The World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) has been awarding the Hugo Awards to reward excellence in science fiction and fantasy since 1953. However, there has not been an annual anthology of award winners until now. Hugo Award winners have been published, and the shorter fiction award winners have often appeared in anthologies, but not in an exclusive (and official) Hugo Award anthology.

The WSFS is not a publishing company, but they have licensed Prime Books to produce an anthology including the 2009 award winners. The 2009 Hugo awards were announced in August, with winners in categories such as Best Novel, Novella, Short Story, Graphic Story, Editing, and more. The award is named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories.

The anthology will be edited by Campbell award winning writer Mary Robinette Kowal with a cover designed by 2009 Hugo Awards Best Artist winner Donato Giancolo. The image is a mock-up of the proposed cover.

Other 2009 Hugo Award winners include Neil Gaiman for Best Novel (The Graveyard Book) and Nancy Kress for Best Novella ("The Erdmann Nexus" published in Asimov's Oct/Nov 2008).

(via Hugo Awards website)
categories Movies, Sci-Fi