Skip to main content

reviews

47
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 102 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    In not knowing who it needs to please, I Want to Believe pleases no one. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Knowing nothing about "X-Files" is no impediment to appreciating this for the well-acted, adult piece of work that it is. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It feels like a wan version of the show -- one that has lost its otherworldly edge. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Anderson, who's turned Brit in a number of TV series and films, including "Bleak House" and "The Last King of Scotland," is compelling in her white lab coat and surgical scrubs, and she brings some real tenderness to her tete-a-tetes with Mulder. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The truth is, the mystery pales next to the best "X-Files" plots. But fans will appreciate sly references to past episodes, an unexpected appearance from an old friend and the still-poignant bond our heroes share. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Overall, the film plays like an improbably skewed but comparatively routine criminal procedural that would have served the original show well as an extended season opener or sweeps-week contender. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie works like thrillers used to work, before they were required to contain villains the size of buildings. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    I Want to Believe provides a welcome reminder of what made Carter's franchise a pop-culture gem. show more

  • 63
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The Carter and Spotnitz's credit, such weighty concerns aren't the stuff of most mainstream genre movies. But they're also not sufficiently gripping to transform a middling thriller into something truly provocative or haunting. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The story is both a muddle and a drag. show more

  • December 02, 2008 Tanisgb
    Report This User

    It´s good to have them back!!

  • September 02, 2008 coach72557
    Report This User

    I hope they try again

  • August 12, 2008 OffcCrrl
    Report This User

    this movie was okay, i liked, its just ive bee nlooking forward to this movie for about, welll, lets just say a very long time! it wasent wha ti thought it would be...

  • August 11, 2008 TEEPOD2401
    Report This User

    I waited how many years for a second movie, and this is the best script they came up with. There was no good relationships with any of the actors. Do I have to say it. The love story between the two lead actors was one of the major reasons people tuned in. Include some true action and special effects and humor and a script that make sense and you have a movie. I would rather watch reruns of ( I dream of jennie ) than this movie. I give this movie 1 star just because its over.............................

  • August 10, 2008 brody775
    Report This User

    This was not a typical X-Files, the first movie was way better. There was nothing paranormal about this movie!..the ONLY thing that you could consider strange was the PSYCHIC pedophile priest...but other than that this movie should have been called "Two Homosexual Russians decide to delve in Black Market Organ Transplant and one of them wants desperately to have a female body" What's X-Files about THAT?? Sure it doesn't always have to be about Conspiracies or Aliens but this was DUMB!

  • August 10, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    The X-Files: I Want to Believe is the second feature film based on the long-running TV series that blossomed from a cult hit to a critical acclaimed success. The episodes of the series basically fell into two types. There were standalone mystery (usually monster) of the week episodes and those that were part of a continuing UFO mythology. The new film is clearly in the spirit of the first type. Read my full review at johnhuntspace.com/xfiles.html

  • August 09, 2008 RRaaqq
    Report This User

    Awful. I watched X-Files it's entire run and this was not even fit for a 1 hour TV episode.

  • August 08, 2008 ladyrosa
    Report This User

    The worst movie I've seen all year long...........hated it!I want my time and money back...........what a joke!!!!! Don't see it and don't rent the DVD!

  • August 06, 2008 Nonakre
    Report This User

    Loved it, loved it!!!! I give it 5 stars...HOWEVER PLEASE SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT HAPPENS AT THE CREDITS, I had to go get my kiddos from the sitter and had to leave before I saw...please please....

  • August 05, 2008 Sir Robert of H
    Report This User

    Bad ! Don't go, wait till it comes on DVD. Why did they make this movie We all know why $$$$$$$$$ they got some of my $, Dam

`

similar movies

  • The X-Files (1998)

  • Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

  • Gravity (2013)

  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X