Skip to main content

reviews

49
Based on 16 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    This drama from Fox Faith Movies has a mercifully light hand in selling its Christian-values themes, but its plodding story about a spoiled young scion who must complete 12 tasks assigned him by his late grandfather is still a slog. show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    "Gift" comes across as a television-ready effort that would work perfectly for Hallmark. show more

  • 50
    Chicago Tribune

    The plot, though of the made-for-TV ilk, makes for good discussion fodder if you're trying to impress life's lessons on children or others you love. That said, be prepared to be hit over the head by the message, edifying as it is. show more

  • 50
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    More watchable for secular audiences than the handful of earlier films released under the Fox Faith label, this one actually has a sense of humor, a politically progressive point of view and a solid cast including the ever-reliable James Garner. show more

  • 50
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    It is message filmmaking so blunt you might be tempted to root for the parasitic reprobate over the saintly old man, and that's just not right. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The message is clear almost immediately: charity not vanity. show more

  • 20
    Austin Chronicle

    The story, based on the novel by motivational speaker Jim Stovall, throws every emotional stimulus into the pot, and the result is a deep desire for those Hollywood execs to remember that Christian doesn't have to equal brain-dead. show more

  • 75
    William Arnold Seattle Post-Intelligencer

    It's a well-made little inspirational drama featuring both a familiar older star (James Garner) and a new one (Abigail Breslin). show more

  • 67
    Chris Kaltenbach Baltimore Sun

    Things may work out predictably, but The Ultimate Gift does not yank on the heartstrings so much as pluck them gently. show more

  • 50
    Entertainment Weekly

    Kind of like a feel-good "Saw" for churchgoers, minus the sadistic games of death. show more

  • May 22, 2008 spankye5
    Report This User

    So many miss the meaning of life!!!! This is a fantastic movie that reminds us of what life is really about and that people can really change!!!!It is a must see for everyone!!!

  • May 22, 2008 cberg625
    Report This User

    What is your dream? Makes you think - loved it!

  • May 22, 2008 jeaton728
    Report This User

    This is the best family movie.It is inspirational with lessons we all need to think about.I would tell anyone that this is the movie to watch.Thank you Michael Sajbel. Thanks to every person in this move for an outstanding performancewe give the rating a five star . 100 is what this movie gets from us.

  • May 22, 2008 ray28c
    Report This User

    undoubtedly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I understand the entire premise of the movie etc but this was just sappy beyond belief. "Pay It Forward" was similar but actually a good movie and watchable. The script was horrendous, plot predictable and the acting soso at best, ultimately I found it insulting to my intelligence, well .... and I fell asleep twice. It was like one unbearable hallmark card after another.

  • May 22, 2008 united81
    Report This User

    This is one of the best movies I've seen in awhile...very family oriented. Any rich, spoiled brat should see this movie and realize that this is the way life should be - not living off an inheritance and expecting someone else to pay your way through life. It teaches life lessons. I would recommend this movie to anyone to see....it was excellent!

  • May 22, 2008 tntfitz6
    Report This User

    I think that Drew Fuller did a fabulous job in this movie! This storyline may be used alot (the rich boy learns how to love) but mabye we need more movies with simple messages, because the messages don't seem to be getting out.

  • May 22, 2008 nonagzone
    Report This User

    This is a very good movie for the family to see. There is part of this movie that deals with death. It may not be good for someone younger than 14. Many life lessons in this movie. I think it is a must see film.

  • May 22, 2008 tinamarksl
    Report This User

    This movie is what all movies should model after. We have forgotten what a moral to story is. The acting was a bit on the lame side but the message was incredible. Every young person should be made to watch this movie. Life isn't all about who gets the most toys and money. Life is about the people we touch and make their lives better. Support this movie and spread the word!

  • May 22, 2008 senavisuals
    Report This User

    I took the entire family to see this movie...\neveryone loved it, from my 12 year old to my 20 year old.\nKudos to the studio for a entertaining, clean, all around good movie. Nice move to talk about around the dinner table.

  • May 22, 2008 msccamp767
    Report This User

    The Ultimate Gift is FABULOUS! It is the type of movie that the studios should be making all the time. We took the whole family -- and everyone loved it. If you missed it in the theatres, then make sure to catch it on Video.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X