Skip to main content

reviews

74
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 22 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The best social documents on film do more than show you what's wrong in the world – they make it personal. Bully does that with a passion. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Bully forces audiences to face actions that are unthinkable, inexcusable and excruciatingly sad. It offers no solutions, only the testimony of brave youths. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The film's power is undercut by its narrow geographic focus, which seems to associate bullying with conservative or working-class areas in red states. The filmmakers could easily have found similar cases involving the children of urban sophisticates. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Incredibly enough, it seems many people still believe that bullying is just a matter of "kids being kids." Until that attitude changes, this film should be considered required viewing for every parent, teacher and teenager in America. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    An intimate reflection on the bullying epidemic that makes its points quietly and succinctly. show more

  • 65
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Bully is much better when it sticks to simple storytelling. And storytelling, not grandstanding, is the thing that just might grab the attention of, say, school administrators, people who can have some effect on how bullies are dealt with. show more

  • 85
    Bob Mondello NPR

    All I can add to the discussion is the fervent hope that any parents, teachers, administrators or students who see it will immediately start clamoring for it to be shown at their next PTA meeting. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The purpose of Bully is to educate and promote discussion. If the problem is not solved, there will be more Columbines and additional stories like Tyler and Ty's. show more

  • 88
    Rex Reed New York Observer

    Lee Hirsch is certainly one who is making a difference. I endorse him and his brave, powerful movie and urge you to see it for yourself. You might leave Bully with rage, but you will not leave Bully with indifference. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Bully is a sincere documentary but not a great one. We feel sympathy for the victims, and their parents or friends, but the film helplessly seems to treat bullying as a problem without a solution. show more

  • February 20, 2013 nx00000000139769
    Report This User

    As a victim turned bully as a kid, all I can suggest is for parents to stop letting TV and video games raise you children. Teach them to stand up for themselfs this nation of women behaving boys and boy like girls is disgusting, Unexceptible and detrimental to their upbringing. In other words fight fire with fire. Your kid is being teased buy him/her headphones to block the noise teased on internet tell your kid to stay off the site thats bringing them down. If your kid is so sick from whats going on at home and school that the child commits suicide. Wtf does bullying have to do with that? Depression is a sickness a desease that should be made into a doumentury not ******* that run home and kill themselfs I have no sympathy for cowards and non fighting victims. Defend your honor children and live a goodlife. Bless the kids who hold there own like mine. Try bulling my kids they wil kick your ass!! No soft kids in this house. Sorry for the kids whos parents are sooo busy they don\'t know their own children.

  • August 16, 2012 jenheist5
    Report This User

    I want to see it or own the DVD, where can I get it?

  • May 15, 2012 jmpinaz
    Report This User

    I recently saw the movie BULLY. As a victim of bullying and as an educator, this movie was incredible from the beginning. I think everyone needs to see this film and get involved in putting an end to bullying. This is my review of the film... BULLY right away takes its audience to the heart of the problem, showing that when nothing is done about bullying it can end in tragedy. This eye-opening documentary shows how five kids, along with their families, have been victims of bullying during the 2009-2010 school year. From the first scene viewers see how harmful bullying is and as the documentary progresses audiences get a glimpse of what bullying looks like, how it is ignored and how it changes the lives of those effected. BULLY is a must-see film for educators, parents, and students and bullying, needs to be stopped!

  • May 01, 2012 thevisitor967
    Report This User

    This documentary could\'ve been so much better. Big deal ************** three families with kids who were bullied. The filmmaker could\'ve gone further and shown bullying in other countries. Or, they could\'ve shown bullying from a teachers\' point of view in addition to the parents\'. It really didn\'t have anything new to say that you could\'ve read in Time magazine.

  • April 28, 2012 wadisplace
    Report This User

    A must see for all students and parents.

  • April 27, 2012 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    5* FOR SUBJECT & CONTEXT ONLY....It\'s an important subject; this context is ALWAYS necessary in a human society. Bullying means: I want to see what he\'ll do. Testing him, Testing me, kind of thing. Learning about life. Wanting to feel strong and confident. I can remember when I had this problem in childhood. My mother had the problem big time in her childhood so she taught all of her children the proper way to fight. Avoidance was not a choice to her since she had tried so hard in her childhood to avoid bullies. In 6th grade I decided to join a group of girls who seemed cool & we played that game about cross your legs and fingers & if somebody is caught undone you punch them. Well, I was caught & I was punched hard but when I caught & punched hard that person wanted to fight and her friends joined in. The teacher pulled the mess apart and they waited for me after school. I dodged them for weeks after school & we said nothing in class. Finally, in the summer, there they were, all of them (3) met me on the street. I thought about what my mother said & I did it. But something happened inside of me while it was going on. I prayed and told God I don\'t want to fight, I don\'t like fighting & it was a decision for all my life. The next day the girls wanted to be friends. My soul was clear on two things from them on: I don\'t like to fight & I don\'t want to be friends with people who fight. EVERYONE has a story like this. It is a part of childhood development... some researchers will say but some people will swear it is not. THE YOUNG MALE WITH THE UNUSUAL LOOKS will not look like that when he finishes maturing. He will be tall & look masculine (did you hear that deep voice on him?) & he will be a highly tolerable guy, (he learned to be tolerable with the bullies beating on him) like maybe, a big teddy bear and few people will bother him because he will be so big. And, he will likely be a \'hero\' type person. But if he breaks out to fighting every bully that messes with him (at this age) he would risk changing himself and his choice of spirit without knowing it. So, time will change everything for all of the kids. (That principal sucked and she knew she was on camera. She was disgusting and predictive; she didn\'t full anybody in our audience.) But then the parents were not that good, as well. They did not seek SOLUTIONS, they sought to make the world stop and that ain\'t gonna happen. Your child has to learn to live in the world. That\'s the point and the goal...and in the world there are principals at school like the one in the film who \'politic\' you. So, what could parents have done for the gay child who wanted to play basketball? Got the child good basketball coaching so the team will come to him/her. Something like that. Teach the child to feel empowered and solve problems. Don\'t teach them that the world will step aside for them because it won\'t. That kid who was bullied could have used some martial arts training to bolster his confidence.--MO

  • April 25, 2012 fv00000000097909
    Report This User

    Lee Hirsch and the Weinstein Brothers have done the world a service with this moving examination of bullying and the many involved forces that ******* were gone, but don\'t actually help. Watching a County Sheriff starting to blather, sounding sort-of responsible, to be interrupted by an agitated parent, pointing out that his department is not making the contribution he is claiming, is powerful. I squirmed in my chair watching mother, father and school administrator offer ignorant advice, making the kids feel at fault for their plight as bullying victims. The kids getting the most advice in this picture are the victims. Challenging, counseling and following the perpetrators looks like a much clearer solution. Bullies are often getting their butts kicked somewhere, they may be the ones most in need of intervention, in order to stop the brutality. (Challenge Day--not mentioned in the film--is one wonderful resource, impacting 100 kids in a day, with many parents on board, learning right along with their kids.

  • April 21, 2012 idlehour1
    Report This User

    Excellent. Should be Mandatory in every school !!!! Also every Parent and child should see it.

  • April 20, 2012 willsied8
    Report This User

    gls1152, you are a complete imbecile. Scientologist, or have you been listening to some other bozo filling your head with crap?

  • April 19, 2012 bbfisher101
    Report This User

    Great movie I feel everyone should see. Congrats to The Weinstein brother\'s for putting it forward. My thoughts: since the Weinstein\'s are richer than they could have possibly ever dreamed, I thnk it would be a great idea to donate 100% of the profits towards fixing this very serious problem. Why not pay all ot he parents whose children have taken their lives an annual salary so that they can dedicate the majority of their time (outside of needed family time) to go to schools and speak about bullying on a regular basis. Not just one time maybe even once a month a speech delivered to the entire student body, teachers, bus drivers, etc. If anyone reads this and feels the way I do please help me to put this idea forward. These parents are taking their time to remedy this situation and increase awareness I am assuming without any funding. They are in pain yet still trying to prevent any other parents from experiencing the pain they have felt, Weinstein\'s step up, share the wealth build a huge legacy to help eliminate bullying! tweet @barbarabfisher thanks!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X