Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 228 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Start hating me now, Twihards, but the sexless, bloodless, padded and plodding Breaking Dawn, Part 1 is the worst Twilight movie to date. (I don't get it either.) show more

  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    About as loony and soapy as a movie can get. In other words, it's about as loony and soapy as the novel, and I say this as one who obsessively consumed all four installments in Stephenie Meyer's mega-selling series. show more

  • 75
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    It is in many respects the best installment of the franchise as its stars go from sullen kids to sullen young adults, where their expressions look more natural. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Worthy of mention is Carolina Herrera's design for Bella's wedding dress, sophisticated and demure in the front and Pippa Middleton sexy, and proper, in the back. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    To outsiders, in fact, Breaking Dawn: Part I will probably look like the weirdest, most expensive chastity commercial ever created. But Meyer's massive fan base will see something else entirely. They'll see a faithful, well-made depiction of the most eventful book in a beloved series. They'll see the actors they adore embodying characters they cherish. show more

  • 50
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    In the end, given how little goes on in Breaking Dawn - Part 1 despite the major plot points, what you're left with is to gaze at the three leads, all of whom have their constituencies and reasons for being eminently watchable. The only hope is they'll have more to do next time around. show more

  • 75
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    It's the most imaginative picture in the franchise. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Absorbing, if somewhat slow-paced, and has without doubt the most blood-curdling scene of live childbirth in a PG-13 movie. show more

  • 63
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Part 1 does something that no other previous Twilight movie had achieved: This one draws you close and keeps you there. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Here's hoping Breaking Dawn Part Two gives us more of what Part One provided in the final 30 minutes than what it forced viewers to endure to get there. show more

  • May 06, 2013 nu00000000148169
    Report This User

    my other favorite movie ♥ super li

  • January 30, 2013 ssnhanna8
    Report This User

    Robert Pattinson is one sexy fellow. why waste his time on Kristen?????/ He could have many other good looking women!!!!!!!

  • April 20, 2012 mg00000000119407
    Report This User

    I loved breaking dawn part 1 it was the best movie so far in the twilight series. I can\'t wait until the last twilight movie breaking dawn part 2 comes out!

  • April 13, 2012 ba00000000068792
    Report This User

    This movie was so good.I love the twilight saga movies.Too bad there is only one movie left.I wish there were a whole lot more.

  • February 26, 2012 fr00000000060831
    Report This User

    Very slow. This one, more than any other, felt like a daytime soap opera. Oh and it\'s such a shame how the movies change the story from the books soooooo much.

  • February 25, 2012 mv00000000115843
    Report This User

    Totally enjoed this movie. Loved the ending. Can hardly wait for part 2!

  • February 16, 2012 pam
    Report This User

    I finally got to watch the movie Breaking Dawn Part 1--Loved it. I have not read any of the books and I was hooked the first time I watched Twilight. Any time a movie can entertain me completely and get me involved in the characters for the 120 minutes or so it plays, is a good movie. This is exactly what this movie did, I thought Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattenson have tremendous chemistry that I have not seen a very long time if ever. In fact, I had to watch all the movies twice and let me just say I rarely do this. Now, I admit I find this a little disturbing seeing as though I am a heterosexual female, but I just can\'t take my eyes off of Kristen Steward (what is up with that?) I have read the reviews and some were not very good, but let me just say that this type of book/movie is in the fiction/fantasy/romance category and should be viewed as such. Having said this, with this type of book, anything is possible. I mean really, we all know there is NO such thing as vampires and werewolves and wherever the author chooses to go with this type of storyline is really full of possiblities. There is no limit to the imagination. Also, a person who critiques a movie should be absolutely objective, if you did not like the book and you think the whole story is ridiculous, than why bother writing a review. This is why I never listen to critic reviews, I take them with a grain of salt because they are all full of crap!!!! I\'d like to do that for a living thougjh.. Great job to the entire cast of the Twilight series, FANTASTIC job.

  • February 11, 2012 al00000000112800
    Report This User

    Boring. Dissapointing.

  • February 09, 2012 vm00000000111927
    Report This User

    how do i watch this online before release date?

  • February 07, 2012 brownangelw
    Report This User

    Love it

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X