Skip to main content

reviews

55
Based on 26 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Emotionally, The Brothers Bloom hasn't a trace of detachment or cynicism. Even if you don't quite comprehend the ending (there seem to be 12 of them), you'll still feel the wallop of its consequences. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The Brothers Bloom has it all: charming romance, jaunty adventure story, witty dialogue, gorgeous cinematography and superb performances. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Rian Johnson's film is a scam wrapped in a sham. show more

  • 20
    New York Daily News

    An overstuffed failure that mistakes sleight storytelling for dazzling entertainment. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A couple of rather Dickensian supporting roles by Robbie Coltrane and Maximilian Schell fall embarrassingly flat as they are more creations of costumes and makeup than actual flesh-and-blood. But then the same can be said for the entire movie. show more

  • 75
    Chicago Tribune

    The jaunty, energetic first 10 minutes of The Brothers Bloom are easily the best first 10 minutes of any film I've seen this year. And while the succeeding hour and 43 minutes doesn't hold up to the movie's opening scenes, the whole endeavor is still an awfully good time. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The Brothers Bloom with satisfy those with a yearning for lighthearted heist tales, comedies, and offbeat romances. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This movie is lively at times, it's lovely to look at, and the actors are persuasive in very difficult material. But around and around it goes, and where it stops, nobody by that point much cares. show more

  • 63
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Even after the plot has left you behind, you still watch The Brothers Bloom with a smile, because the actors are so engaging. show more

  • 63
    Premiere

    Weisz infuses comic complexity into the ensemble, which is at times genuinely funny. show more

  • November 02, 2010 Echerry2012
    Report This User

    I loved the movie. It was an adventure and I was constantly laughing; I haven't laughed that much since seeing Weekend at Bernie's. The movie is brilliantly written, acted, and directed. It reminded me of Pushing Daisies, the wonderful television show that cut (sadly) from ABC in 2007. The Brothers Bloom was witty and hilarious. I highly recommend.

  • January 23, 2010 Doctormircoslav
    Report This User

    It s true ! This movie is really boring and totaly wasted time. For the Producer wasted money I guess............ regards Mirkoslav

  • June 27, 2009 Stu Dubner
    Report This User

    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Boring boring boring. Dont waste your money.

  • June 22, 2009 GooodGolly
    Report This User

    This movie is awesome! It's far from predictable, and the main actress is absolutely hysterical. Adrien Brody is adorable and endearing. I wasn't braced for the length, but it was really worth it. The movie is thoughtful, keeps you guessing, and plays well with time and setting. My fiance and I both really enjoyed this movie!

  • June 20, 2009 welcome salasrms
    Report This User

    A very bad movie and very predictable. We walked out since it seemed like it would never end. I chose to go based on the top actors, but even their lines was like a story we have seen before. Do not waste your money. Wait until it arrives to a rental store then waste your money.

  • June 16, 2009 bfhart1919
    Report This User

    THIS IS THE ONLY MOVIE IN 10 YEARS I HAVE WALKED OUT ON IT IS BORING STUPID DIALOGUE NOT FUNNY . UNSCREWING A LID ON A SUGAR DISPENSER IS NOT FUNNY IT HAS BEEN USED IN MOVIES FOR 50 YEARS . I GOT MY MONEY BACK.

  • June 09, 2009 padoma3
    Report This User

    Great little movie. Enjoyed immensely, especially after enduring the Hangover last weekend. A tad too long but good none the less.

  • June 08, 2009 lrbkahle
    Report This User

    I absolutely enjoyed this movie! It was entertaining and has a great cast. It was touching and funny. This movie is definitely worth seeing.

  • May 29, 2009 judyeberhart
    Report This User

    I actualy really enjoyed this movie. The cast for me was a dream cast. I'm not going to say this was oscar worthy but, very light and enjoyable and great cinematography. I would definatly recommend this movie.

  • May 26, 2009 JustInflux
    Report This User

    A complete mess. The Brothers Bloom is the perfect example of a movie having all good things going for it -- but absolutely collapsing under pathetic direction. The tone is completely off and film-school amateurish with cohesive vision or mood. There's narration, then no narration. The anachronistic styling of the characters doesn't work at all. The acting is stilted because of poor direction -- not to mention the fact that Adrien Brody just doesn't fit in this role, as he has no chemistry with the other actors. The music is dreadfully chosen and does not match the scenes. There's a complete lack of mise en scene, which is a shame. A more stylized or cohesive approach to the cinematography could've made the characters come alive in their world. Instead, it's completely blase. There's just an utter lack of imagination in the execution of the story.

`

similar movies

  • Ocean's Twelve (2004)

  • Where the Money Is (2000)

  • Tower Heist (2011)

  • Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X