Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 15 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 40
    The Hollywood Reporter

    3D swashbuckler wields a disappointingly blunt sword. show more

  • 35
    Movieline

    It's not the addition of airships and male dangly earrings that make Paul W.S. Anderson's take on Alexandre Dumas' classic, much-adapted adventure such a drag, it's everything else - the incoherence, the anvil-heavy dialogue, the lack of anything beyond the broadest of characterizations. show more

  • 75
    Slant Magazine

    A moment's patience is soon rewarded by Anderson's vast store of rich, intoxicating imagery. show more

  • 38
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    All the borderline pantomime acting and wigged buffoonery is deliberate and silly, but The Three Musketeers remains charmless, a romp brought down by its lead-footed script. show more

  • 25
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    This latest version is le pits. show more

  • 25
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    This is a once-in-a-lifetime fiasco, an epic fail like none we have seen this year, a bad idea by a very bad director and a career-crippling credit for all concerned. You don't want to miss it. show more

  • 60
    Dan Jolin Empire

    Stupid, with three o's. But also fun, never boring, and never insulting (to anyone other than Dumas) - unlike certain of the summer's A-pics… show more

  • 50
    Sara Maria Vizcarrondo Boxoffice Magazine

    Trash-action director Paul W.S. Anderson's (Alien vs. Predator) finds no cultural purpose for this rather literal adaptation of the Musketeers, but it's not so horrible it deserved to be protected from the cold eye of film critics. show more

  • 40
    Time Out New York

    Muskets and swords are a bit old-fashioned for the director of "Resident Evil" - Paul W.S. Anderson has added flying battleships and elaborate diamond heists. (With material as shopworn as this, an anachronizing approach seems as valid as any.) show more

  • 40
    Kimberley Jones Austin Chronicle

    Still, once you accept Paul W.S. Anderson's entirely unnecessary adaptation on its own terms (nonsensical, underachieving), it has its limited charms, which include a snigger-inducing alphabet soup of accents, a standout rooftop swordfight, and British comedian James Corden as the Musketeers' put-upon manservant. show more

  • July 31, 2012 pn00000000128056
    Report This User

    Simple plot but yet great acting and cast. very funny and wanting to see more. www.moviezya.com

  • April 01, 2012 willryte4doe
    Report This User

    Took me 3 days to finish this, wow.

  • February 12, 2012 qw00000000112363
    Report This User

    What a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this and it failed on every level. The only character I enjoyed was James Corden\'s Planchet (the Muskateers servant). The rest was just ridiculous.

  • November 01, 2011 franplatt
    Report This User

    Extremely silly and overloaded with gimmicks.

  • October 31, 2011 apri1000
    Report This User

    The Three Musketeers was awesome!!! Great special effects!! Really enjoyed the movie.

  • October 28, 2011 nicolascoppola12
    Report This User

    One of the worst films of 2011 no question. I do not recall seeing Nicolas Cage even once throughout the entirety of the film. Save your money and go to a local RedBox and pick up Drive Angry instead. It is a far superior film.

  • October 28, 2011 justnross
    Report This User

    Fantastic Movie. It was fun it was exciting it was adventurous. This fast paced film was not only visually captivating, but the story line was interesting and complete while leaving it open for a sequal that could be a potential nightmare. The Three Musketeers were tough, sexy, and worked beautifully as a unit. The Young D\'Aranagnan was adoreble and incredible. Of course Mila Jovovich was fantastic. Orlando Bloom was A+. My favorite, however, was young Freddie Fox, the cutie that played King Louis. I so look forward to seeing him in other films. I would definately recommend this film to anyone, parent and child, the movie is clean and safe for underage viewers.

  • October 26, 2011 Azgowild
    Report This User

    Great set and costumes. Way over the top script that\'s almost to dumb for words but if you just go with it it becomes really funny. The king was a world class fop and a riot.

  • October 25, 2011 jonnita
    Report This User

    The movie was o.k. Personally I don\'t think the guys did as good of a job as the women. Orlando Bloom and whoever played the french king came across as flops. the dude with the patch on his eye and Milady were the hit in this movie.

  • October 25, 2011 hkirkhouston
    Report This User

    Well I saw the movie last night! Actually very good action/adventure type movie - no big name actors but I thought ALL the Musketeers were Great! They were funny and smart and lots of action ! Teh money was spent on the effects and the Costumes!! and Milla J. was actually the WEAK link in the group. She was very out of place! No accent - too modern sounding and she just wasn\'t good in that part! The 3/4ths of the movie was - VERY ENTERTAINING and fun to watch! The last 1/4 got kind of rediculous! The Airship that stayed in the air while being bombed and the actors just standing there?? was the only bad thing I can say - BUT I would see it again - I liked the chemistry of the male actors and the action it was well worth the price of a ticket!! which is more than i can say for some fo the movies in theaters these days

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X