Skip to main content

reviews

37
Based on 19 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 12 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Trespass never advances beyond being a grand manipulation. show more

  • 25
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    An astoundingly senseless thriller. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    A home-invasion flick that grabs viewers by the throat and only stops squeezing long enough to wipe sweat from its palms. show more

  • 50
    Movieline

    Trespass is best received as an almost viable B-movie that just happens to have A-list leads. show more

  • 63
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Trespass is at least a suitable rest stop for his (Cage) anguish. An unapologetic B-movie that comes with lots of flashbacks, gunplay and shouting, it can easily be savoured and forgotten inside 90 minutes. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A home invasion thriller that may set a record for the number of times the characters point loaded pistols at one another's heads. First we're afraid somebody will get shot. Then we're afraid nobody will be. show more

  • 38
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Trespass is a home invasion movie, but not a clever, taut one; it's sloppy and obvious, with curves so un-serpentine they might as well be straightaways. show more

  • 25
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    One of those movies that an audience knows is terrible the minute it starts. show more

  • 25
    Slant Magazine

    A jerky, clamorous domestic thriller that attempts, with nonsense and expletives turned up to full volume, to say something thrillingly profound about the depths of misery one can reach while doing financial damage control. show more

  • 25
    Rex Reed New York Observer

    How many ways can a film go wrong? Too many to list, and Trespass finds them all. show more

  • September 15, 2012 josephkss
    Report This User

    real good lots of twist fun to watch

  • February 25, 2012 fo00000000110532
    Report This User

    Great movie! Available instantly on Netflix.

  • November 11, 2011 bjuarez59
    Report This User

    enjoyed it. but could have had a better ending

  • October 29, 2011 nicolascoppola12
    Report This User

    Without doubt the best film of the year. Nicolas Cage put on a performance the likes of which have not been seen since his role in Face-Off as criminal mastermind Castor Troy. Every scene in this movie that featured Cage was excellently filmed and enhanced even further simply by the presence of this truly great actor. Best movie of the year and one of Cage\'s personal bests. I would recommend this to any friend of mine in a heartbeat.

  • October 15, 2011 uneamie22
    Report This User

    While it was a bone chilling thriller.....it had too many holes, parts that did not make any sense. Poor writing in my opinion. So many times I rolled my eyes in disbelief. Especially that Nickolas and Nicole would agree to do a movie like this. The acting was good....writing ugh!

  • October 13, 2011 kf00000000103297
    Report This User

    I am a huge Nic Cage fan, and let me say he did not disappoint! He goes back to his roots of being a strong-willed husband/father that can kick some serious ass. He takes matters into his own hands and really gives the villians a run for their money (or his money rather). And not only him, Nicole Kidman and Liana Liberato held their own too and contributes to what is a flawed family that comes together to survive. Even the criminals, Cam Gigandet and Ben Mendelsohn, have the intensity and violent demeanor that create perfect villians. All in all this is a superb thriller that epitomizes its genre.

  • October 11, 2011 sspiruchass
    Report This User

    well I like nicola cage, but I am getting a dejavu feeling here.. does anybody remember a movie with harrison ford with the same plot? can remember the name now, but the kidnapped the whole family in their own house in order for him to steal something from his job.....so that\'s why it feels like dejavu to me....

  • October 11, 2011 melissemelisse91
    Report This User

    Nicolas Cage has always been amazing at playing the father figure. He performed wonderfully as the accidental father in Raising Arizona, Matchstick Men, and The Family Man. He might have even been better at playing the doting superhero dad in Kick-Ass. He has had practice at different types of fatherly roles, but everything he does, he does well. Nicolas Cage knows how to act, period. That’s why Joel Schumacher cast him in 8mm and recast him as the father in his new film Trespass. In the film, Nicolas Cage plays an extremely wealthy diamond dealer named Kyle Miller. He has a beautiful wife played by Nicole Kidman and a very lovely daughter played by Liana Liberato. Both actresses give solid performances when the entire family is taken hostage by a family of burglars headed by brothers played by Ben Mendelson and Cam Gigandet. As tensions rise, the audience gets to see which family dynamic is stronger, the rich wealthy trio riddled with secrets, or the psychotic foursome dying for a payout from the safe that Nicolas Cage refuses to open. Trespass is a really well-made movie. Joel Schumacher made sure every shot was on point and every special effect was dazzling. It’s a really exciting film that keeps the audience guessing. The characters are constantly on edge and because there isn’t a dull second for the actors, there isn’t a dull moment for the audience. In a word, Trespassing i

  • October 11, 2011 an00000000103290
    Report This User

    Trespass is a gritty, realistic thriller that introduces the audience to a seemingly distressed, upperclass family right before their home is invaded by a violent crew of desperate criminals looking to steal their personal fortune. This film portrays the true nature of a home invasion by highlighting the fact that it is completely unexpected and showing that the thieves don\'t take the backseat to common everyday issues. Not only will the fate of the family keep you on the edge of your seat but the twists and turns that appear all throughout the plot will keep you guessing each person\'s allegiances and motives until the very end. If you enjoy suspenseful heist films that keep you biting your fingernails until the end then \"Trespass\" is a must-see, you\'ll be soaked in sweat by the time you leave the theater.

  • October 04, 2011 xt00000000102863
    Report This User

    I loved the movie! I have been waiting for Nick Cage\'s comeback and this film is it. Schumacher took a great direction and the twist ending was insane. (dont worry I won\'t spoil it) The cast is great, the story line made sense and kept you wanting more. All in all it is a movie I would buy on dvd and watch it a bunch of times. Do I recommend Trespass..yes.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X