Skip to main content

reviews

44
Based on 14 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 36 )
  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The highlight of this fantasy/horror hybrid is watching a pair of the best British character actors --- Bill Nighy and Michael Sheen -- shed their thespian respectability and unleash their inner beasts. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Thanks to sturdy performances by holdovers Michael Sheen and Bill Nighy as well as tidy, unfussy direction by first-timer Patrick Tatopoulos, the creature designer who is taking the reins from originator Len Wiseman, the third installment in the successful franchise should be to the fan base's lycan. show more

  • 50
    TV Guide

    While it may not be "Citizen Canine," Rise of the Lycans tells its tale competently and without the derivative nature of its predecessors. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The first film was significantly better and, therefore, is the place to start for anyone with a modicum of interest. Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is an also-ran that is likely to be appreciated only by completists. show more

  • 20
    Kim Newman Empire

    A needless threequel. Note to director: avoid 'rise of the' titles. show more

  • 30
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    It's a testament to Bill Nighy's cadaverous panache that this third entry in the ongoing exsanguinators vs. lycanthropes franchise (that's vampires and werewolves to anyone not weaned on Famous Monsters) is as tolerable as it is. show more

  • 58
    Entertainment Weekly

    Sheen and Nighy do their best with the material, but this is easily the worst Underworld so far. show more

  • 70
    Joe Leydon Variety

    First-time helmer Patrick Tatopoulos (who designed creatures for all three pics) offers a satisfyingly exciting monster rally that often plays like a period swashbuckler. show more

  • 60
    Manohla Dargis The New York Times

    Although the presence of Mr. Sheen is initially distracting, it soon becomes the movie's greatest asset. There is, as it turns out, some benefit to having a real performance even in a formulaic entertainment like this. show more

  • 50
    L.A. Weekly

    Mincing around like a bored old glam rocker and hissing threats from behind electric neon eyes, Nighy seems to be the only person on set who found a glint of amusement in his part. He fares better than poor Sheen, a scraggly Wolverine who made a more credible vampire-slayer opposite Frank Langella’s Nixon. show more

  • July 23, 2009 Rob021683
    Report This User

    Good movie. Filled in a lot of the details from the other two. All in all a good prequel. Worth renting at least for sure!!

  • March 01, 2009 Vince and Amy
    Report This User

    Sweetsunshinesmi-- HA HA!! "SIT THRU" the love scene" ??? The LOVE SCENE was one of the BEST PARTS!!! BUT... I have always been partial to Lucian--this movie has been a long-time coming WISH FOR ME!! EXCELLENT movie, WELL worth the wait, & HOT!!!

  • February 28, 2009 Manistic
    Report This User

    Excellent movie. Well worth seeing for some great special effects, wonderful storyline, and really good acting. If you are a vampire/werewolf fan, or you just like the dark underside of the fantasy universe, then go see this movie.

  • February 15, 2009 sharai2sassy
    Report This User

    The story was good telling the backstory of the first 2 movies. What I did not like was that there was too much CGI in this one. What happened to the animatronic werewolves used throughout the first 2? The change in director may have been the reason, but this director is said to be the one that made the creatures for the other movies. So why so much CGI? Even the sets and background were mostly CGI as opposed to mainly live action sets in the first 2. There is far too much CGI in movies anymore. I can understand this in Sci Fi movies where there are fantastical worlds that do not exist or spaceships, etc., but when depicting places, people and animals that are existing in a movie world that supposedly is existing within our live action world - less CGI is more and better to watch on screen. Go back to the live action please! Keep the great actors such as Michael Sheen and Bill Nighy and get Kate Beckinsale and Scott Speedman back in the show.

  • February 11, 2009 Sweetsunshinesmi
    Report This User

    I loved the movie. You already know the plot its the rise of Lycan which mean you had to sit through the love scene but he did try to spice it up with werewolf biting, fighting and trying to get in were they lived. Victor was much more meaner in this movie then all the rest.

  • February 11, 2009 maxcranium
    Report This User

    Where is the other half of the movie? 125 minutes is not long enough to be called a feature movie. Now I know why I stopped going...

  • February 08, 2009 JANEQUIVER
    Report This User

    WOW. How truly horrible. I *love* bad Sci-Fi & can forgive a bad storyline or a few imperfect fx - but damn! This story is the just the flashback from the first movie. It the story of the affair & death Victor's daughter & the first werewolf. The whole time all I could think was - awesome, she's going to get caught & die. Besides all the fx were just werewolves running & battle gore that belong more in a war flick than Sci-Fi. I miss the vampire matrix-type fighting of which there is only a few lame bits of. This movie made me go through the annoying sign-up process on this site just to warn you. If you are over 16, skip it.

  • February 07, 2009 ArvizuVE
    Report This User

    LOVED IT!!!! This movie was incredible. If you enjoyed the first 2 as much as I did then I highly recommend that you go see this one to. I was disapointed to find out that kate Beckinsale was not starring in it, but Rhona Mitra (Victor's daughter) did so well you realy didn't miss her...though I still hope to see her in a part 4!

  • February 03, 2009 Dixieland1204
    Report This User

    this movie was AWESOME!!! I really hope they make a 4th because this series of movies keeps me excited. Great action, still the same actors, and a great plot line continues. If you see this and you are upset, you need to stop going to movies because you have bad taste

  • February 01, 2009 Tritogenea
    Report This User

    I agree with Dellastarr. This should have been the next movie in the series. Bill Nighy & Michael Sheen wonderful actors. I loved the special affects and the backstory of why there is a fued. I thought I would miss Kate Beckansale... nope

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X