Skip to main content

reviews

59
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 19 )
  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    Although based on a fictional story, it has the feel of truth and is a vivid reminder of the hell Mexicans put themselves through to live in the United States, even illegally. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A powerful and evocative account of the efforts undertaken to forge a perilous mother-and-child reunion. Told in Spanish with English subtitles, it is a moving tale of yearning, as well as unflagging courage and determination. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Under the Same Moon comes most vividly to life when Adrian Alonso is on the screen. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    How do you say "tearjerker" in Spanish? show more

  • 88
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's an unexpectedly powerful little film that manages to say a lot of what, despite all the talk on the subject, isn't being said in the national debate on immigration. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Instead of delivering a pointed statement, this timely and energetic crowd-pleaser aims for -- and accomplishes -- something much more difficult: It makes you fall in love with its characters. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The result is a genuinely cathartic night at the movies - which is one of the reasons we go to them in the first place. Art it ain't, but popcorn is rarely this skilled or seductive. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The strong final third counterbalances the weaknesses of the first half. I prefer films that build to something worthwhile rather than collapse short of the finish line. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    It takes place on both sides of the U.S./Mexico border, and it offers an undeniable argument that life without love is unpalatable on either side. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    An estimated 4 million Latinas leave one or more children behind when they travel north to find work. They deserve a more nuanced film, but this one’s often affecting. show more

  • August 24, 2008 Gmelinda31
    Report This User

    why is this movie not a christian life movie why does that even cross your mind it is a great movie a very touching real movie i loved it .i dont even speak spanish and i was glued to it from beginning to end i loved it i give it ten tacos (smile)

  • May 22, 2008 CARLOS
    Report This User

    Shut upppppppp. Get a life! A christian life at that.cab0852@aol,com

  • May 22, 2008 mex24solo
    Report This User

    KATE DEL CASTILLO,DERBEZ,CARMEN SALINAS Y EL NINO ADRIAN MIS FELICITACIONES POR TREMENDAS ACTUACIONES.....ARRIBA LA RAZA!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 ncfrrst
    Report This User

    Yes I give this one four stars (tacos) . It was wonderful and well acted from the beginning to the super emotional ending. This is a movie about the reunion of mother and son and the tribulations the little one goes through to get to her. Forget all that nonsense about the political slant of the film and how offended some Americnas are about the pro illegeal immigration stance the filmmakers preach in the movie. It is nothing more than backdrop and shouldnt interfere with the main story. If you cant feel for these poor struggling people then you are heartless. I am American too and felt for them all the way. Simply a great film and sure to get the tissue box out at the end.

  • May 22, 2008 aries5844
    Report This User

    i seen this movie. i think if people are good people. the only thing there doing working here for there familles i come from Mom and dad that are Ecuadorian. i was born here in us. i think u shouldn't judge nobody if there working for there familles just like you and me. you people judge to much. everyone in us has someone of there family that was an illegal immigrant. in everyone's family there has to be one that came here illegal. Nobody need to be to close mind. Illegal immigrant come to work for family not to be in you guys way if it wasn't for them then your house wouldn't get fix or you wouldn't have maids or people to work for you. they come american dream

  • May 22, 2008 mrscoincounter
    Report This User

    Why dont the directors of this movie just offend the American culture and society more? How could they offend Arnold Schwarzenegger, not even pronouncing his name correctly when they are dying to get into the state that he governs! He is legal, a citizen, who did it honestly for the record directors! I dont know if they could have victimized illegal immigrants to the cruelty of America even a little more. Mexican immigrants are not the only ones that struggle for citizenship, immigrants from China, Japan, Africa and the Middle East are having the same struggles. I am shocked.

  • May 22, 2008 galiany68
    Report This User

    El humor, los buenos actores como Dervez y claro el nino, hacen muy buena actuasion y el trama tambien es exelente... pero lamento mucho que sea una realidad que se vive, pero que es algo muy complejo, ya que la situasion de los Ilegales no es culpa de USA, sino de sus paices de origen, imagino que si les dan los papeles a los 12 millones de Ilegales, eso no resuelve el problema, por que en 10 anios mas, estara igual la situasion.. asi que por que echarle la culpa a USA de la desgracia que viven aqui.. mas bien exijirle a nuestro govierno de origen que en ves de que sus governantes ganen inclusibe mas que los de USA, propongan buenas ideas para dar trabajos dignos y no tener que salir de nuestra casa ************ pan al vesino y aparte tener que hacer estas pelicula para causarles lastima y nos emigren.

  • May 22, 2008 ipisces
    Report This User

    This has to be one of the most incredible movies ever made. While the characters may be from Mexico, this is a history lesson to all who have made it here from so many far off countries to live a better life. No one living in this harsh, dangerous, and hostile country known as The United States is exempt from their own family’s history and struggle to be here. The funny thing about this movie is that California is native Mexican soil.

  • May 22, 2008 lakada 3
    Report This User

    First off this is a story of ILLEGAL immigrants not immirgrants. Some Mexicans do have respect for the United States and come here the legal way. They are immigrants the rest are invaders. This is another Sob story to pull on the heart strings to feel sorry for people who break the law. I walked out of the theater! Let make a movie about all the victims of ILLEGAL Aliens. Believe me they have gone through more heart ache then the ones in this movie!

  • May 22, 2008 mzbete
    Report This User

    It was the true picture of what some people have to do in order to come for a "better life". The acting, emotions shown, humor of our people was shown and felt every moment of the film. Congratulations to all that participated in the filming, and storyline it was strongly felt by the audience, I am sure. I consider that someday these people will be called "heroes" instead of the names called now! I loved the whole story line and made me feel very proud to be of Mexican descent! Long live our Raza!mzbete

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X