Skip to main content

reviews

54
Based on 12 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 73 )
  • 75
    New York Daily News

    The problems are real; the solutions are ... well, really entertaining. Perry mixes heartfelt drama with bold-stroke, insult-slinging comedy. show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    As has been previously demonstrated in the hugely successful Perry's stage, television and big-screen works, subtlety and tonal consistency are not his strong suits. Here, the mostly broadly drawn characters and situations on display quickly prove grating, with the film veering awkwardly between broad comedy and melodrama. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Perry certainly loves his divas -- the best parts are written for Scott and the wonderful Smith. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The most disappointing thing here, besides Perry's ongoing visual impairment (he deserves better cinematography and editing) is Scott. show more

  • 50
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The movie has a better sense of flow than his past efforts, and a few lengthy travelling Steadicam shots and some decent mountain scenery (supplied by B.C. rather than Colorado) help dispel the feeling that Perry has merely filmed another of his plays. show more

  • 20
    Austin Chronicle

    There’s such an overriding sense of soap opera that I kept expecting a commercial break. show more

  • 67
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    Perry is of the spell-everything-in-capital-letters and act-it-out-loudly schools. Yet his sensitivity to women is a tonic. show more

  • 70
    Jeannette Catsoulis The New York Times

    More than anything, a Tyler Perry movie is an interactive experience, and Why Did I Get Married? is no exception. At the screening I attended, it was often difficult to hear the dialogue between bouts of enthusiastic applause and shouts of “You go, girl!” show more

  • 70
    Ronnie Scheib Variety

    Though fans might miss Perry's genre-exploding daring, the excellent cast injects enough pathos and zing to keep picture percolating. show more

  • 60
    L.A. Weekly

    The writer-director-producer-star would rather save your soul and your marriage than engage your aesthetics. That’s probably why every other line was greeted at my screening with a chorus of stern “Mm-hmms” and “Exactlys!” show more

  • May 22, 2008 avrilbking
    Report This User

    Excellent

  • May 22, 2008 dianedianne
    Report This User

    Smithh should have given a award for her role as Angela.She added so much pizzazz to the movie that had it ot bee for her role and Jill Scotts betrayal, this movie would have been somewhat dull, boring, dullJanet sounds so much like her brother Michael.

  • May 22, 2008 etmchrl
    Report This User

    Oh my goodness, my husband and I love this movie. The cast was wonderful, great selection Tyler. I can watch this movie over and over. My husband is going to hide this movie from me real soon, because I know I've watched this movie at least five times or more within a months time. I really look forward to seeing meet the Browns. Tyler keep doing your thing. Great Job!

  • May 22, 2008 Mrs McBride
    Report This User

    My husband and I really liked this movie. It gave us something to talk about, sort out the characters, and we didn't go away asking "What did the monster look like?."

  • May 22, 2008 sixtwoo62
    Report This User

    This movie was awesome. I saw my husband and I as one of the couples with the baby mama drama ex. Oh, my God this movie was great. I am going out today in a snow storm to get the dvd that was released today.

  • May 22, 2008 jenserjl
    Report This User

    very good movie interesting and a little funny.

  • May 22, 2008 jennelle22
    Report This User

    This movie was terrific! I love the cast, the story line and setting. It is a true to life movie, so many people can relate and has related during the movie... It is funny and sad. It was really great. Tyler Perry is amazing, he is a talented man. Keep up the good work. I will be buying this DVD, cant wait.

  • May 22, 2008 iluvtalkies
    Report This User

    This is a film for people of all races. It bluntly addresses several issues that are present in marriages today and delivers them genuinely and honestly. Great acting, great scenery and humourous! Worth the price of admission.

  • May 22, 2008 fabzwife187
    Report This User

    T.P you are the greatest black writer, producer, comedian everything. This movie was so good I did'nt want it be over. This movie is so real. It talks about life, the real things couples go through every day. Its so realistic. I think you topped it with this one. I'm not getting paid to promote your movie but I'm doing it anyway. I don't know where to start. From the beginning to the end it was good. You are not the "typical black" producer. Which critics are only waiting to see guns, violence and sex and the bad words. T.P you are the man keep it up so far I love all of them. The movies, the plays, the show. I wanna see you top this movie cause I don't think you can. But keep up the good work. Show these critics that it aint all about money, sex and drugs.

  • May 22, 2008 larnold65
    Report This User

    This one of the abosulutely BEST movies of all time. How do movie critics keep thier jobs? Are they able to apprciate works done by people who are not of the caucasian race? This movie evokes all emotions. You will cry, shout for joy, gasp and laugh . I cannot remember a movie that has touched all me emotially as much as this one has. It's a MUST SEE!! Though I have never been a fan a MaDear's, Tyler Perry you have a new fan base with me and a few of my other "Non- MaDear's" friends.

`

similar movies

  • Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married Too? (2010)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Ida (2013)

  • Enough Said (2013)

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X