Skip to main content

reviews

67
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    All the acting is exemplary. Brody, new to Wes' World, is revelatory as Peter. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A frustrating movie, a work of immaturity from a director who should be past the empty gestures and self-protective distance of his early work. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A spiritual quest can take many forms. One could argue that all of director Wes Anderson's movies focus on a sense of personal melancholy and directionlessness that often fuels such an odyssey. And they do so with a dark and offbeat wit. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The film as a whole operates in Mr. Anderson's patented, semi-precious zone of antic and droll. It's not as if the filmmaker has gone off the rails. He's just not solidly on them. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A movie about people who literally carry a lot of emotional baggage, metaphorically unpack it, and spiritually lighten their loads. By the end, I felt lighter. Which is closer to enlightenment than most movies get. show more

  • 50
    New York Daily News

    Wilson, Brody and Schwartzman have their charms, but the script gives them little to work with. Anderson and his co-writers have come up with an ordinary road movie. show more

  • 100
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    A picture that certain Brits and connoisseurs of British colloquial English might call "a grower" … more moving and funny the more I think about it. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Anderson is like Dave Brubeck, who I'm listening to right now. He knows every note of the original song, but the fun and genius come in the way he noodles around. And in his movie's cast, especially with Owen Wilson, Anderson takes advantage of champion noodlers. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Spiritual journeys, even if they’re comedies, don’t really lend themselves to the extreme, anal-retentive formalism found in every frame of The Darjeeling Limited. show more

  • 75
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    As always with Anderson, the comedy is neatly embedded in the jaded banter, where the insecurities and rivalries bubble up -- here, all within the bell jar of that shared sleeping compartment. show more

  • July 09, 2009 fickleflame77
    Report This User

    this is now one of my favorite movies!!!

  • May 22, 2008 iamreallyzac
    Report This User

    Boffalo lanes is a clean fun and friendly place to be.

  • May 22, 2008 dds10021
    Report This User

    I love vampire movies but this move is a joke.No plot. Just blood and guts. No explanation as why the vampires are there, where did they come from, what the heck they were doing? And they don't even speak english!!??Here's a quick summary:Vampires come to a town, eat almost everybody except for 10 people, then they hide for an hour and then try and find and kill the last few people. HORRIBLE! I'm getting angry even writing this review.Just made no sense and I was so mad that I wasted 10$ on garbage.Stay away.

  • May 22, 2008 edstirt
    Report This User

    This is a great movie for the entire family! You'll laugh as well as jump out of your seats a few times! With Halloween just around the corner, go see this movie and get yourself ready for the season! It's just the right amount of scare for everyone. HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! oooOOOOOOOoooooo, Boo!

  • May 22, 2008 artmele92067
    Report This User

    He just does not know about dogs. He should go back to school and while he is there send his staff also. Ignorance all around. Medicine are dispenced without reading, operations are given wheather the doog needs it or not. Amazing

  • May 22, 2008 bommdotcom
    Report This User

    Well, I was hoping at this point to have a really informed view of a movie I've been waiting MONTHS to see.\nBut, I can't find a screening of this movie in my town.\nOhio is a pretty big state, and it isn't even showing in my state.\nSo, I'd just like to know who made the choice to release this movie in certain cities only? And why is Ohio not included in it?

  • May 22, 2008 sid111x123
    Report This User

    Worst I've seen this year, doesn't make any sense.What a waste of acting talent.

  • May 22, 2008 jcantor917
    Report This User

    I love the jonas brothers. they are such good singers.Joe is awesome!

  • May 22, 2008 wb132
    Report This User

    I wish I had a universal movie remote contral, so I can fast forward most of the scene (maybe even skipt the whole scene. What a wast of good actors and good film talent. THe excution of film is profassional-- everything is weldown but there is nothing behind it. It bothers me that all three characters are so dressed up in a humid and hot weather. Without shower, walking long time, falled into water, run, fight... still the suits look sill frash and clean. The story (if there is one) is about this family of 3 man and their mother, but we know nothing about its history. Is this an existentialism movie?

  • May 22, 2008 castlerocker15
    Report This User

    Overall, I enjoyed it. It captured that dark Russian underground graphically well. The casting was very well done. I just hope they come out with posters of the steam room fight scene...

`

similar movies

  • Igby Goes Down (2002)

  • Garden State (2004)

  • You Can Count on Me (2000)

  • My Own Private Idaho (1991)

  • Ghost World (2001)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X