Skip to main content

reviews

62
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 84 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Junkies for dark humor should prep for going cold turkey, despite the efforts of director Andrew Adamson to spice things up with combat and a rivalry between Caspian and Peter (good on Moseley for showing some backbone) that Lewis never imagined. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Exactly one minute longer than its predecessor, but it's a dragged-out exercise, with no epic scale and no spirit worth talking about. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    An exhilarating fantasy adventure marred only by its length and protracted climactic battle scenes. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    I wish I could be more enthusiastic about Prince Caspian, an honorable and attractive adventure for children and families. But scenic beauty and spirited action can't conceal its dramatic defects. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    An elaborately presented feast that will taste familiar to the 'tween and teen audience for whom it is served. The four courses are love, war, faith and humor, served in no canonical order, and sometimes, simultaneously. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Even with all the CGI effects, this darkly emotional movie feels like the anti-"Speed Racer." Sure, it's a big-budget spectacle. But it's also the kind of grandly old-fashioned entertainment we don't get enough of anymore. show more

  • 80
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Several shades darker in tone than the previous edition -- which, to be fair, didn't carry the burden of expectation that a sequel must bear -- the return to Narnia still casts a transporting spell. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    In their refusal to be up-to-the-moment, the Narnia movies are bound to age beautifully, perhaps much more so than the two Shrek films Adamson directed. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    If Caspian has a fault, it's that viewers familiar with neither the books nor the first film may have trouble picking up the strands of the story in the early scenes… but in all honesty, how many Lewis neophytes will choose Caspian as their point of entry? show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Take away the storming music and grand vistas, and it's all a standard sword-and-sorcery adventure; director Andrew Adamson is more than a journeyman but much less than the visionary Peter Jackson is. show more

  • May 06, 2013 nu00000000148169
    Report This User

    love it â™

  • April 30, 2013 xq00000000147250
    Report This User

    Love it! One of the best movies!

  • December 31, 2010 kairp1
    Report This User

    One of the best in the series.

  • January 19, 2009 DEVOTiONx3DESiRE
    Report This User

    Really interesting...again. cant wait 4 the voyage of dawn treader

  • January 08, 2009 BStayton7
    Report This User

    This next addition the the Chronicles of Narnia again holds true to the vision of C.S. Lewis and his attempt to point out life leasons with this bedtime like story. Just as Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe pointed out the worlds that could be seen when you look with a child's curiosity, Prince Caspian teaches the leasons of pride and fear and how each can get in the way of having true success. Caspian also points out that sometimes the biggest enemy you can have is yourself. Just as Lewis made his second book darker than the first, Strangmuller and Adamson darken the lighting and bring a gloomy mysterical edge to this masterpiece. One of the truest to the book series continues in 2010 with "Voyage of the Dawn Treader" with much anticipation to see if they return to the sunnier look that Lewis' 3rd book brings. If Lion and Caspian are any indication we can expect a right down to the letter dramatic display of Lewis' spectacular fantasy world.

  • November 02, 2008 Half halo life22
    Report This User

    Narnia returns!! & its amazing

  • October 09, 2008 Joe006
    Report This User

    NARNIA PRINCE CASPIAN Yes I want to get it on DVD I like it a Hole lot I like it better than the first one.

  • August 29, 2008 Missemilyos
    Report This User

    I loved it!! It's one of my favorite movies now!!

  • August 15, 2008 newyork6000
    Report This User

    I love this movie. I went to the PREMIERE of this movie and it was so cool! When you turned your head back twoards the seats behind you, you see the stars of the movie!!!! At the after-party I got to meet ALL of the stars including Ben Barnes. William Mosely is SOOOOOOOOOO CUTE and so nice and even when I already took a picture with him and met him, HE (NOT ME!!!!!!) came over to ME(!!!!!!!!!!!) and started talking to me and asking me how I liked the movie, and if I'm liking the after party and stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG it was like the coolest thing ever!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also went to the CAMP ROCK PREMIERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The Jonas Brothers are so much cuter in person and so sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My heart litterally skipped a beat!!!!! I almost fanited while meeting them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • July 30, 2008 GoogintaVilhelm
    Report This User

    The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian I really enjoyed this movie. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe I did not enjoy as well as the sequel.

`

similar movies

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (2010)

  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002)

  • The Neverending Story (1984)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X