The National Society of Film Critics has become the last org to dish out its favorites from 2006, and the good news is that we no longer have to dedicate posts to critic nominations and favorites. The better news? They came out of left field and chose Pan's Labyrinth as the best film of the year. No Children of Men? No United 93? No Dreamgirls, or The Departed or The Queen -- nope, this pack -- which consists of 58 critics -- shelled out top honors to Guillermo del Toro's fantasy flick. And I say, good for them.

On the directing front, del Toro lost out to United 93'sPaul Greengrass, who managed to also sneak by Martin Scorsese with 21 votes. See, these critics don't do nominations or host a ceremony where they announce the winners -- they simply vote and decide on the spot. In the best actor and actress categories, there were no surprises -- Forest Whitaker (The Last King of Scotland) took home best actor in an extremely close race with Peter O'Toole (Venus), which ultimately went to a tiebreaker, allowing Whitaker to slip past with a 9 votes to 8 victory. Helen Mirren (The Queen) didn't have as much trouble; she walked away with the best actress award, accumulating 94 votes, whereas Laura Dern (looks like Lynch's promotional tour paid off) finished second with 32 votes.

An Inconvenient Truth took best non-fiction film, while Peter Morgan's script for The Queen won best screenplay. Check out a full list of winners and runner-ups (courtesy of indiewire) after the jump.