Skip to main content

reviews

34
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 281 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Film critics have been asked to say as little as possible about M. Night Shyamalan's new scare film about the perils of messing with Mother Nature. Fair enough. But I will say this: It's not happening. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's an entertaining movie, which is half the game, but it's not scary, which it should be. Neither is it something to be taken seriously, though it's intended to be. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Shyamalan isn't drawing the caliber of performances from his actors as he used to. Who can forget Haley Joel Osment's haunting portrayal in The Sixth Sense or that of Toni Collette, who played his mother, or Bruce Willis in arguably his best role? show more

  • 10
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The Happening makes you wonder whether Mr. Shyamalan's own switch may have been flipped. How else to explain his film's befuddling infelicities, insistent banalities, shambling pace and pervasive ineptitude? show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    As for The Happening, his throwback horror flick that plays like "The Birds" meets "The Blob," it's beyond good and evil. It's dumbfounding. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The film never builds past its initial idea, the references to 9/11 feel cheap, the good actors are wasted, and the bad ones are distracting. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The movie seems more like a '50s science fiction film of extreme paranoia or an episode of "The Twilight Zone" that even at a swiftly paced 90 minutes feels padded. show more

  • 50
    Bob Mondello NPR

    If what audiences are looking for is a thrill ride, or even a pervasive eeriness, The Happening's just not happening. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A movie that I find oddly touching. It is no doubt too thoughtful for the summer action season, but I appreciate the quietly realistic way Shyamalan finds to tell a story about the possible death of man. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Even when his scripts aren't working, Shyamalan knows how to frame shots and build suspense. The Happening, even more than his previous films, has a visual elegance and subtlety that helps to overcome the less successful aspects of the plot. show more

  • October 30, 2012 qj00000000062988
    Report This User

    best movie he ever made way better then the village and mark walberg a+ acting!!!!

  • November 21, 2010 mirandaEidson
    Report This User

    i didn't really get it and it was kind of weird because people were killing themselves like pretty much through the whole movie

  • February 20, 2010 Lil mikey 1012
    Report This User

    The movie was .. okay --- it's got a good side and a stupid side::: GOOD: The story line .. i think the fact that a chemical going through the air and infecting people is a fine story as long as it is transfered into the movie well, which is was in this movie. BAD: the characters/acting ... Acting was terrible! If someone had to play ***************** not have been COOL GUY Mark Wahlberg because in this movie Elliot was basically a Fa@@ot in the movie, a chicken, a scardy cat!! And not only him,, all of the other acting was bad!! OVERALL RATING: Okay.. 68/100 ... 4/10 ...

  • December 12, 2009 ablacksafari
    Report This User

    Very good movie. It has you wondering what will happen next. Enjoyed the ending very much..

  • December 12, 2009 Chihuahuas4life
    Report This User

    This movie should not be on this list. I saw it at the movies then rented it and will probably purchase it. This is a good movie with a different twist.

  • July 16, 2009 JoeyJoker13
    Report This User

    M. Night Shyamalan's films are very brilliant of twist ending and stuff. This one was not the best one but..entertaining. The film is about a chemical that spread in the air and people start to kill each other. Pretty entertaining to watch. I loved it and music was masterpiece. This movie was very entertaining and good. Critic Rating: 71/100. -Peace

  • January 28, 2009 Lopcar1993
    Report This User

    The Happening is the most original, and most entertaining and pleasing apocalyptic thriller I've ever seen. This amazing film stars Mark Whalberg and Zooey Deschanel as Elliot and Alma Moore a couple who in the midst of there marital problems hear about strange occurrences that have been happening in New York city, people out of nowhere start killing themselves left and right and with no reason or explanation. Soon enough it hits everywhere in the northwestern area, entire groups of people are turning into suicidal maniacs and nobody know why. As Elliot and Alma are trying to out run this mysterious plague, they start to realize that this might not be what everyone believes it is, it might actually be something no one on this planet is meant to understand, something that cannot be explained by normal means, something that must be witnessed to believe, there's an event occurring. And it's happening right now in this film. The Happening blends Shyamalan's unique style of film making with eyeball freezing horror that you just have to see to believe. I very highly recommended this amazing film.

  • December 25, 2008 Highemotions69
    Report This User

    I liked this movie. I went and bought it. No, it's not as good as Signs or the Sixth Sense but it definately shouldn't have made the number one for the worst of 2008. Of course I didn't agree with a few of the movies these people picked out as the worst.

  • November 26, 2008 csny909
    Report This User

    Nothing HAPPENED!

  • November 09, 2008 Ametsphan4ever
    Report This User

    This movie was very good. I agree with another reviewer there is a scientific explanation for what was going on in the movie-- look it up it is really interesting. Also, I don't understand how anyone couldn't get what happened when hints where given in different parts of the movie. Come on guys use your brains.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X