Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 19 )
  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Deserves plenty of credit for exploring racial issues story in more realistic terms. show more

  • 75
    Mike Clark USA Today

    Despite appealing performances and kinetic football scenes, the storytelling is mostly conventional. show more

  • 50
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    The Express eventually reaches its triumph-of-the-human-spirit climax, but it yanks too hard on the heart strings during the long journey there. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Sports biodramas generally take one of two tacks: gauzily sentimental or scrappy tale of struggle. The Express runs the thin line between the two and, to its benefit, more often than not hits the first mark. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Thanks to a rock-solid performance by Dennis Quaid, nice historical touches and energetic direction by Gary Fleder, the tried-and-true formula is given a welcome shot of adrenaline. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Involving and inspiring in the way a good movie about sports almost always is. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    While Ernie's on-field accomplishments were extraordinary, it was the environment in which he struggled to achieve them that makes him the worthy subject of a motion picture. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    A decent football movie, just about good enough to be the 40th best episode of "Friday Night Lights" . . . which has aired 39 episodes. show more

  • 63
    TV Guide

    Davis led an unquestionably inspirational life, but The Express, however heartfelt, is uninspired. show more

  • 63
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    Many inspirational sports movies provide only junk food for thought; this one contains some authentic reflections of sport in the civil rights era. show more

  • January 23, 2009 cliftonjordanii
    Report This User

    OMG! You MUST see get this movie. I had never heard of this guy and I love football and I am an African American. Not only is the storyline outstanding but the acting is superb. Give it a chance and I promise you won't be disappointed. I didn't even realize it was out on DVD until I saw it listed on PPV. Forget that! I'm on my way to Target to BUY IT!!!!

  • November 09, 2008 RagsPos
    Report This User

    great,moving, worthy of academy award consideration. Mac Post

  • October 30, 2008 ssavatdy
    Report This User

    Saw this movie last night and thought it was very good. Sad at the end but still a very very good movie. At times it was hard to watch but you have to understand how things were back in that day. Overall good movie.

  • October 23, 2008 Racmag1
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was wonderful. It was very sad at the end but i like being emotional. It has great meaning and I could watch it over and over again. Go and see this movie immediately.

  • October 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    Fine story, well written, directed and acted. The only thing that stands out as inaccurate is that the racism of that time was more pervasive and uglier than depicted in the movie.

  • October 20, 2008 sop1963
    Report This User

    i saw this movie this past weekend. it truly shows how God puts us here sometimes for a very specific purpose. what are the chances of anyone doing something that goes down in the record books, and then immediately passes away to a better life. we all who are living a lot longer than ernie need to find out our true purpose that creates happiness for ourselves and begin to do it.. just working day in and day out just will not cut out it anymore.

  • October 18, 2008 letstalkcrg
    Report This User

    went to see this with my husband and it was a great movie . somethings i seen were really hard to imagine a person has to tolerate the ignorance of others in order to get by we are all made the same if we bleed its red blood not black or white. It was nice to see that no matter how many obstacles got in this persons way he kept on going till he reached his goal no one could stop him. Ignorance is a sad thing for a person to live with.

  • October 18, 2008 jenglehr44
    Report This User

    I go to movies every week, it was great. In fact I rarely see a movie twice , this one I will.

  • October 16, 2008 ALIYU FAMILY
    Report This User

    This movie was so heartfelt and exhilerating for me. I had a passion to see the movie based on my alumni connection with Syracuse University. After seeing the massive statue of Ernie Davis on the campus quad, I now realize his legacy and contribution to football and civil rights. The movie was well directed, superbly acted and a must see. I can't wait to buy the DVD when it is released.

  • October 16, 2008 rraeanngriffin
    Report This User

    This movie is excellent. I see alot of movies and most of them have not been worth the time and effort to see. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Wonderful story and wonderful cast - I loved it!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X