Skip to main content

reviews

39
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 15 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Audiences looking for a nonstop laugh riot may be disappointed, but the big laughs are there, and they benefit from the movie's underlying sincerity. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Thank goodness for Leslie Mann. If not for the nutball charm of this tight-wound whirlwind, the dispiriting Hollywood sex comedy The Other Woman would be close to unbearable. show more

  • 20
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    So instead of the rom-com, we now have the “non-com.” The cardboard characters and predictable rhythms remain. But this time, we get all the comic cliches with none of the romance. show more

  • 50
    Alonso Duralde TheWrap

    A smiling Cameron Diaz and a weeping Leslie Mann bring a lot to any movie, but they aren't enough to overcome the mix-and-match mania of these proceedings. Girls just wanna have fun, but they'd also like a coherent night at the movies. show more

  • 40
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    A female solidarity adultery comedy that's three parts embarrassing farce to one part genuinely comic discharge. show more

  • 61
    Kate Erbland Film.com

    The Other Woman eschews plenty of standard genre expectations to make an unexpectedly friendship-friendly film. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Definitely funny. Goofy, ridiculous, with more gross-out humor than is strictly necessary but still funny. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Written by newcomer Melissa K. Stack, The Other Woman offers roughly equal parts wit and witlessness, casual smarts and jokes, lingering and detailed, regarding explosive bowel movements. Based on that ratio, I'd say the screenwriter's future in Hollywood looks pretty good. show more

  • 63
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Apparently intended as a blend of "Bridesmaids" and "The First Wives Club," it’s often oddly engrossing, almost despite itself, largely thanks to the performances and the free rein the director gives his stars. show more

  • 63
    Roger Moore McClatchy-Tribune News Service

    Melissa K. Stack’s script has snap and crackle to go with the pop, making this female wish-fulfillment fantasy an “Eat, Pray, Revenge” that delivers the punches that two “Sex and the City” movies never could. show more

  • June 01, 2014 NCW449
    Report This User

    So cute!!!!!! I laughed so hard my sides actually hurt. So funny without all of the bad language and endless sex scenes.....don't get me wrong, it had a few. Fun. Fun. Fun!!

  • May 27, 2014 annetteiverson
    Report This User

    What a super movie. Very well acted and scripted. I just loved it!!! It's definitely a movie that I would want to see again. All the ladies should treat themselves and see this movie. You won't be disappointed.

  • May 24, 2014 Sabrina
    Report This User

    This movie was good most of the way through, but ended UNBELIEVABLY disappointing. Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann shine as the wife and first mistress, while Kate Upton is given little to do. The gorgeous creep of a husband, Nicolaj, gives a mostly one-note performance lacking depth. We never really see him pulling on and off the masks of a cheater, or struggling with adulterous guilt. It's a strange performance. Nikki Minaj is funny, if morally vacuous, as Cameron's secretary. Leslie Mann is almost unbearable at times as a woman who stop maturing emotionally at 24, the age she met her husband. She seems completely unable to handle the simplest tasks on her own. It's cringe-worthy. Furthermore ((SPOILER ALERT!!)) at the end, 21 year-old Kate Upton ends up with Don Johnson (Cameron Diaz's FATHER, about 65 now), at the end, who looks like Crypt-keeper! Really? Reallllllllly. Really? Sexism much? What a ridiculous ending. Hate to break it to you, male audience, but 21 year old girls only date 65 year olds unless they have million$ and a pacemaker/ GROSS! People in the audience were actually groaning and shouting out "Ewwwww!" This is 2014, I wish they'd stop making movies like this. Cameron's character was relatively strong, but the rest of them were in a moral vacuum. Bummer.

  • May 17, 2014 Cynthia A.
    Report This User

    The Other Woman takes a stab at giving viewers a comedic and satirical showcase on infidelity by bringing three of his lovely ladies together as they set out to bring him down, giving viewers laugh and heart. Read on for the full review. Continue reading → https://cynsworkshop.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/a-humorous-satire-on-infidelity-cyns-movie-review-the-other-woman/

  • May 15, 2014 rsmsil
    Report This User

    this was pure rubbish

  • May 10, 2014 Pammom3b
    Report This User

    Loved this movie! Went to see it with my hubby and we both enjoyed it.

  • May 09, 2014 don 1
    Report This User

    Recently saw this movie and had high expectations. Sadly, it simply does not meet our hopes. The four in our group all agree it could have been great given the topic. Kate Upton should continue in magazines as truly the only function she did was the beach scene. As far as acting, once again stay in magazines. There was so much potential and was seldom met throughout. There were a few funny moments but not worth the time invested. Sorry, but a 3 out of a 10.

  • May 08, 2014 jpewther
    Report This User

    Disappointing. Good idea for a movie, but the execution was very flawed, beginning with the script. And sometimes the slapstick gets downright cruel and unbelievable.

  • May 02, 2014 think!!!
    Report This User

    total chick flick. a few smiles but by and large, direct to video pap.

  • May 01, 2014 CHERYL
    Report This User

    So hysterical!!!!!! So funny!!!!!!! Go see it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

`

similar movies

  • Hitch (2005)

  • The Women (2008)

  • 27 Dresses (2008)

  • How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (2003)

  • Much Ado About Nothing (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X