Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 64 )
  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    It's warm, witty and alive, with a fantastic cast and a belief in its characters that transcends its formulaic tendencies. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Enjoyable enough. Though like some holiday fare, it doesn't quite stay with you. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    At the multiplex where so many holiday movies feel regifted, This Christmas is a gift. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    No matter how silly the situation, each member of the uniformly strong cast creates a nice balance between sentimental and sweet - which is just how every holiday gathering should feel. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Writer-director Preston A. Whitmore II throws enough soap opera for an entire TV season into a story that nearly -- but not quite -- sinks from the weight of all these implausible events. Animated acting and the sheer chaos of this squabbling family give the film a comic buoyancy. show more

  • 88
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Fast paced and engagingly acted. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    What's surprising is how well Whitmore, the director, manages to direct traffic. He's got one crisis cooling, another problem exploding, a third dilemma gathering steam and people exchanging significant looks about secrets still not introduced. It's sort of a screwball-comedy effect, but with a heart. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    It's different from the usual fare in one obvious way -- most of the cast are African Americans -- and, more importantly, in its willingness to leave some problems unsolved and volatile or unhappy people unchanged. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Overstuffed, formulaic but very easy to take. show more

  • 63
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    So full of solid performances and appealing characters that I wished writer/director/producer Preston Whitmore (“The Walking Dead") had considered the dictum “less is more." show more

  • October 27, 2012 bi00000000131421
    Report This User

    love this movie !

  • February 08, 2011 KSJMLHTFCHNP
    Report This User

    One of my absolute favorite movies!!!

  • December 25, 2008 Dropoutz3
    Report This User

    beautiful holiday film

  • December 06, 2008 Pagepeoples
    Report This User

    Me and my family thought that this movie was a very good movie. It dealt with the issues that some people go through but in the end the family came together. So I give it a five star rating.

  • November 30, 2008 lil ed
    Report This User

    regina king has it all! what incredibly delicious thighs !!

  • November 29, 2008 movieuclafan
    Report This User

    This Christmas was really entertaining... a joyous good family movie with heartfelt, and deeply entertained performances. I laughed, and really felt good watching this movie. very entertaining for a family christmas film.

  • November 22, 2008 Dtmbar
    Report This User

    This movie is absolutely great. All of the stars were so believable. I was totally shocked at how great Chris Brown acted--he did a great job. But, the cast as a whole played their parts. That Loretta Devine was awesome and realistic as usual. She and Delroy Lindo were the perfect anchors for this film. The two were so terrific. And, Idris Elba was completely on his game and that guy is really a great actor. Also, perfectly casted Sharon Leal and Lauren London were great and totally wonderful and laugh out loud smart. Columbus Short, Laz Alonso, and Jessica Stroup were new to me but fit well with the family and demonstrated ease and realism in their roles. Mekhi Phifer gave the movie a subtle but great performance. Regina King was great. Even Cousin Fred and the two thugs added that extra touch that kept the storyline smooth and right. I wish we could've seen the Whitfields this Christmas. I hope we see them again.

  • August 31, 2008 Psmorgan1020
    Report This User

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE,BUT WHEN WILL IT BE RELEASED TO BLOCKBUSTER ON DVD

  • May 22, 2008 jaesassy
    Report This User

    I found the movie very interesting. A lot of good actor with good roles. LOVED IT!

  • May 22, 2008 gatorbait00024
    Report This User

    I like Steve Martin in this movie he is so funny The Pink Panther will make Kids and Grown-Ups laugh so hard as if they never laugh so hard like this in their lives I give The Pink Panther Two Thumbs Up and the Score of 55 out of 100I hope you enjoy The Pink Panther

`

similar movies

  • Madea's Family Reunion (2006)

  • Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins (2008)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Tyler Perry's the Family That Preys (2008)

  • Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X