Skip to main content

reviews

42
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 57 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Audiences with a brain cell left have only one choice: Look for the first exit on the right. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    The remake of The Last House on the Left breaks the template, taking the 1972 original into an interesting new direction, with bold camera angles, good actors and a script that heaps on just as much character development as carnage. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Not only is it plodding and completely predictable, the carnage is rendered slowly and quasi-reverentially, making the whole brutal experience come off like torture porn. show more

  • 63
    Philadelphia Inquirer

    The best in the latest crop of slasher remakes. Admittedly, that is faint praise. show more

  • NA
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    One sickening piece of garbage. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Adheres sufficiently closely to the original template so as not to offend purists and manages to pack an intensely visceral punch of its own, most effectively in the extended setup. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Hinges on humiliation and vengeance, which makes it like most other modern horror titles. Its focus on sexual assault, however, puts it in a different, more primal league. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    A warning: One scene in the middle is almost outrageously cruel and graphic. If you're the type of person who has to be reminded, "It's only a movie," stay away. This is the most depraved and dreadful piece of screen horror since last year's "Funny Games." show more

  • 75
    Premiere

    The storyline was actually believable, surrounding a family willing to do anything to save one another. A horror film turned feel-good. show more

  • 75
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Horror fans anticipating grisly laughs are in for a jolt. Because the new Last House, though terrifying, is never, ever fun. show more

  • January 31, 2012 vi00000000111228
    Report This User

    AWESOME, WELL DONE, PERFECT OVERALL!!!! If you like these type movies :)

  • May 07, 2010 denningstephanie
    Report This User

    this movie is so sad that this movie should not of benn aloud as a movie !!!!!

  • April 27, 2010 Pinkpuppy95
    Report This User

    an excellent film. Very good acting and story line with lots of suspense. i liked it better than the original. only for kids 16+ a rather graphic rape scene that includes brief nudity and some female breast nudity later in the film. Plenty of violence and blood. Language includes many uses of the f-word as wel as other profanities. Overall rating 8.5/10

  • August 18, 2009 shtupandLISTEN84
    Report This User

    This movie was mmore that i expected for sure. it had great acting, itense scenes, and the rape scene was not bad, people need to learn that that happens to people all the time

  • June 04, 2009 Rean Rossier
    Report This User

    Good movie I did not like the rape scene they should take that scene out I thought this movie was very good/ well directed does any one know when this movie is on DVD?

  • April 26, 2009 csaw700
    Report This User

    ooooooooookkkkkkkk this movie is mostly about revenge on people that shot their daughter........its a great movie. go see it. one of Wes craven's better ones................the black haired girl with the bad guys really got on my nerves [Spoiler] Glad she got killed

  • April 17, 2009 What it do?
    Report This User

    I had low expectations on this movie but it actually proved me wrong it was very good i got really into it!

  • April 06, 2009 HarLeMfiRe04
    Report This User

    This movie was pretty good. I do not agree with all of the negative remarks about the rape scene. I wasnt going to see the movie after reading all the reviews but a close friend of mine assured me it was not that bad. I took a chance and went to see the movie. I am glad with my choice. The rape was not as graphic as many people suggested. Ive seen a handful of rape scenes that made me cry but this was not one of them. This is NOT a movie for children. The story line was great.

  • April 05, 2009 Griffaliscious03
    Report This User

    im going to go watch this movie today and i was reading some of the reviews and frankly all you people whining about the rape scene are retarded. have any of you even seen the original last house on the left and know that this is a remake? in the original there were two rape scenes i am in no way advocating rape its wrong and takes a demented soul to do it but you cant remake this movie and not have that brutal aspect not appear in the remake. its fiction its a movie its what adds to the story and the horror of this movie. its no different than watching a hockey mask wearing juggernaught killing teens while their having sex or waterskiing topless or any other horror movie.so if your going to write a review watch the original and then go watch the new one then write your review!

  • April 05, 2009 naenaea
    Report This User

    i thought this movie was good. It had a good story to it. I saw it today =)

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X