Skip to main content

reviews

71
Based on 42 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 43 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    In this tale of stunted development, Theron is a comic force of nature, giving her character considerable density and humanity despite her monstrous aspects. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A dark comedy that confirms Diablo Cody as a screenwriter of importance, eliminates the last shred of doubt that Jason Reitman is a major director and gives Charlize Theron her best showcase since "Monster." show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    While on sardonic turf, it's scathingly funny. Then it veers from biting wit to pitiful. At one juncture, the story threatens to spin off into "Fatal Attraction" territory. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A cockeyed comic triumph that flashes between bright and dark like a strobe light of the spirit. And Ms. Theron, as Mavis Gary, a self-styled author rather than a mere writer, succeeds sensationally at something much harder than playing ravaged. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A pitch-black comedy steeped in bitterness and regret. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Young Adult may at times be stuck between emotional gears, but that's by design. Like its heroine, the movie refuses to pick up after itself. show more

  • 70
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Their scenes together are the film's best, with Theron and Oswalt, who have very different tempi and temperatures as performers, parrying and thrusting with great expertise. show more

  • 75
    Bob Mondello NPR

    So it makes sense that Young Adult feels at times like a mashup of styles and genres - part curdled rom-com, part psycho-prom-queen flick, with a little "Revenge of the Nerds" thrown in. show more

  • 90
    S.T. Vanairsdale Movieline

    Young Adult is the first of Reitman's films from which I haven't felt him choking out a message; ironically, its rawness yields the humanity that he thought he was wringing from "Up in the Air." show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Patton Oswalt is, in a way, the key to the film's success. Theron is flawless at playing a cringe-inducing monster and Wilson touching as a nice guy who hates to offend her, but the audience needs a point of entry, a character we can identify with, and Oswalt's Matt is human, realistic, sardonic and self-deprecating. He speaks truth to Mavis. show more

  • April 06, 2012 jv00000000118235
    Report This User

    I almost can no longer stand the movies. Half of the time, the \"actors\", next to pretending to \"think\" by staring out the window, or windshield, into the mirror, they proceed to S L O W L Y get dressed, open and close room and car doors, W ..A..L..K SLOWLY in and out of rooms, along hallways, in and out of elevators, streets, parks...get into and out of their own cars or taxi cabs, take LOOOOONG drives --- as if not everybody by now knows how relocating on earth works... Other than watching them sleep and wake up, then comes the \"dialog\", whose lines are filled with \"Oh My God\"s to the wazoo. If they, no matter how good-looking, have anything at all to say that outdoes what EVERY ONE has heard thousands of times it would totally SHOCK me *********: \"How are you?\" \"I\'m good (well?)\". Sometimes, they even pretend to \"accomplish\" something... Young Adult is such a movie. I want 50% of my money back! And I DO like TV series much, much better!

  • March 18, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Someone who deeply resented the \"In-Crowd\" in high school, to the point *************** them for life, wrote this movie. This was payback for them. Depressing from start to finish. Very low on my entertainment scale.

  • March 12, 2012 saura000
    Report This User

    I found this movie to be brilliant. I saw it this weekend and the more I think about it the more I like it. Theron is incredible as the complex and narcissistic character she portrays. She is completely delusional and absurd in her way of thinking which adds a sense of morbidity to the film. I found it particularly entertaining watching her \"clean up\" in both the literal and metaphoric sense.

  • February 09, 2012 kerco
    Report This User

    One of the worst movies I have ever set through. Upsets me that this movie left the message for young people that it is OK to be rude, a heavy drinker, sleep with and use an old schoolmate you don\'t even like, go after a married man, disrespect and humiliate your parents in front of their friends and neighbors...... all because you are supposedly such a \"FOX\" and therefore, excused from your bad behavior. She wasn\'t even a good pet owner! Sad.

  • January 23, 2012 B&D Auto Service
    Report This User

    Girls like that give me the creeps

  • January 15, 2012 rurtiam2
    Report This User

    Did not like this movie very much...and I think it was because the Charlize Theron character was such a mess and did nothing positive for anyone or herself to compensate for her bad behavior -- that would be even down to her own pet! She was sort of abusive even to her dog. The end of the movie does not even have a pay-off. The one person that treated her \"nice\" -- (the Collette Wolfe character) was even \"dissed\" at the end of the movie. (An opportunity to end the movie at least on one good note...was not taken with the Collette character.) I went to see this movie \'cause Juno is one of my favorite movies of all time. This one...\"not so good.\" Sorry...I wanted to like it so so much. But...zzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • January 10, 2012 billbt3
    Report This User

    Saw this movie over the weekend and really liked it. I thought there was a lot of depth to the primary character as she struggled with, and then came to terms, with her issues. Definitely worth seeing!

  • January 09, 2012 parnase6
    Report This User

    Saw this movie over the weekend, I cannot believe that people are saying bad things about it here. It brings up all of those High School thoughts, what happens to the \"beautiful people\" once they graduate? Charlize Theron allows herself to be seen witout flattering makeup (several times) and makes the most of it in this film. No, this is not a movie for everyone, but I liked it!! TWO THUMBS UP!

  • January 09, 2012 cager97
    Report This User

    Wow, what a GREAT movie! Charliize, as always, brings her best to this fiilm! She has been nominated for a Golden Globe, and I for one, thinks she deserves it! Also Oswald Patton does a tremendous job as well! He plays along with her character neck and neck, reliving the pains and agony of High School drama! An EXCELLENT FILM!!

  • January 09, 2012 jbwilkinson2
    Report This User

    I saw Young Adult yesterday and was intrigued by the message: beware of the consequences of self-absorption carried to the extreme such that you do not understand the reality of your own situation and of the feelings and attitudes of others. I got the feeling that this was a \"slice-of-life\" movie that was based on a real-life person. I liked the movie. It was very different and all the actors in it turned in outstanding performances.

`

similar movies

  • To Die For (1995)

  • Personal Velocity: Three Portraits (2002)

  • The Opposite of Sex (1998)

  • Calvary (2014)

  • Secretary (2002)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X