Skip to main content

reviews

70
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 201 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    What Button shows is that Ben is ultimately not the hero of his own life or his own movie. He gets inside our head, that's for sure, but, frustratingly, we never get inside his. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The movie's excruciating length is without dramatic or thematic justification. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Worth seeing just for the superb prosthetic makeup and seamless computer-generated effects in which Pitt's head is digitally imposed onto older bodies. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Benjamin Button is all of a visionary piece, and it's a soul-filling vision. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Question: Is life still like a box of chocolates if you're going in reverse? The answer, in the case of the curiously Gumpian The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, is a gooey yes. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Benjamin never questions his fate and never actually gets to enjoy being a kid. At least there's a thoughtful middle part, where the enigmatic Blanchett comes alive and Benjamin seems haunted by life -- someone we recognize, and not just a vessel tossed about by time. show more

  • 100
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Superbly made and winningly acted by Brad Pitt in his most impressive outing to date. show more

  • 100
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    It takes a world-class storyteller and a great yarn to rivet your attention for nearly three hours. This very classy, old-school movie - employing cutting-edge technology that will make your eyes pop - did it for me. show more

  • 100
    Premiere

    Naturally, Pitt and Blanchett are outstanding. Fincher's meticulous attention to detail is unerring, down to the light fixtures. show more

  • 100
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    Brad Pitt's sensitive performance helps make 'Benjamin Button' a timeless masterpiece. show more

  • July 02, 2011 xw00000000094425
    Report This User

    love it great movie

  • October 29, 2010 gladismitchrules
    Report This User

    nothing personal against brad pitt because i love him and he is hott, but i feel that this movie was extremely boring and almost put me to rest. i had to fast forward to the end in which i didnt understand because i didnt exactly watch i was dazing off.

  • June 01, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Top flight entertainment. Well done in all departments.

  • August 16, 2009 OneWayOnlyJesus
    Report This User

    The beginning of the movie was good, especially where the doctor explained the baby's issues and his closeness with Queenie, but once she had her baby and he left to "find himself"... the movie ran aground just like another Brad Pitt movie, Legends of the Fall, when Brad's character took off to find himself only to distance himself emotionally from the other characters, which made us not care as much about them either. Instead of adding depth to the character(s), the separation ends up detracting from the relationships the audience needs to care about. If they had kept his character really connected to these people in his life (like it was done in Fried Green Tomatoes), it would have made much more of an emotional impact when people died, etc. Bottom line is I stopped really caring about the characters and the story ended up losing steam in the end. The acting was ok, not great.

  • July 04, 2009 Conserv2177
    Report This User

    this is the best movie eva i saw it 5 times and it never gets old! brad pitt did an awsome job

  • May 09, 2009 Chantelarnold
    Report This User

    I absolutly loved this movie! It has got to be the best movie i have seen in my 23 years. Brad Pitt you did an awesome JOB...I would love to see more movies like this..i didnt want to leave my bed to go to the restroom it was that good and i could have paused it and didnt....

  • March 14, 2009 Pinkpuppy95
    Report This User

    i LOVED this movie.im only 13, but it was utterly amazing. it dazzled me from begginning 2 end. it was long but it was so good i didnt want it to be over and i went 2 see it at 10:30 at night!

  • March 09, 2009 Schenkmanpro
    Report This User

    Amazing visuals, very interesting story arc, but principal characters somehow come across as flat and two dimensional.

  • March 03, 2009 Paul Preister
    Report This User

    really good story! and well acted. one of the best

  • February 28, 2009 B Dolls
    Report This User

    GREAT MOVEY

`

similar movies

  • Forrest Gump (1994)

  • Labor Day (2013)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • An Education (2009)

  • The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2 (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X