Skip to main content

reviews

88
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 119 )
  • 100
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Up is a breathtaking ride into the realm of pure imagination. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Has some great movie moments but also boring stretches. show more

  • 100
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Easily the summer's, and probably the year's, most enchanting movie, Up is a buoyant delight. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    I'm still left, though, with an unshakable sense of Up being rushed and sketchy, a collection of lovely storyboards that coalesced incompletely or not at all. show more

  • 100
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The exhilarating film pays tribute to Buster Keaton's "The Balloonatic" by way of its slapstick, and to Hayao Miyazaki's "Howl's Moving Castle" by way of its watercolor palette and traveling domicile. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    While their latest achievement can't quite one-up "WALL-E," it offers soaring highs that are bound to enchant viewers of any age. show more

  • 100
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is another masterwork from Pixar, which is leading the charge in modern animation. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Some of the comic inventions are inspired: Muntz has a pack of dogs equipped with electronic voice boxes, which means they're talking dogs, only they speak as if they've learned English from a poorly translated Berlitz guide. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Rousing, exhilarating entertainment. show more

  • December 15, 2011 myrtlemoose
    Report This User

    OMG!!! This is one of my favorite movies ever!!!! Great animation,hilarious,and tells a great story. I would definatley give this movie a-five-star- rating!!!

  • May 12, 2010 ToNyToNeLV702
    Report This User

    for ejchalms ..its a kid movie for crying out loud..and not to mention a cartoon.. are you serious?? and Gabed27 it wasnt that funny.. i wouldnt be telling anyone that your balls fell off.

  • April 16, 2010 ejchalms
    Report This User

    this movie is stupid and unrealistic. how the %$&^ do dogs drive planes!!! and the old guy wold have had a heart attack. and that one exploror guy would have been so old he would be dead. the best part was the credits.

  • March 08, 2010 Esmiley6
    Report This User

    this was such a fabulous movie!!! as i have always been-i'll say it again- i am in absolute love with Pixar and it's many kid-loves-it-mom-cries-her-eyes-out movies.Up had so much potential and it used every last bit of it. and how simply true the title is! Up. a different meaning for everyone... this was definetly one of my favorite movies from 2009- if not my favorite! I would recomend this movie for everyone, except maybe very small children, due to the fact that they may not understand the more serious parts of it. but other than that, this movie is for everyone and bring out the kid in you! as you can see, Up is without a doubt a 5-star movie!!!

  • February 21, 2010 CrystalSki67
    Report This User

    Wow, I just read some of the reviews and I had to write my own because some are just crazy. I am 18 and I LOVED Wall-E for what it was, a cute, real love story and soo visually appealing. So when I saw the trailer for UP I didn't know if it would live up. (My 5 year old nephew 8 year old niece and 30 year old sisters love it btw) So I saw UP with my parents and boyfriend. We all cried and I was SO suprized and could not stop laughing at all the classic funny parts, Kevin and Russel where PRICELESS! I did however cringe when the gun came out, but it wasn't that long of a part and the Baby Kevins made up for it. But what a ton of these reviews are missing is the fact that adults understand the adult parts and kids the kid parts (like all Disney movies are set up). The comedy was clean and funny. If your kids found this boring it's because they are brainwashed by other movies action/violence. This movie is rated PG. Of corse this movie will not be as exciting to a 7-10 year-old kid who saw Avatar or Transformers (which I don't think they should be seeing). If parents thought this was violent, what do you let your kids watch? It's one of the cleanest animated movies made. The violence was not bad at all. I can definately see how this story was sad, but it drives the characters motivation throughout the story. Which adds demention to the movie. All in all: See UP, look for the original story cute/cheeky comedy, stunning visuals, exciting clean PG action, a love story, the hilarious animal sidekicks, and a story with obvious basic morals! It's a classic! There's a reason it is the first animated film to be nominated for Best Picture of the Year. GO PIXAR!

  • February 04, 2010 perlbar
    Report This User

    UP IS A GREAT MOVIE. SHOWED EMOTIONS AND THE REAL WORLD AS IT IS TODAY. A WINNER OF AND DESERVING OF AN OSCAR.

  • December 10, 2009 PETRzer05
    Report This User

    I can see how it might bore a 12 year old boy ( I remember 12) but not sad. Sure when Carl pinned that grape soda cap on Russell I couldn't hold back the tears, but they were happy tears, it was UPlifting! What I really can't see is how it could suck. On the other hand I don't like nuts in peanut butter cookies.

  • November 12, 2009 great
    Report This User

    where is the heck of closed captioning for deaf who can read on DVD. if it has no closed captioning then it is useless for me watch it.

  • November 07, 2009 AnnaD95
    Report This User

    I just saw the movie. It was funny. The best part is when the dog says "squirrel".

  • October 11, 2009 bloodhill7
    Report This User

    i loved this movie a lot, got a lot of laughs 2

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X