Skip to main content

reviews

37
Based on 16 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 22 )
  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Made for viewers old enough to appreciate a talking pooch but too young to read or write about it. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The movie isn't nearly as bad as you would expect when the studio holds its only press screening the night before a national opening. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    If you're expecting anything resembling the beloved cartoon, you'll enjoy the title sequence and nothing else. If, however, you set your expectations just low enough, or are an easily satisfied 8-year-old, you might have a bit of fun. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The bite and bark of Underdog are both pretty awful, but little kids might take this pooch for a walk. show more

  • 38
    Janice Page Boston Globe

    Underdog! Rest assured, there is no superhero cliche left unchewed; they even manage to slide in a "Lady and the Tramp" homage while they're at it. show more

  • 38
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    For adults -- even adults with fond memories of the TV series -- this is one bizarre mess. show more

  • 40
    Film Threat

    Regardless, what probably made the show so tolerable and popular was the fact that each episode was under a half an hour long. This movie is about 84 minutes long and gets tiresome after the first 20 minutes or so. show more

  • 40
    Anna Smith Empire

    Despite the talent on show, there's little to distinguish this from any other bland family comedy. show more

  • 40
    Marrit Ingman Austin Chronicle

    The elements of the film don’t quite mesh: The villains are cartoony, but Du Chau aims for soggy family drama in his father-son story. show more

  • 67
    Owen Gleiberman Entertainment Weekly

    This digitized update, with Jason Lee as a huskier, more generic Underdog, mostly drops the doggerel, but the endearing airborne-beagle effects help to offset the formula twists. show more

  • October 27, 2008 Sweetrose
    Report This User

    I used to love "kiddie cartoons" and think this is a cutie; Jason Lee is the voice of our hero and alter ego "Shoeshine". Our sporty daredevil tries to mend the relationship of past cop Dan (played by Belushi), and his son.I also loved the cool pooch Polly Purebread.She is a sweetie, and our hero's love interest. Underdog,helps the town get rid of an evil dude and the dobermans who serve him. I got a kick of the bloopers and funny bit at the end. They were weird and wacky.

  • September 08, 2008 Ashes5678
    Report This User

    Hey Ur Cd is awesome you should see us at coopertown middle when ur songs come on we go CRAZYYYYYY

  • May 22, 2008 hectorferjr2
    Report This User

    When I frist heard that a Movie called UnderDog was coming to Movie Theaters I thought the idea was very creative a dog a kid's best friend is now finally a SuperHero and that proves that Dogs Rule and the only cat I like is Garfield form Garfield The Movie and from Garfield A Tall Of Two Kitties other than him Ilike dogs better In my point of view there is a good joke about Jason Lee and the joke is that I known Jason Lee he played the voice of Buddy Pine also known as IncrediBoy also known as Syndrome the bad guy in The Incredibles and I guess when Jason Lee did the voice of ShoeShine also known as UnderDog he wanted to cleen that dirty image of his and have a cleen one for the present and in fact Jason Lee is not even know for being the voice of Buddy Pine also know IncrediBoy also know as Syndrome in The Incredibles and not even known as ShoeShine also know as UnderDog in UnderDog he is now best known for his Role as Dave Seville in Alvin and the chipmunks did anybody found my joke wise and funny because I found it nice and funny HA HA and thats The UnderDog Joke anyway I thought UnderDog was a great movie and UnderDog is rated my number 5 favortive SuperHero in my top 10 favortive SuperHeroes list I give UnderDog Two Thumbs Up and the score of 98 out of 100 and I hope that you and your familly and your Dog Enjoy UnderDog

  • May 22, 2008 snowcrystal95
    Report This User

    I waited to see this at the dollar movie and wish I wouldnt have even paid a dollar....IT sucked and wasnt worth it if it was FREE!!

  • May 22, 2008 Cindy
    Report This User

    This is a really good band. Though they are a young band, they are still up and coming in the Chirstian music industry. I was priviledged to get to go to a Hawk Nelson concert this summer and The Send opened for them. They did a really good job. And they preformed one song (I can't remember the name) and it was the best piano solo I have EVER heard live. It was amazing. Also check out this band's merch. They have some really sweet t's that are worth taking a look at.

  • May 22, 2008 auntbudda
    Report This User

    Pam is deffinately one of a kind.......! upfront,honest,careing,giving,deffinately for the animal and works well with owner.\nYou honestly cant ask for a better large animal vet. She is not in it just for the job ... she is in it with her heart! We have had many differant cases in the past with our horses but she has solved the slightest and biggest and seen us thru the worst ... she is there always and to the end !

  • May 22, 2008 mommy
    Report This User

    This song is freakin awesome dude!!!everybody at my school loves the song and know every step to the dance!you should see coopertown middle at one of our school dances when this song comes on!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 CinCydude61
    Report This User

    I simply can't believe ANYONE liked this junk. My 12 year old niece and 10 year old nephew like anything, and even they were bored with this. James Belushi sleptwalk through the whole thing. I understand why. I had a friend tell me it was funny. I have no idea what movie they were watching, but it wasn't this one. Amazingly bad.

  • May 22, 2008 stevemloc
    Report This User

    As soon as the movie began you sart to here the foulest mouths ever please little kids are gonna see this and i didnt under stand wat was happening at the beginning were they startig at micheals child hood he didnt even look like the original child version of micheal myers i think its a total insult to the original story and rob zombie has scared the myers saga for life a total disgrace to a classic tale

  • May 22, 2008 b2lizzy
    Report This User

    Remember a woman is just a woman but a great in and out is a hamburger!

`

similar movies

  • Garfield: The Movie (2004)

  • Sky High (2005)

  • G-Force (2009)

  • Racing Stripes (2005)

  • Hotel for Dogs (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X