Skip to main content

reviews

54
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 63
    USA Today

    It isn't the Bates Motel, but the Pinewood Motel has enough creepy visitors and creaky floors to make Vacancy worth checking into for 90 minutes. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Vacancy, in the end, simply offers a particularly aggressive brand of couples counseling. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Short, sharp and to the point, Vacancy has a single goal, and that is to scare the hell out of you. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    While the sadism doesn't stoop -- rise? -- to the level of the "Saw" horror-thrillers, Vacancy does have a name cast. show more

  • 75
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    It's a sordid but expert shocker. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Succeeds where so many other recent horror pictures have failed: It consistently scares you silly. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The acting is solid, especially Whaley, whose nasty variation on Norman Bates is his showiest role since he memorably played Kevin Bacon's assistant in "Swimming With Sharks." show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Stylish and surprisingly effective thriller. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    For the most part, this movie hits the right notes and gives its audience a dose of white-knuckle tension. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    At its worst, Vacancy is merely the kind of taut B-chiller they don't make any more, other than to riff on them in "Grindhouse." show more

  • September 06, 2008 BCleggsRus
    Report This User

    it was good short though not really worth 5 stars though just 4

  • May 22, 2008 jaysonshivey
    Report This User

    this was by far one of the worst movies ive ever seen. very predicitble. terribly written. i honestly think that my little sister could have written and shot a better movie. I feel embarrased for anyone who worked on this movie. im cried myself to sleep that night.

  • May 22, 2008 innoutedog
    Report This User

    To whom it Concerns,I barely got threw 40 min of this movie and after that 40 min I wanted to ask time warner cable for my $3.99 back. Im glad I did not pay to see it at the theater. All I have to say to those retards that made this movie quit copying other thrillers n come up with something new. I've seen a lot of thrillers in my day and the only one that keeps my interest any more is the Saw movies. I hope they keep making more, even after the 5th one comes out. I will def go see Saw 4 on Oct. 26. I challenge Hollywood 2 come up with more originals. I'm sick of seeing comic book, old school thriller copies. I give props for new comedy's, action, and drama movies. WE ARE THE USA LETS COME UP WITH SOMETHING NEW.Thank you for your time.Eric

  • May 22, 2008 elzbthcry
    Report This User

    I liked Vacacy But the video tape was a littlt to brutal for me too like it and some of the fighting is gross a little to bad and brutal for me i wold give it 3 stars

  • May 22, 2008 moviecali
    Report This User

    All I gotta say about the movie was it was a good movie. Not an exciting film to see on DVD, but the movie was good, thought it was thrilling, Luke Wilson and Kate Beckinsale really did good work, but the whole start to finish was simply good but not soooo Oh, Wow, it really an edge off my seat feeling.

  • May 22, 2008 srennocllp
    Report This User

    yo diz promise ring song is da best song eva i'm gon be yo biggest fan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 musicrose05
    Report This User

    I love this movie and all the critics and other people that said it wasn't good must not understand anything.This movie has thrills, chills, and passion.You should watch this movie and appreciate it.There are some bad scenes, but not that bad.

  • May 22, 2008 siko301
    Report This User

    THIS WAS THE WORST MOVIE IVE EVER SEEN!!!! IT MADE ME WANT TO KILL MYSELF AFTER BLOWING UP THE SCREEN. 1408 IS A MUCH BETTER MOVIE

  • May 22, 2008 tndrluv203
    Report This User

    The "most terriblest"?...what kinda word is that??\n\nAnyway...I liked the movie. I thought it was full of suspense.

  • May 22, 2008 austunter
    Report This User

    I felt that the movie Vacancy, was the most terriblest movie. I hated it.The ending was terrible. This was suppose to be a horror. Yea right!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X