Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 90 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The Book of Eli isn't as exciting or funny or inspiring as it wants and needs to be, and its preachy ending is an ordeal. But Washington, a movie star who can act, is one cool dude who is worth following anywhere. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A dynamic story, sprinkled with some interesting ideas about the preciousness of culture and how societies might rebuild themselves. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A didactic and humorless Western, Eli is too laborious for an action film and too brutal to be an inspirational tale. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The story requires a greater leap of faith than I was willing or able to muster, since Eli is also a saintly pilgrim on a God-given mission to save a ruined world. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Though not as lyrical as "The Road," which benefits from both its visual artistry and its humanist perspective, The Book of Eli employs the genre conventions of the western to make mythic its principal character. show more

  • 50
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Yet it all comes down to one simplistic idea, and the result feels like a one-film evangelical movement. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The Hughes Brothers' measured, well-paced direction complements the comic-book simplicity of this narrative. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The film looks and feels good, and Washington's performance is the more uncanny the more we think back over it. The ending is "flawed," as we critics like to say, but it's so magnificently, shamelessly, implausibly flawed that (a) it breaks apart from the movie and has a life of its own, or (b) at least it avoids being predictable. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The Book of Eli works, even if the preservation of Christianity isn’t high on your personal post-apocalypse bucket list. Establishing its storytelling rules clearly and well, the film simply is better, and better-acted, than the average end-of-the-world fairy tale. show more

  • 75
    Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Washington is surprisingly persuasive as a world-weary blade-wielder, and Oldman makes the most of a not particularly interesting villain. But the film's breakout star may be Kunis, who brings to Solara a blend of sassiness and sexiness that's reminiscent of Michelle Pfeiffer. show more

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    Never had any interest in watching this movie because the previews did not do it justice. I was on HBO one day so I decided to watch it and was BLOWN AWAY! I am not religious in any way but this is such a great movie and Denzel is KICKASS! I now ask all my friends if they have seen this movie and if they havnt I make sure they watch it. It is amazing and inspiring. And I promise that as soon as this movie is over you will want to watch it again. I PROMISE

  • November 28, 2010 StATeLoVeScItY..
    Report This User

    this was hot it was well worth it.see it every one.

  • July 25, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Starts off fantastic - superb production, direction and cinematography masterfully describes the pessimistic glum of a post- apocalyptic world in anarchy. Great action sequences follow. As the plot unravels it reveals its shortcomings, and undoes the brilliant beginning. Still well worth watching though.

  • July 18, 2010 Carolburrjohnson
    Report This User

    I had to watch it second time to pick up on the fact that Eli was blind ..great action and an off the beat ending of the movie

  • July 10, 2010 gorski3194
    Report This User

    Hey Anzer! Next time think what your saying before you say it. This movie was extremely powerful and what you are saying is wrong. People after the apocalypse werent taught to read and write for a reason. It wasn't needed because it wasn't necessary for survival. Plus, even if the girl didn't learn how to drive a car which she definitley did because it is necessary for survival, it is fairly easy to use the two pedals start and stop. Also, San fransisco was not hit as bad given the fact that is obviousley was not in direct contact with the sun. Also, it had been given time to regenerate. So yes this movie is very realistic and next time you should really watch the movie instead of ************* it for the action. These kinds of movies take rational thought, and yes this movie was a damn good movie/

  • July 14, 2010 edna
    Report This User

    Gorski......when I watched this movie...I was actually doing what you said...THINKING RATIONALLY. And I hope that before you write stuff like " San Francisco was not in direct contact with the sun " , you should first THINK before you type. Maybe it is easy to push the accelerate pedal or step on the brakes....but to drive endless miles on an SUV without gassing up is close to impossible. Finding a Rayban store or finding good tanned leather to make such beautiful kick ass boots is NOT necessary to survive in a post apocalyptic era being portrayed in the film. The acting is OK... Denzel whom I admired in many of his more believable roles ( as in Taking of Pelham 123 , Glory , American Gangster ) was good as always . Gary Oldman was trying hard to look and sound like Al Pacino , and the goons are just as they were...BAD. The premise of the story..that of protecting the Holy Book is good and powerful though. So as to survive...people as you say need only the necessary things...like the BAR and the BOOZE , Where they get the raw materials for alcohol is beyond me...seeing the desolation of the scenario. It seems to me that you watched the movie to enjoy the action and to ponder on a good cause ( save the Bible ) . I should apologize for USING my brain to dissect the movie like i did. Next time I will just sit and enjoy....but NOT THINK. Great movie...great acting...great action...LOVED IT. You happy now...MR GREAT RATIONAL THINKER ?????

  • June 20, 2010 mohab1982
    Report This User

    stupid movie.

  • May 28, 2010 rrspyke
    Report This User

    SoapGenesis: It is christians like you who are adding to the eventual destruction of the world you've seen in "The Book of Eli". You have spent so much time being taught fairy tales that you cannot write, spell or construct a sntance correctly. Pathetic!

  • May 23, 2010 SoapGenesis
    Report This User

    This movie was truely fantastic. It was visually pleasing. The back grounds where exellent with the movie. The acting was great.' The ending was moveing. I beilive that it was rated so low was because of the fact it was a Christain movie. There was enough action to feed your apatiet for blood as well.

  • May 02, 2010 Jandia9
    Report This User

    I loved it and cannot wait to buy it on Blu Ray..Between The Book of Eli and Avatar, I don't know what else will be played on my tv...Maybe dancing with the starz! LOL

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X