Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 28 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 22 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Estevez keeps his touch light, with a minimum of pedantry. The Way is really a gift from this son to his father. Sheen, gradually revealing a man painfully getting reacquainted with long buried feelings, who gives the film its bruised heart. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    With The Way, writer-director Emilio Estevez has made a respectable failure. What's respectable - and undeniable - is that this is a sincere effort to make a film of sensitivity and spiritual richness. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Unafraid of stillness and scenes of quiet contemplation, the film also celebrates companionship and community, which are all good reasons to embrace the experience along The Way. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A heartfelt project, scrappy and engaging, The Way has its way with audiences despite, not because of, its sentimental excess. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    It's a sweet and sincere family pilgrimage, even if a little too long and obvious. Audiences seeking uplift will find it here. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    There's nothing startlingly original about Estevez's screenplay, yet it has a modesty you seldom see when Hollywood tackles spiritual subjects. show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    Funny, moving, hip and transcendent all at the same time, The Way is both deeply thoughtful and enormous fun to watch. show more

  • 75
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    It's a plucky film that covers a lot of ground and uncovers this wonderful, ancient ritual that people of many faiths and from all walks of life take on. show more

  • 75
    Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Pleasant, well-acted but somewhat overlong, The Way was written and directed by Estevez, who's perhaps best known for his acting career ("The Breakfast Club"). show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Here and there, the actor invests the kind of feeling that makes The Way come alive in human terms. show more

  • March 30, 2013 Tom
    Report This User

    I trulu LOVED this movie!!

  • August 11, 2012 sz00000000127877
    Report This User

    I have watched (or simply played) this movie, The Way, more than 20 times, and it hasn\'t worn thin yet! The UNSURPASSABLE GENIUS in ALL aspects of the making of this movie; the photography--from epic scenery to subtle expressions of the actors, the timing of dialogue, music, sound-before-scene, and momentum of the Camino trek, has me so addicted that I cannot go more than a few days **************** it again! THANK YOU, EMILIO!

  • May 29, 2012 sadie1288
    Report This User

    a truly remarkable film...about character, love and faith...all the pilgrims were terrific. rcmconsult

  • April 09, 2012 wx00000000100279
    Report This User

    one of my fav. movies of all time

  • February 24, 2012 sarriahugo
    Report This User

    it a great movie, should be academy award material, however anything that has any degree of Christian value, or high moral standard is usually not something Hollywood or the academy of motion pictures looks for or appreciates. Recommend without reservations. Good for the Estevez Family for such a great effort.

  • January 21, 2012 litlamb02
    Report This User

    Outstanding!

  • November 27, 2011 somjas
    Report This User

    WE so enjoyed The Way. Have told everyone I know to definately go & see it. The actors didn\'t seem like actors! They seemed to take on the lives of the people they were portraying. It held your attention all the way through. Wish there were more movies like this one. Then we\'d go more often. It gave you a lot to think about.

  • November 26, 2011 fincherjf
    Report This User

    Take some time and enjoy this movie. Travel, Characters, Reflective, Soul filled and completely contrasting to Charlie Sheen\'s life. You will be inspired...Great Job Cast and Emilo!

  • November 21, 2011 liveseascroller
    Report This User

    My wife and I (who are in our sixties) saw this movie in the States---not long after we had walked and backpacked on The Way (a.k.a El Camino de Santiago de Compostela) in northwest Spain. We don\'******* many movies, so I really can\'t compare it with whatever is considered to be top cinema these days. However, the movie caught the essence of The Way of St. James and the diversity of the peregrinos who, somehow or another, end up hiking on it. The how, where, and why of the trek are very individual things, difficult to verbalize or convey to oneself or to any subsequent listeners. The movie does, however, compare well with what I consider to be some valiant representatives of cinema in my times: Charley; Lawrence of Arabia; E.T.; Trading Places; Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison; When Harry Met Sally; The Boys in Company C; Dances with Wolves, West Side Story; and Last of the Mohicans. The Way is more subtle, though, and therefore perhaps less impressive to some of today\'s movie-watching niche that thrives on special effects, umpteen sound bites per minute, and black-and-white stereotypes.

  • November 19, 2011 funrazher
    Report This User

    i loved this film on so many levels. everything about it was **************** be oscar bound!

`

similar movies

  • Tiger Eyes (2012)

  • Time Out (2001)

  • Bottle Shock (2008)

  • Blancanieves (2012)

  • Girl Most Likely (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X