Skip to main content

reviews

59
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 12 )
  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Though it becomes flimsy toward the end, it's a ripping yarn. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The film feels as if it's trying to force a sense of wonder and awe upon its youthful audience, rather than simply letting an intriguing story unfold naturally. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    An involving fantasy for beamish boys and girls - and their parents. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    For many kids, the response to the original story remains delighted awe. The most appropriate response here is a thoroughly baffled "huh?" show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    A reasonably engaging movie filled with fun visual effects and an appealing tone reminiscent of a certain Spielberg movie about an out-of-his-element extraterrestrial. show more

  • 75
    Peter Debruge Miami Herald

    On paper, it may sound like high-level calculus, but on screen, The Last Mimzy is perfectly charming. Like "Cocoon" for the elementary-school set, the box transforms Noah and Emma's lives. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    An unexpectedly disarming, extremely well-cast little variation on "E.T." show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    An intelligent, imaginative children's adventure refreshingly free of rapping cartoon animals, fart jokes and mind-numbing special effects. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    For smart kids between the ages of 8 and 12, the movie hits the sweet spot with a satisfying cosmic bang. It's a cross between "A Wrinkle in Time" and a middle-school version of "Close Encounters of the Third Kind." show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    For adults, while The Last Mimzy is not unpleasant, it lacks the polish and substance to be anything more than an opportunity to attend a movie with one's family. The film does a lot of things but it never fully satisfies. show more

  • February 26, 2013 codyming
    Report This User

    A wonderful Movie. I really wish that they would make a Movie Sequal. They should make more movies like this.

  • June 28, 2008 Blueboy416
    Report This User

    I HATED IT!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 earthstarr27
    Report This User

    My son (10) and I just watched it on cable and we plan to go buy it as soon as possible! It is a little far-fetched and we needed to rewind a bit to see parts of it twice to understand what was happening..but WE LOVED IT!!!It is definitely not for small children, unless you hold them in your lap and tell them it is okay.I would not let a small child watch this alone, it is way too scary for a small child!

  • May 22, 2008 Lynn
    Report This User

    We loved it better than Bridge to Tarabithia!

  • May 22, 2008 jmdamato
    Report This User

    The story line of, wait, did I say story? If you can figure out what this movie is about, good luck! An accidental find of "toys" from the future that make two children super super smart but too dumb to know what to do with them? And the dumbness spreads to parents, teachers, and the FBI. Abysmal dialog trap hopeless acting in a quagmire of political commentary on polution, the patriot act (???), and terrorism? Jeez! How did this thing ever make it to the cinema circuit?

  • May 22, 2008 hotprepc
    Report This User

    I visited Abacus in Dallas on Nov. 19, 2007. I am extremely picky with food, and this is the second time I have gone to Abacus. The food was so awesome and service was incredible! I ordered a steak (I believe it was Kobe steak) well done, and the waiter came back and stated that the Chef recommened another type of steak (which I forgot the name of) since I ordered it well done, I went ahead with the steak the chef recommened and it was the best steak I have ever had. Seriously. It was so tender and SO tasty in its wine sauce. The potatoes were incredibly. I can not wait to go back. The service was awesome. I never had to wait to get seated. Never had to wait for my drink to be refilled or when I needed anything. Desert was so awesome. I had Godiva soup and it was to die for!!!! Can't wait to go back. Just incredible.

  • May 22, 2008 smile1234567890
    Report This User

    i thought it was a really good movie

  • May 22, 2008 kathjenkins727
    Report This User

    an awesome thrill ride!

  • May 22, 2008 laurewnnadew
    Report This User

    I don't get why everyone thinks it's so bad even though I've never seen it

  • May 22, 2008 ballestermandc
    Report This User

    I took my kids hoping for a nice family afternoon...what we received was a boring snoozefest. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!!! Very predictable, stiff, thin plot. Wait for the DVD if you must see this.

`

similar movies

  • Race to Witch Mountain (2009)

  • The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep (2007)

  • The Spiderwick Chronicles (2008)

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005)

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X