Skip to main content

reviews

36
Based on 15 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 15 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    If you want to see Li and Statham in an underwhelming martial arts film, rent "The One" instead. Li talks considerably more in that movie, but at least he punches a lot of people out. show more

  • 40
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Lacking even the galvanizing action sequences that would have compensated for suffering through its formulaic plot, this is a thoroughly forgettable exploitationer that will not enhance its stars' resumes. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's a complicated plot, but one that leaves plenty of room for everything a fan could want: gunplay, swordfights, brutal mano a mano fisticuffs, motorcycle races, car chases, Japanese gangsters eating sushi off of topless women, and that old standby, a decapitated head in a box. show more

  • 63
    Premiere

    War is like Statham's other actioners "The Transporter" and "Crash" -- fun, but not big or dumb enough to be glorious. show more

  • 25
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Fun here is fleeting. show more

  • 25
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    A kind of dumbed-down, souped-up action thriller in a quasi-"Lethal Weapon" mode. show more

  • 40
    Film Threat

    Perhaps this movie would have been better off if it starred Steven Seagal and Tom Arnold. show more

  • 40
    Austin Chronicle

    The action sequences are shot in close-ups and with such rapid editing, it’s nearly impossible to find a sense of rhythm let alone follow what’s happening. show more

  • 67
    Entertainment Weekly

    There are few cinematic crimes more heinous than making a boring action movie. Sadly, that's what the first hour of Triads-versus-Yakuza thriller War is. show more

  • 50
    Joe Leydon Variety

    Quickly devolves into a standard-issue crime drama laced with routine martial artistry. show more

  • December 22, 2008 movifonesucks86
    Report This User

    SUCKS, watch any other JASON STATHAM MOVIE other than this movie because WAR SUCKS

  • December 20, 2008 lolawaynesexy
    Report This User

    Bad movie, bad twists, the director should never work again. STUPID MOVIE. Go watch better jason statham movies like transporter 1,2,3 and crank

  • December 20, 2008 casinoroyalevice
    Report This User

    Ending sucked, the director should never work again for ruining a great opportunity, cmon a action movie with jason statham and jet li-----this director ruined it, he is a IDIOT. the second twist in the movie was so unnecessary and stupid.

  • May 22, 2008 Jjesse285
    Report This User

    yes this the best two star when it come to action.

  • May 22, 2008 dwsimpso
    Report This User

    There were so many people, plots, sub plots, counter plots, double crosses, triple crosses we could not figure out what was happening or why. Poorly done.

  • May 22, 2008 lalezarid
    Report This User

    All these reviews raving about one of the best SF films of all time, they ALL give it just three stars, they all claim to have both versions, and they all claim to like the narrated version better? Please, does this guy think we're all crazy? It does go to prove one thing, however. There could be only one person in the world who prefers the lifeless naration over this amazing film. He just happens to post here again and again and again.

  • May 22, 2008 pearldarlin
    Report This User

    This director used three colors throughout: black, white and blood. "Death Sentence" was almost the same: black, white and blood. Add tired, "re-used" martial arts sequences, and this flick lost, in my opinion.. One thing about the Bourne films I liked so much was the fact that special effects took a back seat to plot. The prime focus was plot. (Will my "buddy" Jackie Chan be doing the same stuff from a wheelchair? There were a couple scenes in his latest "Rush," that looked more like slo-mo.)

  • May 22, 2008 glenne007
    Report This User

    The movie centered more around the plot than special effects or martial arts. I think there could have actually been a little more of the martial arts and special effects, but the plot was still good enough to hold your attention throughout. For 2 hours of entertainment, you couldnt ask for much more. It was a good movie, all in all.

  • May 22, 2008 eddiesteno
    Report This User

    Well, I disagree with most reviews.I don't usually go to these type of movies.I went because it fit my time schedule.I found my self wrapped up in the story, the plotthe twists and turns... It really was a great story, with a great plot and a great ending... one that may not be expected.LOVED IT

  • May 22, 2008 mussa7667
    Report This User

    WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT. for one im a huge jason statham fan and i hate to say it jason statham didnt do jak jet li was the reel star.The final fight was a joke it was like 30 seconds man they took a reel cool idea and shot it in the face.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X