall short of character study, The Big Year is neither fish nor fowl. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    This one could have flown over the cuckoo's nest, or smacked into a glass pane, but instead lands in the middle of the road where quirky and popular meet. show more

  • 70
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    The uniformly winning cast, led by Steve Martin, Jack Black and Owen Wilson, and the ultra-accessible touch provided by director David Frankel provide for a constant steam of gentle mirth, if not huge laughs. show more

  • 70
    Movieline

    Genial and mild, The Big Year doesn't give in to the temptation to juice up its story with outsized caricatures or inflated dramas. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The Big Year is getting the enthusiastic support of the Audubon Society, and has an innocence and charm that will make it appealing for families, especially those who have had enough whales and dolphins for the year. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    If anything, The Big Year plays like Ron Howard's "Parenthood'' with birds instead of children. show more

  • 63
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    What this film from the director of "The Devil Wears Prada" does manage is a gentle amiability. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    This is a gentle, diffident concoction. But it has barely enough pulse to power a hummingbird. show more

  • April 21, 2012 gp00000000118994
    Report This User

    Great movie.....i dont know anyone who would actually waste their time with such a project...but

  • March 29, 2012 patdortch
    Report This User

    Thought it was hilarious,especially if you\'re a birder, you\'ll appreciate it!

  • February 11, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    I actually bought the DVD with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Not what I would term a great movie, but, I was entertained for a couple hours, and isn\'t that movies are supposed to do?

  • February 01, 2012 yq00000000111206
    Report This User

    Totally exceeded expectations - turned out to be a fun, plucky film.

  • November 29, 2011 gkentschipper
    Report This User

    I am in charge of planning and doing a big year for our White Mt Audubon Society. I am looking forward to a great year and hope it is as exciting and interesting as the movie !!!!!!!! KS

  • November 13, 2011 pu00000000106282
    Report This User

    So good, such a relief from what Hollywood deems \"awesome\" The acting was amazing, the cinematography was epic, and the story was so real. They couldn\'t of cast\'d any better either, all the actors were spot-on for their characters. The problem is, it\'s kinda has an Indie feel to it, so a lot of people aren\'t gonna be fans, or may miss the message and subtle awesomeness. It\'s really about just not getting stuck in the everyday, mundane, day in day out routine, and actually make sacrifices for something more. I though it was legendary.. If you like cool indie flicks, you\'ll love it, if you thought Transformers 3 and the Green Latern were awesomesauce, pass on it bro, you won\'t like it.

  • October 27, 2011 mcloverboy02
    Report This User

    Pretty boring but has a good message in the end.

  • October 22, 2011 franplatt
    Report This User

    Unfortunately it\'s getting buried at the box office by the more highly hyped titles that came out at the same time, but The Big Year was one of the best movies I\'ve seen this year. I didn\'t expect to like it much because I don\'t like the kind of roles that Jack Black usually plays, but he was charming as the narrator and one of the three obsessed birders. The bird footage is very impressive and the story, while not exactly full of unexpected plot twists, raises timeless questions about how people decide what their main priorities in life are. Highly recommended, and not just for birders.

  • October 20, 2011 nrl51082
    Report This User

    A great movie about birding. Better than I expected.

  • October 19, 2011 Jeanne Bowman
    Report This User

    This was such a delight to watch, as I put myself in some of the same locations through out the U.S. and Alaska. I saw the Snowy Owl in Frederick MD ten years ago- never to be seen since. The rest of tje world is calling me.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X