Skip to main content

reviews

74
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 17 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Though the movie has a handful of shots that are downright gross to witness, what makes The Orphanage scary is not what it threatens to show but what it suggests about life. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    In a season filled with dark-themed films, it stands out as an elegantly mounted, surprisingly humane but terrifying horror thriller well worth seeing. show more

  • 60
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    You may see The Orphanage for what it is, an enjoyable contraption, without believing a bit of it. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Bayona's moves are deft, the atmosphere oozes with anxiety and grief, but the big payoff - like the big payoff in The Sixth Sense, another film The Orphanage has more than a bit in common with - never comes. show more

  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    A combination ghost and shaggy dog story that is so well-made and acted you can nearly overlook its murky, unsatisfying ending. show more

  • 70
    Richard James Havis The Hollywood Reporter

    This Spanish supernatural thriller begins interestingly and finishes intriguingly. But what lies between drags because the film lacks a driving story line. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Deliberately aimed at viewers with developed attention spans. It lingers to create atmosphere, a sense of place, a sympathy with the characters, instead of rushing into cheap thrills. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The acting is uniformly superb, the camera work and set design are haunting, and The Orphanage delivers well-earned tears at its beautiful conclusion. Go see it already. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    By the end, you'll be chilled and disturbed by what you've seen -- and, rare as this is in a horror movie, touched to the heart. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    As in “Pan’s Labyrinth,” The Orphanage relies on a risky blend of clinically realistic horrors and poetic suggestions of an alternate world, one that can be visited, but at a price. show more

  • May 22, 2008 psorjuanaines
    Report This User

    Stupid and careless mother!!!.

  • May 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    I'm not surprised that foreign language films don't advertise that they are dubbed or have English subtitles but why don't critics make that distinction for us in the first paragraph of their reviews? I REALLY dislike reading subtitles while trying to appreciate the more subtle emotions on the faces of the actors. If I want to read dialog, I'll buy the book. From now on I'm going to ask for my money back when the film is subtitled and there is no indication of that fact prior to purchasing a ticket.

  • May 22, 2008 yetjean
    Report This User

    I knew this movie was scary before I went to see it. My brother likes these types of movies, I don't. But this movie made me think of how Alfred ********* built up the suspense---filming the actors overhead, through the stairways, from down the hall. I must admit, after S?mon disappeared, I watched this movie through my fingers. The Spanish was a little hard to follow (Spanish from Spain, they speak soooo fast) but I prefered the Spanish to having the movied dubbed in English. The original language made you really feel the emotions the characters were feeling. I hope to buy it when it comes out on DVD.

  • May 22, 2008 A 301 Latino Guy
    Report This User

    I was visiting Spain this past October and had the greatest opportunity to see this movie while I was there. I loved it. I'ts been a long time for this type of movies to come out without all the gore in it and the effect its even twice as better. Go see it, you wont be dissapointed...

  • May 22, 2008 nycelestiai
    Report This User

    I love this movie. I agree with the previous posters, the movie has a subtle hint of scaring you. It's sixth sense/Peter Pan/ a couple of factors rolled into one. I would definitely see it again. For a foreign flick, this is definitely worth watching.

  • May 22, 2008 xkissurdezirex
    Report This User

    This movie is a foriegn film made in spain with a great storyline. there are subtitles but you get used to it after the first few minutes. The main actress was great and the movie was a suspensful thiller with a touch of drama to hook you in. I give this movie 5 stars, it was one of the best scarey movies i've seen in a LOONNNG time. They didnt have to use blood and gore to scare you. The coloring and scenarie is what also makes the movie great. Go see this movie, you wont regret it!

  • May 22, 2008 jockstrapffunj
    Report This User

    I saw this movie when the spanish version hit theathers in NYC. To be honest, this is a true ghost story, with small but cheap scares. Even though, I had to read the subtitles, the music sore was great and fit the film. The lead actress, gives a very heart warming role. We will be hearing from this women soon enough. Back to the concept of this mild but great spooky story, this is nothing like the asia films which have evil and sinster things that come after you. All coming down to a sad but satisfiting ending...if anything I recomend this movie if you have nothing really to do on those rainy sunday afternoons.

  • May 22, 2008 yasoubabies
    Report This User

    A very understated suspensful film, not a thriller. Enjoyed it but would have liked to have known it was in English subtitles.

  • May 22, 2008 chunkiemonkey24
    Report This User

    This has got to be the best movie I will see in 2008. Talk about scary and suspenseful. The story line was really nicely done and the ending was amazing. No blood, gore, or cursing. Too often directors get caught up in that thinking thats what makes a horror film. This film proves you don't need all that to make a great horror film. MUST SEE!

  • May 22, 2008 mattates
    Report This User

    Simon saz: "bring an extra pair of undies cuz you'll probably need it!" =)

`

similar movies

  • The Others (2001)

  • The Devil's Backbone (2001)

  • Let the Right One In (2008)

  • The Skin I Live In (2011)

  • The Changeling (1980)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X