Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 220 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Never dull, but it's rarely more than gently entertaining. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Has strong performances and stirring football scenes. show more

  • 63
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    An engaging if transparent tearjerker of the first water. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    It's fair to say that Bullock's appealing portrait of a strong-willed Tennessee belle ranks among the best work of her career. It's just too bad the movie around her comes up short. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Bullock is an irrepressible hoot in writer-director John Lee Hancock's otherwise thoroughly conventional take on Michael Lewis' fact-based book "The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game." show more

  • 55
    Bob Mondello NPR

    Unlike the tale told in "Precious", however, The Blind Side's story is contrived, storybook sweet, credulity-straining and ... um, true. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    What makes The Blind Side a Thanksgiving treat is director Hancock's subtle touch and admirable refusal to yield to sports movie clichés, something he did previously with "The Rookie" and "Remember the Titans." show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    Grounded in the direct, disarming truth of their experience, the movie has a straightforward lack of cheap sentiment that saves it from being either too maudlin or saccharine-sweet. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    In a head-to-head comparison, one would be hard-pressed not to declare that "Precious" is the better film - it makes fewer compromises and doesn't shy from showing the true ugliness only hinted at in this movie, but The Blind Side is more accessible. It's easier to digest. In the end, both films tell stories of triumph over adversity - a category of drama that uplifts while offering a dollop of social commentary. show more

  • 75
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    Without restraint or subtlety, but with a lot of heart and energy, this movie tells a real-life tall tale. show more

  • September 08, 2011 Dry Master
    Report This User

    Great film! Humerous and great drama! Hope they will try a sequel!

  • August 14, 2011 trooper193
    Report This User

    this is the best ever movie i have ever seen in my life i love this movie so much...

  • May 21, 2011 Cedisa
    Report This User

    Awesome! I can be watching this movie repeatedly and not get tired of it! Choon Mah-Meggett

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    AMAZING MOVIE! Sandra Bullock is such a great actress in this movie and her accent is flawless! It is a BEAUTIFUL story and it makes me want to cry EVERYTIME I watch this movie! SO GOOD!

  • March 07, 2011 hjt43434
    Report This User

    Touches the heart. You know its good.

  • March 05, 2011 TMarie1188
    Report This User

    I love Sandra Bullok and this movie was so great and inspiring. It shows that we do still have such nice and wonderful people in this world that are willing to do such great things for other people. I give Leigh Ann Tuohy great props for doing what she did. In today's unfortunate cruel world many people would have just left him there and stared at him wondering why he was in the freezing cold in shorts and a tee but Leigh Ann didn't much more than that she took him in, even though it started out as just for a night she and the rest of the family grew to love him and it just goes to show how good people in today's world sometimes go unnoticed and if it wasn't for this movie I don't know if the world would of ever of known of such a great and heart warming story.

  • January 24, 2011 Sweetrose
    Report This User

    This family film is one that makes me realize our great blessings in America; Leigh Ann Tuohy(Bullock), is the hero *********** an african-american teen from the impoverished lifestyle he led in childhood.Kathy Bates stars as Miss Sue,the tutor who makes Michael aspire for great dreams.With Sean( Tim McGraw) and their two children,Leigh Ann helps Michael Oher realize the spirit of determination and motivation.Bravo and cheers to Bullock, Bates and cast for this memorable film !

  • January 15, 2011 courtney
    Report This User

    this is my favorite movie i have watched it a million times!!!

  • December 29, 2010 Weston
    Report This User

    loved it

  • October 06, 2010 specialrub
    Report This User

    Loved this movie, I watched it 4 times and every time it made me cry.. Love Sandra in this movie, one of the best movie thats ever came out...

`

similar movies

  • Friday Night Lights (2004)

  • Hoosiers (1986)

  • Hoop Dreams (1994)

  • The Social Network (2010)

  • 42 (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X