Skip to main content

reviews

82
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    This is a generational family saga everyone can relate to, and Nair gives it her special magic. show more

  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    Showing the intricate dynamics of family relationships is something Mira Nair does as well as any director working today. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    An engaging and moving film with a universal story about the bonds of family as told through two generations of a Bengali family. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This immensely pleasurable film is anything but dry. It's a saga of the immigrant experience that captures the snap, crackle and pop of American life, along with the pounding pulse, emotional reticence, volcanic colors and cherished rituals of Indian culture. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's a tearjerker, sometimes, and sweetly funny at other moments. It's near perfect. show more

  • 75
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The Namesake is suffused with radiant grace, and manages to be old-fashioned yet immediate, epic and intimate. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    It is hard to imagine a better cast or production values so the film should find audiences among sophisticated urban adults. show more

  • 100
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    Brims with intelligence, compassion and sensuous delight in the textures, sights and sounds of life--all the way from the Taj Mahal to Pearl Jam. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    It has been said that all modern Russian literature came out of Gogol’s “Overcoat.” In the same way, all of us came out of the overcoat of this same immigrant experience. show more

  • 88
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    A rarity, a film that preserves the depth and integrity of its source while bringing the story to life in an indelible way. show more

  • November 08, 2008 Joe
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. I laughed, I cried, I stayed awake! Basically, I fell in love with the story, its characters, and its setting.

  • May 22, 2008 claudrai
    Report This User

    I recently visited Pasion after all my friends braged about their great food and service. I ordered a ceviche sampler and was amazed with its flavor and freshness. Pasion by far is one of the best restaurants in San Antonio!!! The service was very friendly and the decor was original. I highly recomend this restaurant to friends and family.

  • May 22, 2008 rockerk86
    Report This User

    After being recommended to me by a friend,I was not at all expecting to witness my life expereinces acted in front of me. Was this movie/book written for me? Or, shall I say for my boyfriend? I'm still in shock! I'm a cacausion girl who has been dating a terrific man, Raj for almost 3 years, who's family is from Dehli, and him and his sister are from the U.S. He was raised in the Hindu religion and culture and I just had the pleasure of meeting his parents in Jan, and thankfully our meeting was much more pleasant than that of the american girl in the film. 2 weeks ago, my boyfriend, Raj, his mom passed away unexpectedly after a brief period of nausea and then a sudden hear-attack, and the following day tragically died. They had trouble reaching Raj's dad and himself, just as in the movie. I was there in the hospital w/ Raj, his dad, sister and her american husband as we waited and prayed and came together in love for his mom and watched her pass away in front of us. He just went to India this last week w/ his dad to spread her ashes in the Ganges river and for all of the ritual prayers. I watched Kal Penn basically play the part of my boyfriend and I watched the mom and dad which so reminded me of my future in-laws. I had no idea that this movie would hit SOO close to home for me. I felt as if i was watching the last few weeks of our lives unfold in front of me. I was seeing the pain and same issues in the characters lives as me and my boyfriend and his family are going through now. The only real differences is that his mom passed away instead of his dad and his sister is older than him and I am still with him and would NEVER be sooo inconsiderate and thoughtless as the american girlfriend in the movie. I love Raj more than ever and I recommend this movie to any and everyone, but definetely to any non-Indian women dating an Indian to watch this. It

  • May 22, 2008 sandiheyer
    Report This User

    W0NDERFUL story, great acting, VERY good movie!!!

  • May 22, 2008 homesworldwide
    Report This User

    I just saw this movie and found I left the theatre feeling as though I had been on a journey. A wonderful insightful journey. This movie is funny, moving, touching. These don't come around often, don't miss this one!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 fijiankiss6
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE WAS SO GOOD IT WAS BETTER THAN ANYOTHER MOVIE THIS MOVIE MADE ME CRY MADE ME LAUGH : ] SINCE IM FIJIAN HINDU I CAN SOOO RELATE TO SOME PARTS OF THIS MOVIE.. I REALLY RECOMEND READING THE BOOK BEFORE U WATCH IT WELL ONLY IF U WANT TO : ] GO WATCH THIS MOVIE AND ENJOY! - ANS.

  • May 22, 2008 diningdivas
    Report This User

    A beautiful story that that crosses cultures to resonate in the hearts of fathers, sons, mothers and wives, this movie is one you'll want to tell everyone about. I enjoyed the journey of the story and the acting was wonderful. Was it stereotypical? In some respects, but only because some stereotypes actually "apply" when defining culture, life-stages and relationships but it did not detract from the honesty this film conveys. I see about three movies a month but I've never sent an email to a broad group of friends and family imploring them to see a film- until The Namesake.

  • May 22, 2008 ronscruple
    Report This User

    Just sitting in the theatre I was able to feel being part of the experience of transcending one culture into another with grace and beauty. It was a lovely holiday.

  • May 22, 2008 cblynch023
    Report This User

    Anyone who enjoyed the novel will also appreciate the movie. The acting, music and scenery are well done and the heavy emotional issues of the novel are portrayed successfully.

  • May 22, 2008 talik53
    Report This User

    I enjoyed this movie

`

similar movies

  • Bride & Prejudice (2004)

  • Terms of Endearment (1983)

  • Philomena (2013)

  • And When Did You Last See Your Father? (2007)

  • That Evening Sun (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X