After six ballots, the 55 film writers who make up with National Society of Film Critics chose Capote as the best film of 2005. In the second spot was A History of Violence, followed by a film that has received little notice this awards season, Wong Kar-Wai's 2046. Capote star Philip Seymour Hoffman also received top honors for his work as Truman Capote, just beating out The Squid and the Whale star Jeff Daniels for the honor. The gay cowboy, er, sheepherder, himself, Heath Ledger, finished third.

Refreshingly, apart from that whole Capote thing, this group of critics didn't really follow the 2005 awards trends, and ended up giving their prizes to a fairly diverse group of people and films. Other major winners were David Cronenberg, who took home the best director award (for A History of Violence), and Reese Witherspoon, who was named best actress for Walk the Line. Additionally, the rarely-mentioned pair of Ed Harris (A History of Violence) and Amy Adams (Junebug), won the supporting awards, while Noah Baumbach picked up yet another screenwriting nod for the hilarious, acerbic The Squid and the Whale.