Skip to main content

reviews

71
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 106 )
  • 100
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Jonze has filmed a fantasy as if it were absolutely real, allowing us to see the world as Max sees it, full of beauty and terror. The brilliant songs, by Karen O (of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs) and the Kids, enhance the film's power. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The most daring thing that Jonze and Eggers have done is make a children's film that might not really be for kids. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Like the book, the movie blends a primitive quality with an imaginative artfulness. It also amplifies upon the story's gentle, sly wit. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    As wish-fulfillments go, this is a movie lover's dream. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A satisfyingly moody, melancholy, madcap live-action romp. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The film treats kids' inner lives as more than a fantasy, which is a rare and beautiful thing. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Where the film falters is Jonze and novelist Dave Eggers' adaptation, which fails to invest this world with strong emotions. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Not since Robert Altman took on “Popeye” a generation ago, and lost, has a major director addressed such a well-loved, all-ages title. This time everything works, from tip to tail. show more

  • 100
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    His (Jonze) obvious affection for, and veneration of, Maurice Sendak's 1963 Caldecott Medal-winning children's book is palpable in his near-perfect live-action adaptation, a dreamy -- and, like Sendak's book, faintly nightmarish -- exploration of one child's tantrum-y side. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie felt long to me, and there were some stretches during which I was less than riveted. Is it possible that there wasn't enough Sendak story to justify a feature-length film? show more

  • August 29, 2010 WilliamSicklick
    Report This User

    boring

  • March 14, 2010 PawPrintPower1
    Report This User

    that was an awesome movie

  • March 01, 2010 bworstnameever
    Report This User

    This movie was awesome. The acting was great and the filming and setting was absolutely beautiful. I'm very surprised it did not win any major awards. I personally think this is not really for children but for mature children.

  • February 09, 2010 THOMASFLETCH2
    Report This User

    This movie was kinda scary at the beginning but then it got cool

  • January 07, 2010 cindy8120
    Report This User

    This movie is HORRIBLE! It is violent, dark, BORING, angry...... Not a show for children. A serious waste of money. Dont waste your money. I could not wait till it was over.

  • December 08, 2009 ClLaya
    Report This User

    this was ok but the song they made for it was aaaannnnnnnnnnnnoooooying! cause my little cousin wsa singing it all the way to the car and it was really annoying i just wanted to CHOKE HIM lol jk

  • November 28, 2009 ChanceNaro
    Report This User

    Me and my Mom went to see this movie. I was really excited to see the movie. But after the movie we thouht it was a waste of money. The commercails want you to think this movie is a nice calm movie. Is it no way, way to much violence this move should be rated PG- 13. That was probably the worst movie I saw in my life!!!!!!

  • November 25, 2009 DeathByVolcom
    Report This User

    If you people understood art at all, you would understand the interpretation. The book which was my favorie as a child, was drab, and depressing in its aethetic compilation. Grow up.

  • November 15, 2009 Ma9880
    Report This User

    This is not a children's show. My son said that it really sucked and he and his grandparents walked out of the movie. They said it was horrible. Very dark and depressing and scary. Not at all like the children's book. I don't know why they would turn this chidren's book into such a horrible dark movie. There is nothing dark about the book. It all seems to be from a child's imagination. Please do not take children to see this movie. It should be rated PG-13 or higher because it has a lot of violence.

  • November 15, 2009 JimminyJim
    Report This User

    The movie had some good parts. But it was depressing, Glum, through the whole movie.All through the movie going acrossed my mind over and over was "When will this be over?" I expected action, Adventure, or something not that! It should have been rated Pg-13 Or even R for Depressed Adults, Crude Humor, Mild laugage, and Violence. IT IS NOT A CHILDREN SHOW. The movie was like tearing up the book and writting a dumb replacment! But I have to compliment on the Charecter designes. and Costumes. Did you know the wild things where originaly Muppet Charecters?

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X