Skip to main content

reviews

71
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 43 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Warrior aspires to myth. It's Cain and Abel battling it out in the face of a decidedly ungodly father before humanity goes down for the count. Strong stuff. show more

  • 75
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    This is brutish, visceral stuff - a type of raw-meat violence that's undeniably cinematic but seems, to this worried parent, ill-fitted for PG-13. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Warrior is a relentless, emotionally engaging family drama and underdog saga with touches of "Rocky" mixed with "The Fighter." show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    The two leads, Edgerton and Hardy, pull off their respective roles - rising above the cliches and the melodrama - with ferocity and focus. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Has moments of power that push through a fake-out script. show more

  • 90
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    It's a long movie that feels short: It grabs you in early scenes, intense though low-key before all hell breaks loose, then keeps you riveted to its mostly male characters. show more

  • 90
    Movieline

    One of the most heart-wrenching and deeply felt films of the year. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    O'Connor gives the film a dark, moody look, which is the best choice for so many roiling emotions. This is not a traditional stand-up-and-cheer fight movie; the undercurrents are too strong and deep. show more

  • 88
    Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Starts out so promisingly that it's a huge disappointment when it ultimately becomes way too predictable - and unbelievable. It's as if "Raging Bull" suddenly morphed into "Rocky." show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is a rare fight movie in which we don't want to see either fighter lose. That brings such complexity to the final showdown that hardly anything could top it - but something does, and Warrior earns it. show more

  • October 21, 2012 ginga14
    Report This User

    great movie

  • January 27, 2012 HeySpunky
    Report This User

    Good to see Nick Nolte again, The entire were stnndouts

  • January 03, 2012 cookingmama29
    Report This User

    great movie

  • December 24, 2011 Terry
    Report This User

    I watch every movie that comes out besides the 1`s that I know will be really terrible. I thought this was going to be another MMA dud, bad acting, bad story. This movie was FANTASTIC!!!!!! Nick Nolte showed just how great of an actor he is. The fight scenes were Amazing! The storyline was **************** how alcohol abuse tears a family apart. Not vey often am I happy with the ending of movies lately, loved how this 1 ended. Don`t have to really like MMA to see it either. 1 of the best movies I have seen! Guess it didn`t do very well at the box office which is a shame. The movie and the actors deserve some nominations.

  • November 18, 2011 joe-joe
    Report This User

    This is one of my favorite movies of 2011. Even though this is about MMA the real story is about the estrangement of Dad and two brothers. Nick Notle gave a good performance as Dad and I wouldn\'t be surprised if he won an Oscar nod. I thought Joel Edgerton gave the best performance as he wasn\'t over the top and very layered. Great Work by all.

  • November 11, 2011 bz00000000105356
    Report This User

    Good Movie

  • October 29, 2011 nicolascoppola12
    Report This User

    When I was in the car on the way to this movie I was really excited and was looking forward to a quality fighting film; something I\'d not seen in a very long time. Shortly after the movie started, however, I realized that it was not the kind of film I thought it was going to be. I noticed right away that NIcolas Cage did not have a role in this movie. Now I\'ve never seen any others movies by this director, but based off of this one alone I have to say that he has made some poor decisions by not electing Nicolas Cage for at least 3 lead roles in this film. Overall terrible movie and a mundane waste of time. I would recommend seeing Trespass instead.

  • October 27, 2011 thomastyndall
    Report This User

    Warrior was a great movie. It\'s the best I\'ve seen this year. The boxing was fun and the acting was great. Good going Tom Hardy, Joel Eggerton and Nick Nolte!!!!

  • October 10, 2011 mlrcrd
    Report This User

    best movie ive seen in a while

  • October 02, 2011 jarofstars
    Report This User

    Good movie. not boring, good acting.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X