Skip to main content

reviews

44
Based on 15 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 43 )
  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    In the end, the gimmick is too risible and its effects on the characters too forced to sustain either suspense or horror. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    A surprisingly effective little horror nightmare. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    In order to appreciate The Ruins, one has to be a die-hard fan of horror or bloody thrillers. Those in that category will discover that The Ruins delivers the goods. show more

  • 63
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The Ruins is, with one major caveat, about as good an adaptation of Scott Smith's bestselling novel as Hollywood was ever going to make. show more

  • 50
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Smith has changed a few plot points around to keep readers who already know the secret of the ruins guessing, and to some extent the strategy works. There was, however, no reason whatsoever to change the book's perfect endings. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The movie doesn't do anything with these viney bastards. There's no back story, no satire, no allegory, no implications beyond what's happening on the pyramid. show more

  • 40
    Pete Vonder Haar Film Threat

    There are a handful of intense sequences and a few scenes of squirm-inducing gore in The Ruins, but not much else. show more

  • 40
    Empire

    Slick, sick stuff, but save the odd squirm, a killer-plant horror that doesn’t grow anywhere. show more

  • 20
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    As it stands, The Ruins is about as interesting as a pile of old stones and a monkey-dumb yanqui falling prey to the horrors of globalization. And that's pretty dumb. show more

  • 42
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    The Ruins is lumpish, static, and obvious. It's a gringos-go-home cautionary fright flick done in the spirit of a cheap '50s horror movie, except that it leaves you longing for the competence of grade-Z studio-system trash. show more

  • December 30, 2008 loserdisciple7
    Report This User

    Worst movie ever. So cheesy and predicable. Not even scary.

  • May 22, 2008 anitaper
    Report This User

    The book was outstanding! The movie sticks close to the story line. The trailers seem exciting and as intense as each page of this thriller. With a total of 503 pages, it only took me four nights to read it. You can't put this book down and it looks like you can't stay in your seat with this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 jdlewis60
    Report This User

    No better than a Twilight Zone episode. Really.

  • May 22, 2008 debc34
    Report This User

    I just finished the book (which took me 2 days) and now i am watching the clips to see if i want to find the movie. I can already see that they changed what happened and to who so that may be confusing for the people who intend to go from movie to book. Awesome book,, couldn't put it down. Creepy and it makes you question some of the choices you made while traveling in foreign countries (or greatful to be back home safe)

  • May 22, 2008 Stephanie Agnew
    Report This User

    How many movies can hollywood produce?Im sick of going to a movie hoping for a quality storyline to leave AGAIN being disappointed.This movie started out good and when I figured out what the story was about I wanted to leave.I stayed and watched this movie until the bitter end.Not a good story,stupid actually!Vines that can make noises and eat people.Yes,people man eating plants!Save your money on this stinker.

  • May 22, 2008 wanderer085us
    Report This User

    I thought it was a fairly good movie, my wife read the book, didn't like it, but we went anyway. Actually, it was pretty scary, or gross, or both. It was definitely worth the money.

  • May 22, 2008 jamericangurl2
    Report This User

    I'm an avid book reader and would have read the book first had I known that it WAS a book. Anyway, I saw the matinee, and it was worth my money. I definitely don't think that it was a waste of my time. I did enjoy the movie, but did not get some of the answers that I wanted. Someone posted a spoiler, so it makes sense now. I also would have like to know the history behind The Ruins and WHY what was happening was happening. Other than that, it was cool. Worth seeing.

  • May 22, 2008 Ellen
    Report This User

    I actually had the pleasure of finishing the book the night before seeing the movie, Everything they could possibly change, they changed. I personally believe to save money on a big money action horror movie. A phenomanal read, great book, really good suspenseful story, and then the movie screwed it up. AND ROYALY AT THAT! MAKING UP CHARACTERS, AND NEW STORY LINES. REARRANGING PLOTS AND CHARACTERS TO DIE DIFFERENTLY THAN THE BOOK. POETIC LICENSE IS ONE THING, MAKING THIS FROM BOOK TO MOVIE IS THE REAL H O R R O R !!

  • May 22, 2008 David
    Report This User

    Absolutely terrible.....don't waste your time!

  • May 22, 2008 afienixtxony1of9
    Report This User

    The two guys in the end were the 2 greeks. The other greek left them the map in the begining while they were past out and everyone was debating wether or not they would actually come and they did. I'm assuming the girl in the beginning was the girl Henrich (Mathias' brother) oringinaly met and went to the ruins with. You should definitly read the book if you liked the movie. The characters are actually alittle different and each of their fates is different then that of the movie.

`

similar movies

  • The Hills Have Eyes (2006)

  • Cabin Fever (2002)

  • Wrong Turn (2003)

  • The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974)

  • No Country for Old Men (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X