Skip to main content

reviews

100
Based on 4 Reviews
critic reviews (4)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 100
    Peter Stack San Francisco Chronicle

    This wonderful romp of a movie looks magical on the big screen: colors are a picnic for the eyes, details loom so clearly you can practically touch them and there's a sense of the larger-than-life with a film that's already larger than life. show more

  • 100
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Not only is it wonderfully entertaining, but the issues it addresses, and the way it presents them, are both universal and deeply personal. And therein lies The Wizard of Oz's true magic. show more

  • 100
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    The Wizard of Oz remains the weirdest, scariest, kookiest, most haunting and indelible kid-flick-that's-really-for-adults ever made in Hollywood. show more

  • 100
    Todd McCarthy Variety

    This is one vintage film that fully lives up to its classic status and should play with outstanding success to contemporary audiences of all ages. show more

  • September 21, 2013 Blake
    Report This User

    One of the classics you can watch every time.

  • November 16, 2011 csbones55
    Report This User

    I was a kid in the 50 s and my brother worked had bought a new color T V and the the Wizard of Oz was the first thing we got to watch in color Oh !My when it turned from black and white to color it was the most breath taking thing as a kid I ever saw

  • November 16, 2011 Mike
    Report This User

    I\'m 56 yrs old. I have been watching that show from 1060 to now. I watch that show every year, I love it,

  • June 07, 2011 Dry Master
    Report This User

    great for 1939

  • September 07, 2010 Raelene
    Report This User

    I am a 56 year old grandmother who loves this movie as do my children and grandchildren.

  • September 06, 2010 Barbara
    Report This User

    I watch it every year it's on...... I love it. I'm a 57 year old grandmother.

  • September 06, 2010 Tamarack tales
    Report This User

    amazing but true, I did not know that over 1/2 of it was in color until I bought the video when I had a child, because we only had a black/white tv when I was a kid in the 50's

  • September 06, 2010 ken
    Report This User

    i`m 54 yrs. old and i still love this movie,i first saw this movie at age 5.

  • September 06, 2010 jackcat1209
    Report This User

    How lucky are we to have a movie that continues to warm my heart as it did when I was a kid, and now my children. I could watch it over and over.

  • July 10, 2010 Sweetrose
    Report This User

    I think Classic films never die out.I still enjoy hearing Glenda ask "are you a good witch or a bad witch'? An awesome childhood film to cherish and love.

`

similar movies

  • Mary Poppins (1964)

  • The Sound of Music (1965)

  • Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971)

  • Bedknobs and Broomsticks (1971)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X