Skip to main content

reviews

25
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 20 )
  • 25
    San Francisco Chronicle

    It boasts only loose ties to the 1954 romance "Three Coins in the Fountain." And it's best not to even think of "Roman Holiday," the gold standard for hanging, and driving, and doing as Romans do. Rent that instead. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A little bit of charm is precisely what this movie has to offer. A small dose is better than none, but you can't help wishing there was more to go around. show more

  • 25
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    An inert comedy starring Kristen Bell as a workaholic unlucky in love, When in Rome is a rom-bomb. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Regardless of where its stars want to take it, all roads here lead to blandness and inanity. show more

  • 30
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The latest demonstration of the impossibility of making a good movie from a bad script is provided by When in Rome, a romantic comedy approved by the previous regime at Disney. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    It is neither deep nor intelligent, but it's not intended to be either. The saving grace of the otherwise generic product is that Bell's vivacity and Duhamel's rakish charm allow the viewer to root for them. show more

  • 38
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Certain scenes in When in Rome signify nothing less than the death of screen slapstick, but I’m hoping it’s one of those fake-out movie deaths where it’s not really dead, not forever. show more

  • 38
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    Bell, a petite, pretty blonde, may or may not have the Meg Ryan-Julia Roberts-Sandra Bullock goods. When in Rome, a leaden variation on that rom-com recipe, fails utterly to make her case. show more

  • 25
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Tale is anything but spellbinding. show more

  • 25
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    The problem is not the credulity-stretching script. Or even that much of the movie just isn't all that funny. The problem is that it thinks it's freakin' hilarious. show more

  • April 30, 2010 tkd4mack
    Report This User

    Ok movie. Almost very good, but not quite :)

  • April 04, 2010 msestherd
    Report This User

    I highly recommend that others pass on watching this film. It has a great cast of talented actors but the plot and directing were deplorable. This is only the 2nd film I've ever abandoned ship on, but after 25 minutes I just couldn't take it any more and had to leave the theatre; I cant get my 2 dollars back but I did manage to salvage some of my time. 0 stars for me.

  • March 08, 2010 MoviesMoveMe
    Report This User

    Serious, hard working, ambitious, "Beth"(Kristen Bell) is off to Rome for her sister's weeding, Blackberry in hand. Sidelined jock "Nick" is also attending the wedding on the groom's side. Boy meets girl, sparks fly, then boy waits a very long time to close the deal. The reason for the delay is the "Fontana de Amour" just outside the church. Here coins are tossed by aspiring romantics. After the wedding, a tipsy and unhappy Beth plucks a few coins out of the fountain launching a series of unlikely events with four male suitors who she has never met. Danny DeVito is mis-cast as not very funny sausage king "Al", old enought to be "Beth's" grandfather. This film is like light beer, not very filling but good for a quick pick me up.

  • February 27, 2010 jsextonfig
    Report This User

    I WAS IN THE MOVIE IN THE WEDDING PARTY SO I HAD FUN SHOOT THE MOVIE I WORKED 8 DAYS ON THE MOVIE I LIKE IT\ IT WAS FUNNY ANY THING DANNY DI DEVINNO IS FUNNY.UNCLE PETE ON THE STREET

  • February 19, 2010 Ljimno
    Report This User

    Kristen Bell is adorable but this movie was awful! Dumb story!

  • February 18, 2010 Bbutler911
    Report This User

    More like a sitcom than a movie. Not a lot of laughter for the amount of talent the movie had. Very disappointing. The move was pretty stupid. To typical of what has been shown in the theater. The "Goofy" looking assistant, the mean boss. Predictable ending.

  • February 16, 2010 cager97
    Report This User

    Attention!! If you TRUELY HATE someone in your life.....take them to see this horrid piece of crap!!! Slow....and I MEAN SLOWWWW.....BORINGGG....the WORST movie I've seen in the last 12 months...hands down!!!! Guys...this is NOT a date movie!!! You will NOT "get lucky" if you take her to see this! She will fall asleep on you!!

  • February 15, 2010 Pinkpuppy95
    Report This User

    cute lighthearted romcom. had lots of funny moments and the acting was(overall)good. the whole movie was predictable but i think it went the way it should of for this kind of film. go see it.(:

  • February 14, 2010 iangelic1mei
    Report This User

    I LOVED the movie and KRISTEN BELL. Every single second of it was funny unlike some movies where it is only funny at the big scenes. It's a comedy movie so of course it's going to be stupid at times as long as it wasn't dumb like Dumber and Dumber. Those are a complete waste of time. Yes, the preview did show a majority of what is going to happen ******** more in dept and detail in the movie and I think it's totally worth it to see in the theater. TOTALLY WORTH SEEING!

  • February 14, 2010 rebeccarocks3
    Report This User

    I think that when in rome was a great movie.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X