Skip to main content

reviews

27
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 51 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    It's a major dud. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Very earnest, often engaging, but not quite as much of a pleasure as the original. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Defanged and drippy, the remake of 1939's The Women seems to have been made for the dullard granddaughters of the sassy, sharp society matrons in George Cukor's campy original. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    English wrangles her talent like a virtuoso. Best is Murphy Brown herself, Candice Bergen. show more

  • 20
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Is it an exaggeration to call The Women the worst movie of the year? Well, yeah, probably. But it may be the most disappointing, given all the effort that went into it. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The film repeatedly sacrifices dramatic punch for political correctness. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    As a well-crafted, well-written and well-acted entertainment, it drew me in and got its job done. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    This is Diane English's directing debut, and it shows. Also in evidence is her familiarity with television. The movie is shot like a TV show, with frequent intercut close-ups. show more

  • 50
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    For all its current political incorrectness, the original film at least attacked hypocrisy; this one practises it. show more

  • 38
    Chicago Tribune

    It's a high-powered cast, but it has painfully little to work with, apart from widely varying humor. show more

  • February 09, 2009 DYniK17
    Report This User

    this was one of the worst movies i have even seen... omg... waisted 2 hours of my life :(

  • January 04, 2009 Phresendes
    Report This User

    I watched this movie with 3 friends and we all loved it. It was enjoyable and clearly a great chick flick. I would recommend this to anyone that has best friends. Sit back, lift your feet and share a bowl of popcorn with someone you care about.

  • January 03, 2009 rinconmd
    Report This User

    I just watched this movie and it was just ok. The acting was alright, but nothing great. It was a typical female movie where you can figure out what is going to happen. Meg Ryan is not my fav actress and she was not bad in it. I wish these ladies would stop having all this face work done though. They do not look like themselves any longer. This movie is not worth buying, just watch on PPV.

  • November 01, 2008 MargePgma
    Report This User

    This was one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I took my Mom and she also loved. Don't understand all the negative comments.

  • October 19, 2008 Djjainz
    Report This User

    This is the worst movie I've seen EVER in a theater! I was so excited by the cast and trailers that I went to see it the first weekend. Wanted to walk out before the halfway mark, but thought it just had to get better...it didn't!

  • October 18, 2008 WindChimeIndFilm
    Report This User

    Worst movie I've seen in a long time. The acting was stiff, pretentious, and unbelievable (not in a good way.) Predictable plot, anti-climatic, boring ending. Perhaps the actresses had fun making it; it was an amazing cast of wonderful women. Too bad all that energy was wasted. Sigh.

  • October 08, 2008 darby1044
    Report This User

    I loved this movie! It is fun as well a entertaining. Actually, I liked this one better that the 1939 movie which I thought was a little stilted...but it was a different time. I think this version has a wonderful cast. Can hardly wait until it's out on DVD, so I can add it to my "feel good" collection.

  • October 07, 2008 GAGUY34
    Report This User

    I liked the movie for what it was. One cannot compare it to the classic original and it is FAR better then the other remake "The Opposite Sex". This movie attempted to update the story, but the times and the role of women are vastly different than 1939. It had balanced performances, not stellar, and it adhered to the original concept of no men on screen. An interesting movie that I will add to my collection, but it will not hold the same status as my original copy.

  • October 04, 2008 erriiin xx
    Report This User

    I saw this movie last week. so good! it makes it a whole lot better when you are watching it with some friends! :]

  • October 02, 2008 Welcome Suz
    Report This User

    This is probably one of the worse movies I've ever seen. While I'll enjoy a good occasional man joke, I don't enjoy sitting through 1 1/2 hours of man bashing. The plot was all over the place and made no sense. The only character I liked was Cloris Leachman, otherwise, this movie sucked.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X