Skip to main content

reviews

94
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 57 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Here's the Iraq War movie for those who don't like Iraq War movies. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    This one enters the pantheon of great American war films. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Both a psychological portrait and an exciting action film. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A first-rate action thriller, a vivid evocation of urban warfare in Iraq, a penetrating study of heroism and a showcase for austere technique, terse writing and a trio of brilliant performances. Most of all, though, it’s an instant classic that demonstrates, in a brutally hot and dusty laboratory setting, how the drug of war hooks its victims and why they can’t kick the habit. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Fused with paranoia and almost unbearable suspense, The Hurt Locker is powerful stuff. show more

  • 100
    New York Daily News

    What you'll remember most will be Renner's remarkably complex commander. By the time we finally figure him out, it's become clear we've witnessed a star-making performance, in a movie that deserves to stand as one of the defining films of the decade. show more

  • 90
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Tensely action-packed and muscularly directed by Kathryn Bigelow, this tale of an elite U.S. army bomb disposal unit in Baghdad is a familiar story in new clothes, targeted at the young male demographic. show more

  • 90
    Bob Mondello NPR

    The adrenaline rush of war has been largely missing from Hollywood's Iraq, but it's certainly front and center in The Hurt Locker, the first war movie in a while that feels as if it could have starred John Wayne. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A great film, an intelligent film, a film shot clearly so that we know exactly who everybody is and where they are and what they’re doing and why. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Like every war before it, the U.S. invasion of Iraq has generated its share of movies. But The Hurt Locker is the first of them that can properly be called a masterpiece. show more

  • July 24, 2011 Jeanne
    Report This User

    The only good part was the trailer. Talk about a dragging boring movie.

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    I was pissed when I found out this movie won the Oscar over Avatar, but I had not seen it yet. Once I was The Hurt Locker I understood immediately why this movie won the Oscar for best film. IT IS AMAZING!!

  • November 15, 2010 greatyook6
    Report This User

    The most impressive scene I choose is after he come back home from the Iraq. He couldn’t even buy a cereal from a shopping mart, trying to find the reason why he has to go back to Iraq. He justifies himself and can find his place in home. Basically, what happens in the movie seems caused by james who is addicted to deactivating bomb, but those are caused by the war and the character, james, can be seen as created by the war. In this sense, the bomb building technology and techniques he uses are factors he can’t live without. He visualizes that he can’t do anything but deactivate the bomb in the reality and how highly the war can ruin someone’s

  • October 25, 2010 jeffrey98226
    Report This User

    Worst piece of trash I've ever wasted time watching. The fact that this movie's director received an oscar is incredible. What a piece of crap.

  • September 05, 2010 militaryflirts1
    Report This User

    I like this website: ‘___________Militaryflirts.c-/0-m ____________ !you can not refuse a person stay here to listen to what you say !there is no difference between between hot and strong ! It’s the place where you can —Meet singles,—hot military, who are searching for their special someone. a place to meet military singles and admirers i

  • March 31, 2010 Susan
    Report This User

    people that thought that the blind side and avatar were better then this movie are insane. it was the best indy movie that i have seen, and easily the best picture of the year. and to say that brothers was better, spyrock, you are an idiot. i thought it was a near perfect movie and is up there on my list with the godfather

  • March 23, 2010 sgdttime
    Report This User

    It was just ok, nothing that deserved the Academy Award. Liked Avatar and Blind Side better. George

  • March 22, 2010 Rebjr321
    Report This User

    The most overrated movie of the year. Mediocre at best.

  • March 19, 2010 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    The movie is "racist? Has anyone told some of these user reviewers that the USA is at war with some Muslims? Hence, the movie! Hard to believe the level of stupidity and ignorance of some in our culture.The film does accurately portray,for the most part,the"big picture" of Iraq. Otherwise ,the movie is very good- whether it has earned the mythical Hollywood desigantion of "Best Picture" is hard to say and,of course, is quite subjective- but it is certainly well acted and tells a story worth telling. Much drama and rich character development. After seeing this film, I am quite proud to be an American - do other soldiers risk their lives to assist the enemy -recognizing their humanity and the dignity and value of human life? Americans aren't strapping bombs on innocent children and oldmen,blowing them up needlessly, to make some type of perverted,sick political statement. God Bless American- the last great hope for mankind!

  • March 14, 2010 SPYROCK
    Report This User

    save your money. the movie ''brothers" is twice as good about the same subject and it wasn't nominated for anything. the academy awards lost all credibitity with me. it seems ********* all politics now. or about being politically correct. or about being jewish enough. the show was more or less a roast of "avatar" than anything esle. all they lacked was whoopi goldberg dressed as a female avatar.

`

similar movies

  • Green Zone (2010)

  • Jarhead (2005)

  • Full Metal Jacket (1987)

  • Black Hawk Down (2001)

  • Three Kings (1999)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X