Skip to main content

reviews

85
Based on 43 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 181 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Like its predecessors (Badlands, Days of Heaven, The Thin Red Line and The New World), Tree delivers truths that don't go down easy. No one with a genuine interest in the potential of film would think of missing it. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    At times trying and perplexing, but it also contains some of the most psychologically insightful and ecstatic filmmaking imaginable. show more

  • 100
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A shape-shifting film, it resembles a poem. At other moments, it is closer to a symphony. Most often, it approximates a fervent prayer. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Daring in concept, occasionally daffy in execution and ultimately unforgettable, Mr. Malick's film offers a heartfelt answer to the question of where we humans belong - with each other, on this planet, bound by love. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Still, somehow, The Tree of Life - impressionistic, revelatory, elliptical - works. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Like so much in this astounding, consistently beautiful and challenging movie, the answer depends on what you bring to it. Think of it as the Ultimate Anti-Summer-Blockbuster. show more

  • 90
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Brandishing an ambition it's likely no film, including this one, could entirely fulfill, The Tree of Life is nonetheless a singular work, an impressionistic metaphysical inquiry into mankind's place in the grand scheme of things that releases waves of insights amid its narrative imprecisions. show more

  • 65
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    The Tree of Life is gorgeous to look at. It's also a gargantuan work of pretension and cleverly concealed self-absorption masquerading as spiritual exploration. show more

  • 100
    Bob Mondello NPR

    The film is gorgeous and abstract, leaping around in time and space, structured in movements and more like a symphony than a conventional narrative. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The only other film I've seen with this boldness of vision is Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey," and it lacked Malick's fierce evocation of human feeling. show more

  • December 19, 2012 Kathy
    Report This User

    0 Stars--Turned it off after ten minutes.

  • December 15, 2012 gregoou812
    Report This User

    Bad Bad Bad

  • September 01, 2012 ldavy7788
    Report This User

    Truly bizarre! I read thhe precis which tells me the plot! But I sure didn\'t see all that in the movie! Academt Award nominee?? You\'ve GOT to be kidding! Yes, beautiful cinematograpghy! But best picture????? NO!!!!!! No acting at all, 2 shots of Sean Penn with no dialogue, and very, very little dialogue throughout the movie!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wierd, wierd! This did not evoke anything in me except wonder - wondering why the heck it was made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! zero starts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • August 08, 2012 proski4
    Report This User

    Wonderfully provocative film which left me to explore my own life\'s complexities. So much in this film went right to my heart

  • July 24, 2012 harmony384
    Report This User

    I saw it on TV last nite, did not seem to make much sence, at least to me,AND i HAVE VIEWED A LOT OF MOVIES IN MY 71 YRS.

  • June 10, 2012 qb00000000125114
    Report This User

    Can\'t even give it one star. It was so artsy it was pointless. IMO only got awards and nominated for Oscars because Brad Pitt was in the cast, but THAT is not enough to hide how aweful it is thank God! Too abstract for me. The beginning montage of the beginning of earth went on and on and on and made absolutley NO contribution to the story. Actually, WHAT story...they run thru the three boys experience with their Dad and Mom for about a year tops ... we here one died at 19 but never saw him or anyone else ever age. Sean Penn is the eldest son grown up, but his scenes made no sense either. NONE! DO NOT WASTE THE TIME TO WATCH .. lots of undesrved Hype ... nothing to it! AT ALL!

  • May 10, 2012 patted3
    Report This User

    Have watched it over and over again...complex and wonderful!

  • April 15, 2012 sandyc111
    Report This User

    Guess I just didn\'t \"Get\" it!

  • February 25, 2012 raylenet
    Report This User

    Biggest waste of time ever. Couldn\'t wait for it to be over,

  • February 23, 2012 iris ludwig
    Report This User

    Very disappointing. Pompous self important movie as monumental in scope as Malik\'s ego Not meant for a moviegoing audience except if they have not seen National Geographic or the Science Channel, where they can catch the same beautiful imagry along with some real substantive meaning. I\'ll give this one star for photography.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X