Skip to main content

reviews

62
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A mostly superb cast, superior special effects, a sparkling musical score and a fantasy-filled plot . show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    We're supposed to be agog at the fantastical creatures and dazzling special effects. But the more wrenching story of disillusioned children nags in the background, distracting from any enchantment. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The children's real world, or what passes for real in a fantasy, could hardly be more inviting, for reasons that are hardly mysterious: the strong performances, under Mark Waters's accomplished direction; the smart, bright language, much of it taken from the books; the stylish cinematography, by Caleb Deschanel. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The film underscores the power of reading, and applying what we read to problem-solving. The story suggests that we don't really see the natural world around us, and if we did our lives, like Jared's and his siblings', would be immeasurably richer. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    A world designed for children, and most of the grownups involved don't quite understand it - on or offscreen. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    An enjoyable adventure fantasy that pushes all the requisite buttons while still managing to throw in a pleasant surprise or two. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A well-crafted family thriller that is truly scary and doesn't wimp out. show more

  • 75
    Chicago Tribune

    A fast-moving adventure with more than dynamic glitz to recommend it. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The movie is funny and scary and touching in all the ways the best children's pictures are, but it is also fast and compact, running a perfectly paced 93 minutes (including credits). show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Not great fantasy, but it's on more solid ground than "The Golden Compass" and will seem less baffling to some. There's enough here to keep adults engaged, which is an important component of any motion picture that wants to be known as "family entertainment." show more

  • July 17, 2011 shygirltb
    Report This User

    i absolutly love this movie i watch it everyday freddie highmore is a terrific actor

  • November 21, 2010 mirandaEidson
    Report This User

    this movie was awesome i loved hogsquel he was so funny everytime he saw a bird!! :)

  • June 30, 2008 Jav4292
    Report This User

    Little scary for young children. But a little young for adults. It really was not too bad not something I would buy.

  • May 22, 2008 Mike
    Report This User

    it was ok good old days of story telling

  • May 22, 2008 juanibla7
    Report This User

    The storyline was one of a spiritual war where the monsters needed this book (of knowledge) written by Mr Spiderwick. The book was hidden in the house and protected from the monsters by a circle of protection around the house (the mushrooms). The monsters could not penetrate the circle. Mr Spiderwick, trying to redeem hi daughter one day, who had fallen to the outside of the circle and was being carried off by the monsters. He was carried off by (faries) to a place of refuge. The storyline was one of war, a weapon of tomatoe juice (red) to fight off the monsters and eventual a reuniting of Spiderwick and his daughter who after being old was transformed to her former self.

  • May 22, 2008 southgal08
    Report This User

    I ACTUALLY THOUGHT IT WAS A VERY GOOD MOVIE. I REALLY LIKE FREDDIE HIGHMORE. I HAVE SEEN HIM IN 2 OTHER MOVIES AND HE IS SUCH A GOOD ACTOR. IT MADE A VERY ENJOYABLE AFTERNOON MATINEE.

  • May 22, 2008 ashleychr
    Report This User

    This movie is really awesome but I wouldn't suggest kids tounger than a pre-teen age to see. This movie is a little to overwelming for littler kids to see but otherwise I suggest people to go see it. It will diffently keep you on the edge of your seat

  • May 22, 2008 Janken4
    Report This User

    I really enjoyed watching this movie. I actually jumped a few times because it was a little scary, even for adults. Freddie Highmore gave a great performance, as did the rest of the cast. It's a fun and family friendly movie and I would recommend it to almost anybody.

  • May 22, 2008 jdlewis60
    Report This User

    This one is worth paying for on the big screen. Bring the baby and the great-grandmother, because I believe that everyone will like this. Great entertainment, and worth a second viewing.

  • May 22, 2008 BEVERLY
    Report This User

    I took my granddaughters to see this movie. They are ages 9 and 12. They loved this movie and so did I. It is enjoyable for all ages. We saw it twice!

`

similar movies

  • The Neverending Story (1984)

  • Labyrinth (1986)

  • Bridge to Terabithia (2007)

  • Alice in Wonderland (2010)

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X