Skip to main content

reviews

33
Based on 15 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 19 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The only way to react is by bringing a barf bag or a strong sense of gallows humor. show more

  • NA
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Crosses the line from horror to just plain sick. show more

  • 75
    V.A. Musetto New York Post

    Dieter Laser is grand as the doc, a character Christopher Walken would be comfortable doing, and Akihiro Kitamura provides laughs as the first part of the centipede. show more

  • 25
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Tom Six's movie has the freakiness and sadism of its genre, but it's so heavy with self-appreciation -- Dude, we had the craziest premise for a movie! -- that it can't lift off into the perverse ecstasy of decent exploitation. That was also the problem with "Snakes on a Plane.'' show more

  • 12
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Six has now made a film deliberately intended to inspire incredulity, nausea and hopefully outrage. It's being booked as a midnight movie, and is it ever. Boozy fanboys will treat it like a thrill ride. show more

  • 60
    Kim Newman Empire

    This will not appeal to everyone, whether it will appeal to anyone is another question. With dark humour from time to time, underneath an extremely repulsive concept, this is a relatively conventional horror movie. show more

  • 50
    Amy Nicholson Boxoffice Magazine

    More of a stunt than a script, The Human Centipede (First Sequence) should get a modest amount of I-dare-you ticket sales, but it's about as mass market as a dogfight. show more

  • 20
    Joshua Rothkopf Time Out New York

    Excruciatingly stupid movie. show more

  • 50
    Marjorie Baumgarten Austin Chronicle

    Coprophiliacs looking for a movie that really rings their chimes will be positively tintinnabulating from this arthouse horror number. show more

  • 83
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    Unlike its obvious influence, the 1999 Japanese shocker "Audition," The Human Centipede has no real-world echoes. It's an only-in-the-movies sick goof. show more

  • September 11, 2012 ik00000000129424
    Report This User

    I have been a true fan of horror films for more than 3 decades. This series of films are a true masterpiece because it is truly horror. I can\'t remeber when I\'ve seem such imagery on the screen, in the first series the gore level is somewhat low but the evilness of Dr. Heiter is completely of the charts. You cant help but to feel sorry for his victums. Its clear that the doctor is the evilist man on Earth

  • March 19, 2011 hello G
    Report This User

    This movie defines "NEW" horror. All the squeamish.....do *********! Dr. Heiter takes manipulation, creepiness, and sheer terror to a new level. There is nothing more "shocking" in this movie that you would not see in "Hostel" or "Saw"! I read all the comments...if it's so disgusting and gross, why did you *************** it??? Everyone has been talking about it...is the premise of the movie a HUGH surprise? So all you HORROR movie fan wanna-be's go watch The Princess Bride, you may sleep again-"horror rules" G

  • November 11, 2010 neandcafrye
    Report This User

    My real vote would be "MAYBE" It took me a long time to work up the nerve to see this movie. The plot is truely disgusting beyond belief. Two female tourists and one japanese man are kidnapped by a demented surgeon somewhere in Germany. They are drugged, and wake up in his basement laboritory. The surgeon, who became famous specializing in the separation of cojoined twins, now wants to try doing the "opposite." With the help of an overhead projector, he explains in detail how he intends to surgically attatch then together--MOUTH to ANUS--thus creating a human centipede "with a single digestive system." I was mildly taumatized for several days after watching the theatrical trailer on on-line. I spent weeks aclimating myself to the idea by reaading articles about it online and watching clips of it on YouTube. By the time I finally saw it online (with Portugese subtitles), it didn't seem as quite as bad as I expected. It's actually rather well-made, and the actor who plays the scientist is excellent. But the two actresses are mediocre at best. Luckily, their lack of acting ability helps mute the horror a bit, since they aren't quite talented enough to truely convey the absolute horror of what's happening to them. This makes the experience a little less taumatic for the viewer. Also, there is surprizingly little gore for this type of movie. It's the IDEA of what's happening that's most horrific. It also helped to watch an online interview with the cast members. They all seemed like happy, normal, likable people, and this helped to remind me that it was ONLY a MOVIE. People who have been traumatized by seeing this movie or its trailer might find some relief by watching the interview on YouTube. Like I said before: my real vote is "MAYBE" See it at your own risk...

  • October 20, 2010 jamesjowens1
    Report This User

    This movie is the worst,bad acting,bad script,!I hate this movie! Sickening ,degrading,a waste of time and money! There are many more good B grade movies of the horror genere out there. This one gets an FFFFFFFF! That's too good for it.Plain disgusting!

  • October 16, 2010 DJ
    Report This User

    Dr. Heiter has to be the creepiest character I've watched in a long time. The looks, speech and mannerisms he gave in this movie was really impressive. The plot was somewhat predictable after the initial shock in what was happening. Monsters and aliens don't scare me, but the human dark side can really freak me out. Makes you wonder if this stuff really happens, . .

  • October 11, 2010 Jakeearing
    Report This User

    awesome lil wayne gets raped at the end. watch it

  • September 01, 2010 Blondefox1079
    Report This User

    this movie was disgusting!!!!!

  • July 16, 2010 karina4black
    Report This User

    omg this is SOOOO SCARY I ********** THIS IT LOOKS SO MAD SCARY ********** IT I COULDENT SLEEP FOR ONE WHOLE NIGHT JUST BECAUSE I SAW THE TRALIER WONDER HOW THE MOVIE IS YUCK!

  • July 07, 2010 MewKnite
    Report This User

    I watched this movie. It was pretty gross, yeah. It kinda makes you go 'WTF' the whole time, haha.

  • July 02, 2010 horrior8796
    Report This User

    i wanna see this i look soo awesome :D

`

similar movies

  • Let the Right One In (2008)

  • Snowpiercer (2013)

  • Come Out and Play (2012)

  • Only Lovers Left Alive (2013)

  • Ida (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X