Dustin Hoffman cruises up to present the award for Best Adapted Screenplay, looking cool. He hasn't changed at all. He must have gotten into Dick Clark's secret youth potion. He gives some props to the losers, which probably doesn't really help make them feel better. But thanks anyhow. If Brokeback wins this it probably won't win Best Picture. The nominees are:

Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana, Brokeback Mountain
Dan Futterman, Capote
Jeffrey Caine, The Constant Gardener
Josh Olson, A History of Violence
Tony Kushner and Eric Roth, Munich

Let's see who the winner is...

Yup, it's Brokeback Mountain. This is the second minor award for Brokeback Mountain. Annie Proulx is there, but the stupid cameraman pans to Ang Lee instead of her. Okay, so either Brokeback is going to pull a Return of the King and sweep everything -- or it's gonna get shut out on Best Picture and Best Director.  If Crash wins Best Original Screenplay it could still be a toss-up. Munich is getting totally shut out so far - not a good night for Spielberg.